Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clear accounting book !
This College/MBA level book does have something in common with books in the 'For Dummies' series: It provides very clear explanations, of essential concepts. In addition it is well illustrated with clear, to the point, useful diagrams and illustrations that are worth "a thousand words".

Having read other accounting texts such as Horngren's books, this book is...
Published on August 28, 2005 by Tony Holland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content - Chapter Problems
This is a great book that really states the fundamentals. However, there are some mistypes, etc... through the chapter end questions -- the review questions. It can be frustrating at time.
Published on October 19, 2010 by JD_SD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clear accounting book !, August 28, 2005
By 
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This College/MBA level book does have something in common with books in the 'For Dummies' series: It provides very clear explanations, of essential concepts. In addition it is well illustrated with clear, to the point, useful diagrams and illustrations that are worth "a thousand words".

Having read other accounting texts such as Horngren's books, this book is great as an introduction, for overview, or for review of managerial accounting concepts. It provides clear definitions of terms and concepts. It helps to understand and implement concepts. And, it gives practical examples how decision making is affected by incremental costs, and by what you measure.

This is not a basic or simple text. It explains Managerial Accounting very well. A CD with case demonstrations livens the adds to its modern format. The fact that James Jiambalvo, through his clarity, style and organization, manages to make important accounting concepts appear so clear and simple, is a credit to his style.

This is a great accounting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was my class textbook, June 7, 2003
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
Don't be deceived by the many colorful photos and illustrations used throughout this textbook - it is not an elementary "Dummies Guide to Cost Accounting" primer.
I found Jiambalvo's book clearly communicated all of the relevant accounting topics one would expect to learn in an MBA level managerial accounting course. The accounting examples in the book are interesting, nicely explained, and the chapter progression does a good job of incrementally building on previous lessons.
The CD that comes with the book is surprisingly well-done. It is well-produced and provides very good supplementary support to each chapter in the book.
It would have been nice though if the CD would have included electronic versions of the cases. There were many times I spent an extra ten minutes or so simply retyping in spreadsheets from the book that could have been done for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally reading a managerial accounting book is fun, February 18, 2006
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
I love this book. The illustrations are great and the text is easy to follow. Jiambalvo helps the reader to build a bridge over the chasm between theory and real life applications.

The book has just the right length. Not too elaborate and not too concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managerial Accounting, February 18, 2006
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
Overall the book is ok. The author can be confusing at time, and the answers to practice problems are not in the back of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Study Guide to accompany Managerial Accounting, 2nd Edition, February 3, 2006
By 
D&M (Bothell, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The text book was fabulous! The study guide is a beneficial tool that really helped me understand the concepts presented. Using the textbook exercises, problems and the textbook I was able to get an A in the class AND learn a lot! Good Luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content - Chapter Problems, October 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This is a great book that really states the fundamentals. However, there are some mistypes, etc... through the chapter end questions -- the review questions. It can be frustrating at time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, June 13, 2014
By 
Josh (COLUMBIA, SC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
cheap as dirt and good quality, all and all set me back 4 bucks which isn't bad for a book for school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good introduction, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
This is a highly theory based book, not good for practicing managers. I can't recommend this book for students or managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Loose Leaf)
Just what I needed and just what the description says. It is loose leaf with three hole punch so I can put it in a binder or just use it loose leaf and carry just the chapters I need with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not boring, informative, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managerial Accounting (Hardcover)
used for a financial management class. was easy to read, not dry. would recommend for a foundation in financial management
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Managerial Accounting
Managerial Accounting by James Jiambalvo (Hardcover - October 31, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.