Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Code Included
The Kindle Fire version of this textbook is generally easy to use and I am mostly happy with it. It is so much handier to have an EBook version than lugging around a bulky print book that it makes up for the few faults I have encountered. I wish it came with standard Kindle functionality but this is not the case. I have vision problems so the ability to re-size the font...
Published 22 months ago by Sue Cotton

versus
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Textbook...complicated homework
After using this for my class I have to say that the explanations in the chapters does not prepare you very well from the homework questions at the end. These questions can literally take a hour each and the chapter just does not have enough examples to help you with them. I ended up buying the solutions manual off Amazon and it helped a TON. It also shows you how to...
Published on September 22, 2010 by E. Brady


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Code Included, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle Fire version of this textbook is generally easy to use and I am mostly happy with it. It is so much handier to have an EBook version than lugging around a bulky print book that it makes up for the few faults I have encountered. I wish it came with standard Kindle functionality but this is not the case. I have vision problems so the ability to re-size the font would be nice. You can expand/contract the image size with finger pinching movements but have to do so on each page, and having to scroll around the expanded page in order to see all of the text gets a bit old. On the plus side, you can make notes and bookmarks, and the text is searchable. I expect that if Amazon could have included Kindle functions, they would have.

I have one complaint that Amazon CAN address. The product description does not make it clear that a WileyPlus access code is NOT included in the price. If you are taking an on-line class this code will have to be purchased separately. For price shoppers out there, this is critical information and should be included in the description. This is true of any text book which would normally have an access code, not just this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Textbook...complicated homework, September 22, 2010
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
After using this for my class I have to say that the explanations in the chapters does not prepare you very well from the homework questions at the end. These questions can literally take a hour each and the chapter just does not have enough examples to help you with them. I ended up buying the solutions manual off Amazon and it helped a TON. It also shows you how to calculate the problem so it really helps you learn not just give you the answer. If anyone is stuck with this book I would recommend getting the manual for extra help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, July 19, 2011
This review is from: Managerial Accounting, 14th Edition (Hardcover)
Using this text for a UCLA extension on-line Managerial Accounting class. Excellent text: clear and concise explanations, well placed illustrations and exhibits (I hate it when the text refers to an exhibit two pages over so you have to keep flipping back and forth); very good (free) on-line supplementary activities through publishers' website includes check figures, videos, powerpoints, quizes and practice exams; there is a fee-based "connect" supplement through the publisher but I have not used it and can't comment on it. This is the 14th edition and unlike other accounting texts with numerous editions where the authors appear to simply keep adding words until the narrative is incomprehensible, they have kept things tight. A nice change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not comparing apples to apples, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting, 14th Edition (Hardcover)
This text was brand new and what I thought I was purchasing but they did not make it clear that it did not include the $45 code needed to complete the assignemnts. Therefore it was just as cheap to buy at the college bookstore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No solutions... How are you supposed to check your progress?, September 12, 2005
This book is good about listing the objectives and showing you exactly where to find the answers for the multiple choice questions. For example: What is the purpose of a job cost sheet? The book highlights the area where the answer is. Easy huh? Well, what about the actual accounting problems? The detailed problems at the end of each chapter have NO SOLUTIONS to them, and you can't buy a solutions guide unless you are an instructor! I'm not an accounting wizard, so I have to actually practice before it sticks in my brain... imagine that. I guess they expect everyone to see the problems and read about the problems and automatically get it. They work out a "Demonstration Problem" for you, but that only applies to some of the problems at the end of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This big management accounting text is still useful, August 30, 2009
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This was an important book in management accounting, especially before a lot of excellent material was available for online study.

This book was dominant because of the enormous investment in its production. The list of professors that contributed by being reviewers and consultants to this text is longer than any such list I have ever seen. You can hardly find any written work that has benefited from and survived such scrutiny.

I think this book would be a good resource in addition to one's regular study materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible book, September 11, 2010
There is no glossary in the back of the book, so if you need to look up a term or vocab word you are out of luck.
Each chapter has a glossary at the end, but there's 14 chapters so if you need to look up a word, you are out of luck because it could be under any of the 14 chapters.

There is also not nearly enough information in the book to even BEGIN to answer any of the questions, exercises, or problems. The book also contains absolutely no answers, so you have no idea where to even start. It is impossible to learn anything with this book. These authors are terrible. Not just this book, ALL of their books. Big thumbs DOWN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening Book, October 30, 2007
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This is a well written book that provides comprehensive coverage of various aspects of managerial accounting. The author clearly and methodically covers the various topics pertaining to managerial accounting relevant to modern organizations.

The material in the book is well presented and the author gives several useful and helpful examples that reinforce the concepts and ideas presented in the book. I found the book to be very practical and easy to read and understand. The book is a useful and handy reference for managers working in various firms including service, retail, manufacturing and non-profit organisations. Among the subjects covered include activity-based costing, target costing, the value chain, customer profitability analysis, job-order costing, budgeting and performance evaluation.

The book is a valuable resource and guide for managers in various organizations and students doing an MBA, studying accounting or business studies at undergraduate or postgraduate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suzi's Review, August 4, 2009
By 
S. Johns (Sacaton, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This book although heavy and very expensive does the job! Some chapters are a bit long and make you sleepy, but the information is very good. The book guides you step by step and that is very handy when you haven't been in intro accounting for a while. I find it very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars textbook used at Harvard, February 22, 2008
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
I used this book to study managerial accounting at Harvard. It is very informative and include productive exercises. I know it is very costly, but don't try to buy the international edition, which has a different version of exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Managerial Accounting, 14th Edition
Managerial Accounting, 14th Edition by Ray H. Garrison (Hardcover - January 5, 2011)
$238.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.