Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary installment
For people who don't know, "IP MAN 3" really isn't "IP MAN 3". The real name is "IP MAN: THE LEGEND IS BORN". It does not star Donnie Yen, and was made by a different production company,but shares much of the same cast. It also is basically a PREQUEL to the other two movies. It is necessary to understand the origins and early life of IP MAN. If you are a casual viewer,...
Published on November 17, 2010 by Lin707

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHY IS IT TITLED IP MAN 3?
I hate it when movies plug in different actors in place of the originals and use some of the original actors in as different characters. Movie was good but does not tie in with parts one and two. As I have mentioned some of the original actors play different characters making it very confusing. So I say if you've seen parts one and two watch IPMAN 3 as a stand alone...
Published on January 21, 2012 by yeah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary installment, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ip Man The Legend is Born (DVD)
For people who don't know, "IP MAN 3" really isn't "IP MAN 3". The real name is "IP MAN: THE LEGEND IS BORN". It does not star Donnie Yen, and was made by a different production company,but shares much of the same cast. It also is basically a PREQUEL to the other two movies. It is necessary to understand the origins and early life of IP MAN. If you are a casual viewer, you probably won't like it as much as the other two movies. However, if you really got into the story, you need to see this movie. This is a great DVD. Fantastic picture and some great special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Great DVD, November 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ip Man The Legend is Born (DVD)
While Donnie Yen fans might be disappointed with this movie, IP MAN
and action fans in general will be satisfied. This movie is a prequel
to the other two and was made by a different company. It traces the
early part of Ip's life not covered in the other two films. This DVD
is terrific with a great picture and lots of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, November 17, 2010
This review is from: Ip Man The Legend is Born (DVD)
I finally found this DVD, after first buying another version that was
horrible. I'm a huge IP MAN fan and really enjoyed it. If you haven't seen
any IP MAN movie, you should watch this one first, than IP MAN 1 and IP MAN
2 since this movie serves as a prequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IP MAN 3 OR ZERO, THE LEGEND OF THE POSSIBLY GRAND MASTER WHO MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE BEEN BORN OR WHAT HAVE YOU ...., July 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun (DVD)
IP MAN 'ZERO' (2010, original title "Yip Man chinchyun", hope that helps) is a/k/a THE LEGEND IS BORN: IP MAN, a/k/a IP MAN: THE LEGEND IS BORN, IP MAN 3 and really any darned variation on those you can imagine. Originally, I reviewed this with a never-before review-of-unseen-film just to warn buyers ... well, now I have seen it and am come to deliver the promised review.

And wouldn't you know it, here I've found yet ANOTHER titled edition of this same film. Yet it is a grand film and I loved it.

It really is very good. Not being able to find one single fault with it - I never expected it to be a realistic Wing Chun tutorial, it's a drama, people - it does a truly adequate job of taking us back to Ip Man's youth and early adulthood. In the way IP MAN took us through his wealthy years/downfall, and IP MAN 2 took us with him to Hong Kong for a whole new struggle, this film takes us through his early years. Very effective, and I don't care what the whiny babies say about the fight scenes.

This is of course never on the grand scale of the 1st or 2nd films, but how can anyone really criticize it? It is good! I LOVED the appearance of Ip Man's real-life son Master Ip Chun as Master Leung Bik - so charming, innocent and effective. The man is a born actor as long as he isn't forced to read from cue cards! And his fighting was awesome. "Whatever comes from my hands is Wing Chun!" he growls at young Ip Man.

I agree. Though this is also skinny on the facts, well, so were the other films. This is drama Chinese-style. God, even history Chinese style is mostly drama and little fact! Truth is, the acting is good, the settings are great, Yu Hang To plays a wonderful Ip Man without impersonating Donnie Yen, and they capture the atmosphere of the era. I loved seeing Ip Man at that Catholic school he attended.

