Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many great books in one
"The Mammoth Book of Chess" contains all aspects of modern chess playing. Chess Openings sections explain the main chess openings that, in my opinion, are superior to the legendary "The Ideas Behind the Chess Openings" by Reuben Fine. Solid sections on endgames provide the key endgame principles definitely enought to understand (not memorize) and...
Published on September 16, 1997

versus
74 of 86 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly executed Kindle edition
This seems like a pretty decent book for intermediate players. Nevertheless, the Kindle edition is useless. The illustrations are so small on a reader that they are kind of hard to make out, especially if you use your phone to read, e.g. when you are waiting at your child's swim meet. Also, the problems and their solutions are in different parts of the book. I just...
Published on October 25, 2010 by etaoin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many great books in one, September 16, 1997
By A Customer
"The Mammoth Book of Chess" contains all aspects of modern chess playing. Chess Openings sections explain the main chess openings that, in my opinion, are superior to the legendary "The Ideas Behind the Chess Openings" by Reuben Fine. Solid sections on endgames provide the key endgame principles definitely enought to understand (not memorize) and play well on at least class A level endgames. For the midle games, the book explains about mating, tactics, combinations, and attack & defence. Chess strategies are demostrated throughout the book. Tactics and Combinations sections are as good as "Winning Chess Tactics" by Seirawan and Silman. Attack and Defence section blows away some of the books written on that subject.

If you are new to chess, sections such as Beginning Chess, How to Play Chess, The Chess Clock, The Basic Mates and Chess Notation will be great help. Excellent explaination on computer chess and on-line chess playing can also be found in the book. A Brief History of the World Chess Championship and Chess Demographics are absolutely fascinating.

Graham Burgess, FIDE Master and experienced chess writer, has written the book exceptionally well. From the begining to the end, the book is of pure interest and excitment. Even the glossary section teaches you many things about chess such as 'Saavedra Position' and 'Time'. I own more than 50 chess books and have read about 50 more. But if I were to own only one chess book, this one would be it.

So, such a great book must cost a fortune?

It's only $8.76!!! (Amazon price)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The price is right!, July 11, 2003
By 
Eric P. Medlock (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For the price this is an excellent introduction to Chess. Its not for absolute beginners, you should have read at least one other book on beginners Chess (Chess for Dummies is a good one) but its not for "intermediate" players or advanced players only either. If you know enough of the basics (basic endgames, algebraic notation, etc), you will get a lot out of this book. I love the puzzles, they really make you think and it feels great to get a particularly hard one right. This book will make you a better chess player, if your just starting out (with the caveat above) or have been playing awhile. I would recommend this book for beginners and intermediate players. Advanced players might like this in their library, if only to loan out to friends that are trying to get up to speed. Buy it, at this price you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 86 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly executed Kindle edition, October 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Chess (Paperback)
This seems like a pretty decent book for intermediate players. Nevertheless, the Kindle edition is useless. The illustrations are so small on a reader that they are kind of hard to make out, especially if you use your phone to read, e.g. when you are waiting at your child's swim meet. Also, the problems and their solutions are in different parts of the book. I just couldn't use the Kindle edition because there is no good way to flip back and forth between sections. The board diagrams, the solutions and their discussion should be on the same page, otherwise the Kindle edition is useless. Stick to the printed edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and comprehensive, August 1, 1999
By A Customer
_One_ great book about chess. There are two parts in this book: the first about playing and the second about other aspects of chess.
There are a lot of tactical and strategic examples throughout the first part of the book. The combination section is fun. The opening section, though not exhaustive, conveys the ideas of many openings. The attack and defense section exemplifies many common themes such as the Nd5 sacrifice and the h-pawn hack. The endgame section, like the opening section, shows many examples rather than being exhaustive.
The second part of the book talks about how famous players started to learn chess, tournaments, clock, computer chess, Internet and chess, and chess & media. Those are very interesting reading mostly because they are written in a tone that engages the reader. The appendixes have basic chess rules, explanations of chess notation (the book talks about the history of it!), basic mates, and glossary.
Overall, this book talks about many different faces of chess yet manages to be of very good quality in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's REALLY Mammoth., September 18, 2000
By 
A.J. Goldsby I "A.J.G." (Pensacola, FL (U.S.A.)) - See all my reviews
Wow! A really cool book. (Bad books do NOT become BCF's "Book of the Year.") !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let's see. What do you get? A section on: beginning chess, Openings, Middlegames, Endgames, Tactics, Attack and Defence. You get a section on the chess clock, on-line chess (somewhat dated), Correspondance chess, etc. Call it potpourri unlimited. (A little of something for everybody!) In fact, there is a something of almost everything about chess in here. (500+ pages!) [Maybe a little slanted towards the British side of everything.]
Two minor criticisms: Organization could have been a little bit better. And the paper is somewhat yellowish and see-through. The book has NOT fallen apart, but the cover and binding of my book is showing wear and tear. (But its been through a lot. I used to take it to school EVERY DAY when I taught at a local school last year!! The kids just loved thumbing through it.) Many pluses, one being some of the most comphrehensive indexes I've ever seen in a chess book!
However, all this is nit-picking. Everyone I know who has bought this book has LOVED it. And the bonus? It costs about 1/3 [or less], of what the average chess book sells for!! Buy it. If you don't like it, a friend will surely take it off your hands!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book to Improve Your Chess Knowledge, October 12, 2011
By 
R. Kumar (San Diego, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Chess (Paperback)
I am mostly a casual player, but want to improve my game, especially the strategy part. I am only part way through this book, but I found the categorization of the various strategies and the exercises that were provided to be very useful. I have various other (older) chess books, but this is the first time I have seen this approach and I found it very effective.

