Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read if you don't take it too seriously
This is a fun, quick read. Books clubs will find much to discuss, and it's the perfect gift for your favorite male chauvinist. But reviewers who are complaining that the author's "evidence" isn't rigorously scientific are missing the point: he wrote this to stir discussion and make money, not to prove anything serious.

The book touches on many silly things,...
Published on March 4, 2011 by Thidwick50

versus
70 of 89 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but bad use of data and horribly flawed
First, let me say this: This is going to be a long review as I have a lot to say about this book. Second, I am a woman who studies anthropology and loves to read books about gender relations and sex differences, so I thought this would be fun to read. And third, I understand that this book is supposed to be humorous. However, I must say that it didn't really amuse me and...
Published on March 21, 2011 by Simply Observing


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 89 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but bad use of data and horribly flawed, March 21, 2011
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
First, let me say this: This is going to be a long review as I have a lot to say about this book. Second, I am a woman who studies anthropology and loves to read books about gender relations and sex differences, so I thought this would be fun to read. And third, I understand that this book is supposed to be humorous. However, I must say that it didn't really amuse me and I didn't think it was really that funny. Now, before you get upset with me for "missing the point," I completely understand that the book is supposed to be tongue-in-cheek and that the title is hyperbole and intentionally provocative. Abrams himself has admitted as much. It is known that men and women are good at different things, but from an objective standpoint it really can't be said that one is generally "better" or "worse." I think Abrams understands this principle, and I'm convinced by hearing him discuss this book that he probably feels the same way and believes all of this tripe to be in good fun -- particularly because about half the book is filled with some rather innocuous differences like speed eating and hammering nails. Despite this, I have serious problems with how he's promoted this book.

Abrams admits outright that he is not totally serious and the book is light-hearted fun. Nevertheless, he does claim that the book is "good, solid, rigorous research" and not his opinions (see his TV interviews, etc). Unfortunately, the book contains mostly his subjective interpretations and selective newspaper articles. I can honestly say that this book was very poorly researched, and he gives no references or citations for his information. Some of the studies are also likely true and were interesting, but those that are legitimate often lend themselves to more scientific and accurate interpretations. For example, Abrams claims that women make better hedge fund managers because a study found that the 3 percent of women who are hedge fund managers had, on average, higher annual returns. Anyone who's taken a statistics or research methods course can tell you what's wrong with comparing 97% of men to 3% of women. There is going to be more variance the larger the sample of a group, skewing the average up or down. Of course men take more risks in general (likely for evolutionary reasons), and that could explain the statistical difference (which is only about 1% from what I've read), but it also means when you look at those with the highest returns, they will be men! But, for example, if one assumes men and women make equally good hedge fund managers, then of course the 3 percent of women will have a higher average. This misinterpretation of data is characteristic of Dan's approach and litters the whole book.

Again, to point out another example: Dan's claim that women are "better" drivers. It is true, of course, that women get into fewer accidents and have fewer speeding tickets than men, and this is reflected in insurance rates. Abrams uses this to argue that men are less careful drivers. Okay maybe, but this is another example of a study that compares a large sample of men with a smaller sample of women, because what is not taken into consideration is that women simply drive less. Indeed, a study done at Johns Hopkins actually found that, per mile driven, women were actually in MORE accidents than men: "Although men are three times more likely than women to be killed in car crashes, researchers at the Johns Hopkins Schools of Medicine and Public Health have found that, when the total numbers of crashes are considered, female drivers are involved in slightly more crashes than men. Overall, men were involved in 5.1 crashes per million miles driven compared to 5.7 crashes for women, despite the fact that on average they drove 74 percent more miles per year than did women," and "The results indicate that, despite having lower fatal crash involvement rates, female drivers do not seem to be safer than their male counterparts when exposure is considered." (See: ScienceDaily's "Women Not Neccessarily Better Drivers Than Men." Johns Hopkins School Of Public Health, June 18, and G. Li, et al. "Are female drivers safer? An application of the decomposition method." Epidemiology. July; 9(4): 379-384.) Why are these studies never mentioned? I'm not necessarily saying that men or women are safer drivers, just that Dan's approach fails to convince if one actually does their research.

