Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on the market for management practices, February 26, 2009
By 
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
OOPS! really gets to the point about what needs to be done and how to do it. It is extremely helpful in pinpointing ways to be better managers. I enjoyed reading it and I have bought copies for friends that I know are in need of managerial advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unintended Consequences, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
Aubrey Daniels is a leading authority on what makes people tick - specifically, how to apply the laws of human behavior in the workplace. In this book, Daniels reveals how many common management practices are empty (or even damaging) rituals. He provides specific guidance in the better ways to influence people toward improved performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From his first book to this book--the power to change the way the world works, March 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead)

I have read all of Aubrey's books and have the privilege of working with him. This book reflects the way he sees the possibilities for all of us in our working world. If we each can learn how to manage, using the ideas in this book, our workplaces could be much stronger. Each chapter challenges traditional and highly accepted American management practices that are in fact barriers to sustaining excellence in performance. Another Daniel's book that makes an important contribution to bringing out the best in people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aubrey Daniels is a genius, July 26, 2014
I run a region of 14 branches in a community bank. I began reading Aubrey Daniels around 5 years ago. I now have an entire wall filled with trophies. I have consistently held the highest producing region, highest engaged workforce, with the lowest turnover.
I have taken a new region 2 months ago that has historically fostered sub standard results. Using Aubrey' s behavioral management techniques my new region is now producing best in class results.
It works......traditional management techniques are all wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many sacred cows, so little time..., March 11, 2009
By 
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
This clear, to-the-point book makes you ask: How have so many businesses come to pursue mediocrity so energetically? The book has two theses: first, to move beyond the unfortunate status quo it's necessary to explore why common management practices are empty (or damaging) rituals; and, second, there are better ways to manage, rooted in the same science of behavior that makes for successful efforts in education, human services, even animal training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOPS, April 16, 2009
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely amazing book for our time. Mr. Daniels goes to the core of what most organizations do not understand about effective management practices and provides simple, yet concise advice on how you can optimize performance. I highly recommend this book to those charged with optimizing human performance.

Alex MArchetti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luck is all about Behavioral Reinforcement, January 17, 2010
By 
This review is from: OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) (Hardcover)
Aubrey Daniels writes from a life time of experience and a deep understanding of human behavior. If you want to produce results for your own performance and the organization for which you work, following his sound behavioral practices will help you accomplish your goals. Focusing on the 13 most common management practices that waste time and money, Daniels presents why they do not work and what to do instead. He is practical and straight forward in his recommendations -- "Don't do this...do this!" The key is positive reinforcement of the behaviors you seek and avoidance of negative reinforcement which, like punishment and penalties, will cause people to perform to avoid them, but will not motivate to excel beyond the level of avoidance. And such tactics undermine engagement, retention and morale. Get lucky -- get positive -- get the book!
Sheryl Dawson
Total Career Success
Author Job Search: The Total System (3rd Ed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Understanding the Behavioral Side of Management, May 21, 2014
Very interesting read. Ideas and applications that you can immediately bring to the workplace. I found myself re-reading many of the "What to do" sections for full comprehension and understanding how it can be applied in practice. Overall a very enlightening book and I think a glimpse into a future corporate standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good I really like it, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellence constructive critic to most common management practices, sure I understand why my former employer was so screw it. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Leader Should Read this Book, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is very well written. The concepts are strong and there is a very practical aspect to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead)
OOPS! 13 Management Practices That Waste Time & Money (and what to do instead) by Aubrey C. Daniels (Hardcover - February 25, 2009)
$24.95 $18.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.