Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
When I moved to Mexico one year ago to run a division for my company, I read many books -- this one is the best!
It clearly outlines differing cultural norms and pitfalls.
I did feel some of the "case study" scenarios were a bit contrived and awkward, but this book nails the central issues facing American managers in Mexico.
Mexico can be a great...
Published on November 30, 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somwhat dissapointed
I am a Consultant on Cross-Cultural Communication Mexico-U.S. I read this book in a few hours last night in preparation for a research project. I was expecting to find new information or information based on the latest cross-cultural research. Then I looked at the publishing date and found my answer. The first edition is from 1989, thus some of the information even on...
Published on April 29, 2008 by Marid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, November 30, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
When I moved to Mexico one year ago to run a division for my company, I read many books -- this one is the best!
It clearly outlines differing cultural norms and pitfalls.
I did feel some of the "case study" scenarios were a bit contrived and awkward, but this book nails the central issues facing American managers in Mexico.
Mexico can be a great place to work and live, particularly if you are sensitive to the business culture and its nuances.
Experience is the only true teacher, but this book makes the lessons far less painful.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somwhat dissapointed, April 29, 2008
By 
Marid (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
I am a Consultant on Cross-Cultural Communication Mexico-U.S. I read this book in a few hours last night in preparation for a research project. I was expecting to find new information or information based on the latest cross-cultural research. Then I looked at the publishing date and found my answer. The first edition is from 1989, thus some of the information even on second edition is outdated. Ms. Kras does a wonderful job comparing and contrasting an exhausting list of cultural values which works as a first step. Yet, I am looking for the next level. What happen to the Mexican and U.S. managers when they actually interact and how those misinterpretations and misunderstandings get resolved effectively?
A "laundry list" is a good start but does not answer questions nor does give light to getting pass those differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Management in Two Cultures, March 11, 2007
Much has been written on the economic dimensions of U.S.-Mexican business relations, but little on the more subtle and sensitive cultural issues involved. Eva Kras has now provided us with a book that confronts head on the problems that arise out of the cultural diferences between U.S. and Mexican managers. And it could be not be more timely.

Mexico's ambitious Maquiladora program - designed to foster the establishment of foreign, especially U.S., maunfacturing plants in Mexico along the U.S. border - has been strikingly successful. All along the border jointly management industries have sprung up. The result has been a significant increase in the amount of contact between managers from the two cultures and a dramatic rise in the stakes involved in their developing effective working relationships.

This practical handbook is based on extensive interviews with Mexican and U.S. managers. Ms. Kras compares the critical areas of a managerial setting in which the values and behaviors of the two cultures differ, and offers specific recommendations as to how the disparities between them can be handled. In the process, she deals realistically with the problems and misunderstandings that arise between Mexican and U.S. managers and demonstrates clearly how simple but hard-to-achieve changes in attitude and style can resolve them.

--- from book's back cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for doing business in Mexico., August 16, 2014
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
I first read this book in 1988 as I was tasked with building a Maquiladora in Tijuana for Square D Corporation. The consultant we had engaged made this required reading before I even started on the project. While it is always a danger to stereotype a culture, I believe the author did an excellent job presenting the issues in a useful non-blaming manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, September 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
Very easy to read and simple but clear layout the culture differences between US and Mexico. One can draw parallel easily from this book when comparing other cultures in similar clusters. Although the data was collected years ago, it seems the conclusions are still valid based on the feedback from my Mexican classmates. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best management comparison book, July 5, 2005
By 
L. Hijar (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
I took a class from Eva about 8 years ago in Guadalajara, Mex. and used her book as a textbook. To this date, I still use it as reference and good refresher about the cultural differences in management between the US and Mex. It's easy to read and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent investigation!!, February 15, 2008
By 
Jorge Santibanez (Gomez Palacio, Durango, MEXICO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
It provides specific differences between US & Mexican executives, the way they work, plus the cultural & educational reasons to react different to a same situation. It's a great tool to undestand and learn how to work with executives from both sides of the border...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, July 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
Very good analysis of US and Mexican cultures and management styles. Easy to read, great for employees working in both US and Mexican business cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST, April 24, 2009
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
If you or a part of you rcompany has contact with Mexico, YOU HAVE TO read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Management in Two Cultures: Bridging the Gap Between U.S. and Mexican Managers
$23.95 $16.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.