And again, Abrams claims that women tolerate pain better than men, despite the fact that researchers in this field have consistently found the opposite to be true! His source for this information is Mythbusters. Really? A simple JSTOR or internet search will reveal the actual data on this. "Jeffrey Mogil, Ph.D., is professor of pain studies at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, 'Females are more sensitive to pain, less tolerant and more able to discriminate different levels of pain than males," he says. This is true in studies of both humans and animals." Again: "Studies Suggest Men Handle Pain Better" - ABC News. "Women are bigger wimps when it comes to pain" - BBC News. Also, see Daniel Lowery, Roger B. Fillingim, and Rex A. Wright, D; Fillingim, RB; Wright, RA (March/April 2003). "Sex Differences and Incentive Effects on Perceptual and Cardiovascular Responses to Cold Pressor Pain". Psychosomatic Medicine 65:284-291 (2003) 65 (2): 284-91. Once again, Jennifer Graham, professor of biobehavioral health at Penn State says, "Human studies more reliably show that men have higher pain thresholds than women, and some show that men have a higher pain tolerance as well." Dr. Roger B. Fillingim at the University of Florida (whose study is above), "Sex differences in pain perception have been noted in multiple studies, with women typically displaying lower pain tolerance than men". These are all separate studies. Do men bitch more about pain? Not according to the data: "Women report more pain than men." -From University of Bath, Keogh, E., McCracken, L. M. and Eccleston, C., 2005. Do men and women differ in their response to interdisciplinary chronic pain management? Pain, 114 (1-2), pp. 37-46. These studies seem to indicate that women are being misdiagnosed when it comes to pain medications. The myth that women have higher tolerances is actually hurting them medically.

These are just some more obvious examples, and I will not go through debunking every interpretation or study in this book, but I hope I have made the point clear. It is also interesting how he defines "better" in such a particular way that he comes to the conclusion he prefers.

Of course, Abrams gives hints that many of these areas in which women are "better" are simply the result of social pressures. For example, women likely make "better" politicians and/or corporate leaders because, as an underrepresented group, only the most exceptional women make it to the top, but the same is not true with men. This has been shown in other studies in which women feel they have to try a lot harder and hone their skills, etc to compete with men. Thus, there is simply more variance among men, as the majority (and they are the best and the worst in many areas). It's really naive to maintain that women are inherently better politicians, world leaders or intrinsically immune from corruption or some other nonsense. It is simply that only exceptional, highly competent women make it to the top corporate and political ranks. There are so many more mediocre men in the same positions that, of course as one would expect, as a mere statistical average, the women will be more effective! It's not hard to understand. As parity in numbers is achieved you will see effectiveness in men rise, and the female advantage wane, precisely because gender has nothing to do with leadership talent at all!

On another note, it would have been just as easy for anyone to gather carefully selected "research and studies" to make a case that men were "better" than women, but I seriously doubt it would have been received well by the media like this book was. This is another thing that seriously "bugs" me. The media really did love this book, as can be seen by Abrams' various appearances on The View, on Fox, on CNN, etc. Indeed, the only one I can remember to challenge Abrams on any of the programs was (surprise) Elliot Spitzer of CNN. To be honest, a book written in the reverse likely would have been ripped to shreds by every single one of these programs. Double standard much?

Despite this book's obvious flaws (which are many), it was somewhat interesting. Women, of course, are better than men at some things just like men are better than women at others. However, I'm not really sure why anyone would write a book like this or think that this helps gender relations. Abrams claimed he wrote the book to start discussion and dialogue, but do we really need to encourage this ridiculous, nonsensical banter? If one really wants to read about actual documented differences between men and women and their relative pros and cons, there are plenty of interesting (and straight up hilarious) books written on the subject. If you're wanting to seriously argue that one sex is "better," well, good luck with that, as this book's shortcomings will probably hurt your cause, not help it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read if you don't take it too seriously, March 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
This is a fun, quick read. Books clubs will find much to discuss, and it's the perfect gift for your favorite male chauvinist. But reviewers who are complaining that the author's "evidence" isn't rigorously scientific are missing the point: he wrote this to stir discussion and make money, not to prove anything serious.

The book touches on many silly things, like speed eating, but women are not "better" than men because they can binge faster. The book also ignores many serious areas where the differences between men and women are stark, such as child abandonment and violent crime. Any society that cares about the future should rank as "better" those who are willing to care for the children and avoid hurting others. That such areas are not explored in the book is proof that it is meant to amuse, not prove.

So if you are looking for a fun read and some quirky examples of female superiority that will surprise you, this book has much to offer. But if you are looking for a serious critique of who is better, you will be disappointed, both in the subjects covered and the "proof" offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars started out promising but too long., February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting read. I am looking for a book for my womens book club to read. The independent women of the group should find much to discuss after reading Mr Abrams` arguments.
Although this was a short book, I found myself wishing it was shorter. Possibly combining some chapters would have helped.
Updated. Did not recommend for book club. Too much repetition of points. Those independent thinkers would have been bored before completing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down (Kindle Edition)
This book is so humorous in a eye opening way. I loved it. It was a page turner because I found myself wanting to see what his next perspective was on the next subject. It was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing Short Book on the Men vs. Women Debate..., July 9, 2013
This review is from: Man Down (Kindle Edition)
After glancing through other reviews of 'Man Down' I am surprised at how polarizing people find the book, and the lengths to which they go to discredit the conclusions. Have they missed the point altogether? The front jacket cover says "Chock-full of fun facts and conversation starters, this book may not end the debate about men versus women, but it will definitely change the starting point." It's a slim volume - only 143 pages - and can be read in less than 2 hours. It is not an exhaustively researched tome with the final word on the men vs. women debate. It's just a fun, quick read that reveals some surprising evidence, frequently delivered with a tongue-in-cheek smirk.

