Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mama Africa [Remastered w/ Extra Tracks], February 8, 2003
By 
Louie Campos (Corcoran, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
Peter Tosh/Touch, however you prefer to remember him is nothing short of classic. The Rastafarion Malcom X, comes through in all his glory on this album. If you are a fan of reggea or the Wailers this will do nothing but enhance your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the best Peter Tosh's CD's, November 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
This is the CD which I regard as one of the best works of Peter Tosh.All the tracks are the Bomb. Song like "Feel no way" make me want to cry because of their message, bass,drums and all other instruments.Glass House is also one of the all time favourites. This is the Reggae CD you've always wanted to buy and Amazon has got it for you. BUY THIS PIERCE OF WORK AND YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT, NOT EVER! Peter Tosh is the Best.Rastafari. To guarantee you, E-mail me if you are dissatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch Reggae Artist of the highest Order., January 8, 2003
By 
Hudson G TANNIS "DR.GROOVE" (LAURELTON, NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
This man,this reggae artist,this powerful African spirit is the hero of my generation.Iam proud to be able to collect ALL of his remastered classics.Mama Africa represents the finest in reggae music anywhere on planet earth.Grab it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another classic, September 21, 2000
By 
Sean M. Kelly (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
Peter Tosh's in your face form of reggae made him a roots hero in Jamaica, Africa, and beyond because he wasn't afraid to take on what he saw as wrong. His classic lps "Legalize It" and "Equal Rights" showcase Tosh's fierce loyalties to what he felt was right.
1983's "Mama Africa" also falls in this category. Whether his re-recording of his "Stop That Train," the Wailers' classic, the scathing "Peace Treaty," or the self explanatory "Glasshouses" (if you live in glasshouses/don't throw stones), Tosh continues his no holds barred attack on things he saw as wrong.
A very critical work for Tosh, "Mama Africa" was his 1st lp for EMI records, and the best selling lp of his to that time since "Equal Rights," and it proved that Tosh could still deliver the goods that made him the hero he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best!, March 31, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
9 timeless classics, these tunes are as cool and powerful as anything Tosh produced, both lyrically and rhythmically. He is certainly among the greatest Reggae legends of all time. It is a crime how severely unknown and unavailable this particular jewel is. I believe it is Tosh's best solo effort - smoothe, strong, and crisp. The title track alone is worth the price of admission. Add to it other gems like 'Glass House', 'Maga Dog', 'Peace Treaty', and 'Feel No Way' and you have a reason for inventing the repeat button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves 100 Stars!, July 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
This album could've easily been titled "The Handbook of Life"! It's diverse, righteous, brutally honest and entertaining. Not only is Mr. Tosh one of the greatest musicans ever but he has the most commanding voice in any genre of music. If you don't believe me, listen to "Not Gonna Give It Up". You'll see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tosh Album, December 11, 2004
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
As far as I am concerned, this is his best work. I read somewhere that Peter assembled some musicians to put this album together. When you listen to it, it sounds as though they had been playing together for years. The messages that Tosh puts forth are deep and relevant. This is a staple of any reggae collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Comeback, February 7, 2004
By 
Windel Wesson (Edmonton Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
This album came after came after the 3 album deal with the Rolling Stones. I think that this album is supieirior to all of the albums off of the Rolling Stones LP. This whole album has a definite Peter feel to it mixed with alot of African drums which give it a unique sound. I recomend this to any reggae fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Tosh: Reggae's True Martyr, March 5, 2001
By 
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
If your only awareness of Peter Tosh is his classic album Legalize It, and you want to hear more without springing for the EXCELLENT box set "Honorary Citizen", then I suggest that you give Mama Africa a listen. Tosh is in absolutely prime form both musically and lyrically. Everything that epitomizes Peter Tosh is here: from the deep feelings of Mama Africa; to the tell it like it is politicism of Peace Treaty and Glasshouse; the positivity of Feel No Way and Not Gonna Give It Up; to the rootsiness of Maga Dog; as well as one of the BEST all time covers of Johnny B Goode (which rocks as hard as the original but in a reggae style that must be heard to be believed). All in all, I LOVE THIS ALBUM. Once again Tosh shows that his talent, while not as widely hailed as that of Bob Marley, was of the highest caliber and ultimately just as sincere and full of integrity as that of his former bandmate. Peter Tosh was a true Rasta who ALWAYS stood up for what he believed, and never backed down, even when he was repeatedly and viciously beaten by the police for his views. Mama Africa showcases the extraordinary abilities and relevance of Peter Tosh and belongs in the collection of every lover of roots rockin' reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel No Way, April 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Mama Africa (Audio CD)
Not only has this album, originally released in 1983, got an incredible beat that you will give you the reggae sensation through your body, Tosh also gives us the most incredible quotable lyrics such as on 'Stop That Train':

"All my life, I've been a lonely man

Trying to teach people who don't understand.

And even though I try my best

I still can't find no happiness, no happiness"

The words of the truth seeker and philosopher.

The album begins with deep spiritual ode to a return to Africa with Mama Africa

There is the catchy message in Glass Houses: " If you living in a glass house, don't throw stones. And if you can't take stones, well then don' throw stones"

The famous reggae rocker Johnny B Goode, the cynical 'Peace Treaty' referring to Tosh's take on Jamaican politics at the time, and the funky Maga Dog. And the rhythmic musing on "Feel No Way' about coming close to 'pay day'.

If reggae is your type of music, then you simply have to have this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mama Africa
Mama Africa by Peter Tosh (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.