If there are two major complaints I have about the film, it is the very short cameo of Sammo Hung as Grandmaster Chan Wah-shun, Ip Man's 1st and oft-mentioned teacher. He drops dead of a heart attack near the beginning, and, well, what can I say .... The other thing: why so many familiar faces from the first two films here? It is bad enough that Sammo looks and dresses exactly like Master Hung from IP MAN 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised how good it was., December 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ip Man The Legend is Born (DVD)
A word of warning should be mentioned that there isn't a good rep on this dvd's quality. A number of people seem to be getting various versions. I ordered mine from this posting from the positive ratings and it was also a different dvd. It had a different cover and no special edition. It was however good quality in catonese with english subtitles. I was surprised that they actually used production sound for the catonese dialoge.

I was pleasantly surprised with the production quality, acting, and story. They did an excellent job casting the young Ip Man. I actually enjoyed this movie more than IP MAN (1). I found the story to be more accurate than the 2008 ip man. Another very cool aspect of the film is that Ip Chun (Ip mans son) plays the role of Leung Bik (a later master of Ip Man). If your fan of the Ip man and wing chun definitely pick it up (but make sure it's a decent version).

*Another word of warning is that it did not play on my older dvd player, it did work on my ps3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for fans of IP MAN, November 17, 2010
This review is from: Ip Man The Legend is Born (DVD)
This movie answers a lot of unanswered questions if you've already seen IP MAN and IP MAN 2. Sure, the lead actor is not Donnie Yen, but he is the reigning HK martial arts champion in real life, so the fights are good. This is the best way to see this movie on DVD. This DVD has a bunch of special features including a "Making Of" documentary, Commentary, Trailer, and Photo Gallery. Video quality is superb and it includes dts 6.1 and Dolby 6.1 sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHY IS IT TITLED IP MAN 3?, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun (DVD)
I hate it when movies plug in different actors in place of the originals and use some of the original actors in as different characters. Movie was good but does not tie in with parts one and two. As I have mentioned some of the original actors play different characters making it very confusing. So I say if you've seen parts one and two watch IPMAN 3 as a stand alone movie and not a continuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those looking for the whole story!, April 17, 2013
By 
Daniel (PORT ANGELES, WASHINGTON, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun (DVD)
This story is a great contribution to the story of Ip Man and Wing Chun in general. I will reveal to some where in time this movie takes place, and also list all known Wing Chun movies in general order of the mytholody!

I enjoy many things about Wing Chun, and movies, so I have organized all the known movies on the subject, and you can literally watch large portions unfold through the expression of cinematography from beginning of Wing Chun to Bruce Lee.

You can find full length movies of a number of these on YouTube

My Favorites will have ** next to them.

1978 - Descendant of Wing Chun
(Actors) Kwok Kuen Chan, Shao-chia Chen and Sammo Hung
(Director) Ha Huang

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Descendants-Wing-Chun-Kwok-Kuen/dp/B00000INCT/ref=sr_1_28?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366163891&sr=1-28&keywords=wing+chun

**1994 - (Original) Wing Chun Movie
(Actors) Michelle Yeoh, and Donnie Yen
(Director) Woo-ping Yuen

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Wing-Chun-Michelle-Yeoh/dp/6304852770/ref=sr_1_14?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366163662&sr=1-14&keywords=wing+chun

**2010 - Kung Fu Wing Chun
(Actors) Jing Bai, Shaoqun Yu and Collin Chou
(Director) Tung Cho 'Joe' Cheung

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Kung-Wing-Chun-Jing-Bai/dp/B00B54CY4A/ref=sr_1_23?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366163687&sr=1-23&keywords=wing+chun

**1993 - The Prodigal Son
(Actors) Sammo Hung, Yuen Biao, Lam Ching Ying, and Frankie Chan
(Director) Sammo Hung

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/The-Prodigal-Son-Sammo-Hung/dp/B000J9YJT0/ref=pd_bxgy_mov_img_y

1978 - Warriors Two
(Actors) Sammo Hung, Billy Chan, Lung Chan, Fat Chung and Hark-On Fung
(Director)Sammo Hung

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Warriors-Two-Billy-Chan/dp/B0007IO6ZA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1366163277&sr=8-2&keywords=Warriors+Two