Abrams goes on to cite 36 areas in which he has uncovered 'evidence' that women are better than men, including tolerating pain, tasting beer, gambling, investing, avoiding fraud, utilizing social media, driving, voting, giving directions, sleeping, news casting, and doctoring, among others. Much of the so-called evidence is rather anecdotal. For instance, in chapter 10 "Women Get Ready Faster Than Men", he cites a study by Superdrug, the second largest purveyor of health and beauty products in Britain. The study indicates that men spend on average 83 minutes on grooming each day, while women spend 79 minutes. My response to that is "yeah, right !"

Some of the factors on which Abrams judges women better than men are already well understood and indisputable, such as longevity, health and stamina. Women also account for more of the student population in universities. The chapter titled "Women Are Getting Better Looking Faster Than Men" is also a bit of nonsensical fluff - fun to read but highly subjective.

Abrams' closing argument is that the consistent themes throughout his book "prove that women make fewer errors and are less corruptible, more conscientious, and more effective with their time and risk-taking. Together this creates a compelling case for women." The fallacy of Abrams' argument is that he hasn't listed any of the areas in which men are superior, and always will be.

The battle of the sexes rages on, but other than adding fuel to the fire, no one will be convinced to change their position based on the slim evidence in this book. Nevertheless, it was a fun and quick read and made even more interesting by the fact that it was written by a man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening and Hilarious - Great Read, March 28, 2011
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
I was shocked by how much I enjoyed this book. When I first heard about it via an interview with the author on Morning Joe, I was completely skeptical. Of course you can't "prove" that women are actually better than men, because the definition of 'better' is so subjective. With that in mind, I still thought the premise was funny and wanted to check it out. I finished the book in 3 days - and found myself enjoying a few laughs along the way while also considering the serious implications of the studies presented. I also found myself sharing those same studies with friends and getting a great response. Although some of the studies may not be the best research to judge perceived superiority, they all shed light on interesting facts that showed women in a better light than men.

Can some of the studies be interpreted differently? Of course. To say women are better at hammering nails because they are more accurate implies that 'better' is defined as "more accurate", rather than "faster" ( where men excel). There are many ways to interpret data but that doesn't make any interpretation wrong. I appreciated the fact that the author is an accomplished lawyer who is adept at stating his argument and proving it in a coherent manner. I loved my role as judge and jury. By the time I finished the book, I was not necessarily sold that women are better than men in the discussed areas, but I found myself frustrated that women have gone above and beyond to prove their worth and are still not being recognized. I wouldn't claim to be a feminist, but this book made me appreciate being a woman in a whole new way. In my mind, the point of Man Down is to inspire even a few people to tell a friend, coworker or stranger that women are more successful at [fill in the blank] and help clear up gender misconceptions.

I don't think that Dan Abram wrote this book to rock any boats (scientifically speaking). In fact, he said as much during the TV interview I saw - this book was meant to start the conversation, and I think in this way it was a success. Since reading the book, I've seen countless articles about the "mancession", and many more articles about the lack of of women in politics, boardrooms etc. I support any novel that gets the media talking about how smart and successful women are , and how to get more superstar women into positions of power.

I thoroughly enjoyed this eye opening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Gift, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
I gave a copy to my son's girlfriend and I have a copy so we compare notes...Even after being married 47 years I learned a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good and solid, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
this is a beginner's lesson in women's studies. Dan Abrams did his research, and came up with areas where women are superior. It does debunk all the myths about men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quick read., January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
While the proof that this guy gives isn't 100% irrefutable, it is certainly more evidence than the anecdotal crap I hear from men (and women) about how men are "better" at various things than women. I think this book does well to challenge various myths that men are better than women in X, Y and Z and goes a step further to suggest that in fact, the opposite may be true. It was a quick read and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where did he find all this info?, April 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Man Down: Proof Beyond a Reasonable Doubt That Women Are Better Cops, Drivers, Gamblers, Spies, World Leaders, Beer Tasters, Hedge Fund Managers, and Just About Everything Else (Hardcover)
Dan Abrams delights with his knowledge. His sources are ones the reader doesn't have much information about, but his use of them proves his point. The short chapters appeal to the browser. The quotations at the beginning of the chapters are amusing. It may not make the best seller list, but it appealed to me.

insert "Amazon Verified Purchase" at beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.