Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Class Management Information Systems Textbook
This is a great textbook. Reading it cover-to-cover is certain to make you wiser and give you a tremendous edge in understanding the Electronic Commerce (business over the Internet and other computer networks).

Electronic commerce/e-commerce is a long-term growth area that is commonly known to require a much greater than average intellectual capacity. Once...
Published on August 28, 2009 by Citizen John

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid text book
I had to buy this for a masters class. Oh boy this was a terrible book mostly because it's old and outdated. Actually, it turns out the author passed away several years ago and new editions of the books continue to be published. All they do is rearrange the chapters for each new book.
Published on November 18, 2011 by me


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Class Management Information Systems Textbook, August 28, 2009
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
This is a great textbook. Reading it cover-to-cover is certain to make you wiser and give you a tremendous edge in understanding the Electronic Commerce (business over the Internet and other computer networks).

Electronic commerce/e-commerce is a long-term growth area that is commonly known to require a much greater than average intellectual capacity. Once you achieve a certain level of experience, you should expect to do well even in a recession. Part of the price to pay is that this is a fairly dry subject. It is not as dry as accounting, but it requires updating one's skills more frequently than what is required of accountants.

I've keep up with every new edition in this McGraw-Hill Irwin series. This 9th edition of Management Information Systems (MIS) is the best one so far. The benefit of keeping up with this MIS series is its fresh batch of real world case studies. Major corporations have invested enormous amounts in e-commerce with both great success and great failure. Employers want to know that their MIS leaders grasp lessons learned from what others have done at great expense. That adds relevance to the case studies in each edition.

Because the book is lengthy, 696 pages, few students actually read the whole book closely. It is a great sacrifice to allocate one's time to do so, and it requires great mental discipline. But I don't see anything wrong with the book. It is organized well with introductory chapters and then chapters that cover the subject of e-commerce. I think one will accept that this text is very well-written when the complexity and dryness of the subject are appreciated. For example, a sentence may discuss how groupware improves collaboration capabilities of discussion forums by doing x, y and z. You can't take a sentence like that and convert it to a typical high school sophomore reading level. The subject doesn't allow it. Therefore, one does not turn the pages quickly with an MIS textbook. I certainly don't.

This book is heavy. It's not practical to carry around much. But it is a quality physical text. It is good hardcover with a strong binding and very high-quality page stock. The authors had the decency to make the book readable by using the correct font size, plenty of white space and excellent labeling. It's not like carrying around a phone book. And there's no reason to skimp on the quality of the physical text with a money-subject such as MIS. But I'm not saying it's perfect. The case study pages use insufficient white space, probably the result of a publisher constraint on the number of pages permitted.

I was glad to see George Marakas back to team with James O'Brien on this 9th edition. As some people will recall, Marakas was brought in to help O'Brien on the 7th edition and added a lot of value to the product. Then O'Brien was alone on the 8th edition. With Marakas back again with O'Brien for this 9th edition, McGraw-Hill Irwin regained the lead in my opinion. I find this is the best MIS book on the market currently and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview of Information Systems, December 21, 2010
By 
Joe V (Kansas City, Missouri) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
One of the authors of this book, George M. Marakas is a professor at the School of Business at my university. I was disheartened to read in the preface that the other author, James O'Brien passed away during the final stages of editing this book.

As for the product, I found arrangement easy and intuitive to follow. The book is broken down into 5 modules: Foundation Concepts, Information Technologies, Business Applications, Development Processes, and Management Challenges. At the end of each chapter, there are review quizzes that test your understanding of the key terms in the readings. Interspersed throughout the text are real world cases that bridge the gap between the abstract, academic concepts and the real world with applications. However, consider yourself warned because there is a ton of material covered in each chapter. If you want to truly get a grasp on the material, plan on spending at least 2 hours studying each chapter.

The content is not easy to understand especially if you are not an IS major, but the authors have done an incredible job of explicating the various aspects in the field of information technology. There are plenty of diagrams that summarize the material visually if that is the way you learn. As the title suggests, this is NOT a book for a computer science major, although some of the concepts overlap. This book is written with the specific targeted audience of business majors.

Here's the table of contents for this textbook.
1. Foundations of Information Systems in Business
2. Competing with Information Technology
3. Computer Hardware
4. Computer Software
5. Data Resource Management
6. Telecommunications and Networks
7. e-Business Systems
8. Enterprise Business Systems
9. Electronic Commerce Systems
10. Decision Support Systems
11. Developing Business/IT Strategies
12. Developing Business/IT Solutions
13. Security and Ethical Challenges
14. Enterprise and Global Management of Information Technology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Textbook used for MBA course, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
Textbook was used for a class in my MBA curriculum. The book supplemented the course well and brought good case studies for class discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
Nice and cheap. I needed the book for class. The book is really boring though. Almost wish there was a more updated version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
this product is nice and good . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid text book, November 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
I had to buy this for a masters class. Oh boy this was a terrible book mostly because it's old and outdated. Actually, it turns out the author passed away several years ago and new editions of the books continue to be published. All they do is rearrange the chapters for each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for people looking to pursue IT mgmt career or starting a IT business, August 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
This book is worth the price it has so many valuable case studies that authors put together in a nice format. This book is easy to read and authors did a great job in explaining very clearly all IT strategy management topics. It's a must read for people in the Technology business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice orgrganized book, November 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
Very nice organized book, I learned a lot. sometimes I have to do other searches to understand the material. I wish it had a chapter for the whole big, I mean a big picture, to summarize everything then going into details. this book will take you a detailed step by step.

very good to keep around you, at work or school and use it as reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete knowledge of management of information systems, June 27, 2009
By 
Mammo Queen (Buffalo Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
I bought this textbook for a class I am taking called Management of Information Systems. This book is very thorough and detailed about all aspects of information systems. There are lots of real world case studies which makes it more tangible to understand. The book is very well written and is actually easy to read. It is about 650 pages. I don't like having to carry it around to and from work to do my studies because it is heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Book., January 24, 2009
This review is from: Management Information Systems (Hardcover)
This book offers nothing over others in the field. I am not an english major, but the amount of errors in the first chapter alone forced me to give up on reading this book. Second, the logic in some of the examples jumps around so much that there appears to be no structure. Being the ninth edition of this book, I am suprised at both the publisher and writer for having released such a poor product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Management Information Systems
Management Information Systems by James A. O'Brien (Hardcover - October 23, 2008)
Used & New from: $2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.