Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it A. Sinclair Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars34
5 star
85%
4 star
15%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 8, 2003
Peter Tosh/Touch, however you prefer to remember him is nothing short of classic. The Rastafarion Malcom X, comes through in all his glory on this album. If you are a fan of reggea or the Wailers this will do nothing but enhance your collection.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2001
9 timeless classics, these tunes are as cool and powerful as anything Tosh produced, both lyrically and rhythmically. He is certainly among the greatest Reggae legends of all time. It is a crime how severely unknown and unavailable this particular jewel is. I believe it is Tosh's best solo effort - smoothe, strong, and crisp. The title track alone is worth the price of admission. Add to it other gems like 'Glass House', 'Maga Dog', 'Peace Treaty', and 'Feel No Way' and you have a reason for inventing the repeat button.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
This man,this reggae artist,this powerful African spirit is the hero of my generation.Iam proud to be able to collect ALL of his remastered classics.Mama Africa represents the finest in reggae music anywhere on planet earth.Grab it NOW!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2000
Peter Tosh's in your face form of reggae made him a roots hero in Jamaica, Africa, and beyond because he wasn't afraid to take on what he saw as wrong. His classic lps "Legalize It" and "Equal Rights" showcase Tosh's fierce loyalties to what he felt was right.
1983's "Mama Africa" also falls in this category. Whether his re-recording of his "Stop That Train," the Wailers' classic, the scathing "Peace Treaty," or the self explanatory "Glasshouses" (if you live in glasshouses/don't throw stones), Tosh continues his no holds barred attack on things he saw as wrong.
A very critical work for Tosh, "Mama Africa" was his 1st lp for EMI records, and the best selling lp of his to that time since "Equal Rights," and it proved that Tosh could still deliver the goods that made him the hero he was.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
This is a fine piece by the late , great Peter Tosh. Tosh's concept of Rasta come through on this album. I had the original record I lost and duppies destroyed my last copy. The bonus tracks are great also that did not appear on original release. Tosh lives on as all rasta's do through Iration. Must purchase for all those that like music that does not mash you up with subliminals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2002
This album could've easily been titled "The Handbook of Life"! It's diverse, righteous, brutally honest and entertaining. Not only is Mr. Tosh one of the greatest musicans ever but he has the most commanding voice in any genre of music. If you don't believe me, listen to "Not Gonna Give It Up". You'll see!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 1999
This is the CD which I regard as one of the best works of Peter Tosh.All the tracks are the Bomb. Song like "Feel no way" make me want to cry because of their message, bass,drums and all other instruments.Glass House is also one of the all time favourites. This is the Reggae CD you've always wanted to buy and Amazon has got it for you. BUY THIS PIERCE OF WORK AND YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT, NOT EVER! Peter Tosh is the Best.Rastafari. To guarantee you, E-mail me if you are dissatisfied.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
The man can't make a bad record. Buy more stock--immediately. He's got the stuff--all of it. Listen and learn, and you will be both surprised and rewarded. Bob, you're the godfather, but PT's 'da man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2004
As far as I am concerned, this is his best work. I read somewhere that Peter assembled some musicians to put this album together. When you listen to it, it sounds as though they had been playing together for years. The messages that Tosh puts forth are deep and relevant. This is a staple of any reggae collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2004
This album came after came after the 3 album deal with the Rolling Stones. I think that this album is supieirior to all of the albums off of the Rolling Stones LP. This whole album has a definite Peter feel to it mixed with alot of African drums which give it a unique sound. I recomend this to any reggae fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.