This book will help even beginners, but the biggest help is going to be for intermediate level players. The author avoids a lot of "technical" sounding analysis and focuses on the basics - again, this is in the initial sections. The latter parts may be more complex, but I am yet to come to those.

The reason for 4 stars is the quality of the paper and binding. It is pretty sad - I can see this book falling apart with even a moderate amount of usage. It would be ideal to get this book in ebook form, especially if there is a way to do the exercises and challenges within the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chessboard or smorgasbord?, June 15, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is sort of a buffet of a chess book. There's a little of everything, and not a lot of depth in anything, but what's there is fun, though in some spots Burgess seems to be writing for everybody: there are arcane references to past games, players and techniques; there are "tests" of considerable difficulty and some of incredible ease. There's a section on how to play chess, so apparently he wants notices to pick up this book too. There are sections that address simple questions like "If I just started playing, is there any chance I can ever become a master?" which again leads one to believe the book is aimed at novices. But then a few pages later there will be position analyses with many variations and sub-variations that make my head spin (and I am an Expert-level player) plus some solutions I flat-out do not get. I wonder who the intended audience is for this book.
Most puzzling, though, is the section on computer chess. I guess this made sense when he wrote it back in 1996-97...but now the chapters read as a relic, albeit an often amusing one. He talks about the latest in computers and computer chess: 486s and Pentium IIs, and Fritz 3 and 4! (We're up to Fritz 8 now, if you're counting.) He shows strategies to defeat computers that any recent program will mow down. He gives URLs to chess sites and publishers, most of which no longer work. He gives Telnet addresses! It's kind of like using a telephone directory from 1966 to find somebody today.
But despite all the apparent griping, the book is useful, but more as a quick reference, or entertaining page-turner than as a serious study. If you really want to improve your game and you're an intermediate-level player, I recommend, for starters, Silman's "How To Reassess Your Chess," and "The Amateur's Mind," Nimzovichs "My System" and Pachman's "Modern Chess Strategy." You will have a strong foundation. (Heck, if I reread them, I'd have a stronger foundation.) This book also had some glaring typos. Some were just grammatical ("Fischer took on the hole Russian chess team" or something like that) but there are at least two moves in games I've caught that are wrong, ie, impossible from the diagrammed position. Both times I went to a computer database to find the game and see the correct move.
Still, I find most chess books to be fun at the very least, so I gave it four stars. (I'll rarely give less than that to any chess book so long as it wasn't written by Eric Schiller.) If you can get this title for cheap, it is a reasonably good book, but more as a supplement. It's not comprehensive, it's not up-to-date and it certainly won't teach a beginner very much. Seirawan's series on strategy, tactics, brilliancies, etc., from Microsoft Press is much better at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Gonna Be Bored Soon!, August 24, 2012
Pretty thorough and interesting book, packed with lot of goodies. Great especially for beginners / intermediate players but anyone can find good things in it.
Some people complain about the Kindle edition... my friend has it on ipad and it looks fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful.., May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Chess (Paperback)
Some chess knowhow is required but if you are a person who knows the basic moves, but that is about it, it is a great book to go from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, clear and easy to follow, December 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some reviews of the kindle edition criticize the book due to difficulty in moving between "positions" and solutions. This is easily achieved using bookmarks, though you have to remember to place new ones and cancel the old ones as you move to a new test. It was also helpful (to me) to set the position up on a chess board which reduces the need to flip back and forward. However bookmarks are still useful when moving on to the next test (as they would be in a hard copy). I found the text well written, clear and with some humour, which lightens the otherwise necessarily "heavy" tone of a chess guide. The diagrams and moves are clear, on my 15 inch notebook computer. Although other reviewers of the kindle edition have complained about small diagrams and pieces, this can only be when trying to follow it on a phone or very small tablet. On a 10 inch tablet it would (I am sure) be fine.

As a chess player who has not looked at a board since leaving school, forty something years ago, I have found the book invaluable in helping to retrieve my knowledge of openings, positions and end games. I am hopeful that by the time I complete it, my game will have returned to adequate club standard. If I can achieve that, I will have a lot to thank it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mammoth Book of Chess
The Mammoth Book of Chess by Graham Burgess (Paperback - January 5, 2010)
Used & New from: $9.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.