**2007 - Wing Chun: The Complete TV Series (40 Episodes)
(Actors) Nicholas Tse, Yuen Biao, Sammo Hung and Philip Ng
(Directors) Sing Chi Chiu and Fung Yuen Wah

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Wing-Chun-Complete-Nicholas-Tse/dp/B000XY7ZSS/ref=sr_1_2?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366163483&sr=1-2&keywords=wing+chun

SAMPLE NOW - YouTube it. On address bar and after the / paste the the following parts between the "*".
* ?list = PLgJQzoaQW8QByFaPRmgTb - 9X1kB9E8319 *(remove spaces)

The following seems to be compilation of Wing Chun Series (spoiler alert)
Wing Chun Dr. Leung Jan with Leung Bik and Leung Chun Movie
Past this to YouTube address
* watch? v = qtwe95FYVwM * (remove spaces)

**2010 - The Legend is Born: Ip Man (also Ip Man 3 or Ip Man Zero)
(Actors) Dennis To, Yuen Biao, Sammo Hung,, and Fan Siu-Wong
(Directors) Tony Leung Siu Hung and Herman Yau Lai To

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/The-Legend-Is-Born-Man/dp/B005NQ5LQ4/ref=pd_bxgy_mov_img_z

**2010 - Ip Man
(Actors) Donnie Yen and Simon Yam Ka Tung Lam
(Director) Wilson Yip

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Ip-Man-Donnie-Yen/dp/B003INBNXO/ref=sr_1_109?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366164396&sr=1-109&keywords=wing+chun

**2010 - Ip Man 2: Legend of the Grandmaster
(Actors)
(Director)

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Ip-Man-2-Legend-Grandmaster/dp/B004I1AGTC/ref=pd_bxgy_mov_img_y

2013 - The Grandmaster
(Actor) Tony Leung, Zhang Ziyi, Song Hye-kyo, Zhao Benshan and Yuen Woo-ping
(Director) Wong Kar-wai

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/THE-Grandmaster-with-Tony-Leung/dp/B00C9G22R2/ref=sr_1_2?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1366248497&sr=1-2&keywords=The+Grandmaster

2010 - Young Bruce Lee (also known as Bruce Lee, My Brother)
(Actors) Aarif Rahman, Tony Leung Ka-fai and Christy Chung
(Directors) Raymond Yip and Manfred Wong

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Young-Bruce-Region-Ultimate-Edition/dp/B007H63P52/ref=tmm_dvd_title_0

2010 - The Legend of Bruce Lee Series (50 Episodes)
(Actors) Kwok-Kwan Chan, Michelle Lang
(Directors) [series] Lee Moon-ki, and [movie] Darve Lau

BUY
Movie - http://www.amazon.com/Legend-Bruce-Lee-Le/dp/B003ULW70W/ref=pd_sim_mov_2
Series - http://www.amazon.com/The-Legend-Bruce-CCTV-Episodes/dp/7799821035

**1993 - Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story
(Actors) Jason Scott Lee and Lauren
(Directors) Holly Rob Cohen

BUY - http://www.amazon.com/Dragon-The-Bruce-Lee-Story/dp/0783226985/ref=pd_bxgy_mov_img_z
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prequel to Ip Man, August 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun (DVD)
This is the prequel to Ip Man and Ip Man 2. The movie has no english language (Cantonese or Mandarin language)and therefore requires reading subtitles in english which sometimes move a bit fast. Although the action is very good and portrays a much younger Master Ip, the story is successful. I really enjoyed this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grandmaster is GREAT but NOT this 100 min. version, August 24, 2013
This review is from: IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun (DVD)
Fantastic. Liked Ip Man #1 with Donnie Yen best, but all are amazing. This version appears to be 100 min. I bought international blu ray version with English subs and it is 130 min.. Subs fine for me and I like the authentic Chinese fine given the huge apparent addition of unedited 30 extra min. of Ip Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

IP Man 3 The Legend is Born: Grandmaster of Wing Chun
$24.99 $14.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.