Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of the exam and a good reference as well.
For those of you who work on the PIX Firewall from Cisco and need to be trained on the finer points of the application, you'll find this book is right up your alley. The author has put a great deal of effort in this manual and results give you the best possible book on the topic I have seen so far.

In over 750 pages this manual is broken down into five parts,...
Published on December 9, 2001 by Michael J Woznicki

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most errors ever published in a book
They should contact Guinness on this one. Almost every page has some type of error. (Mislabeled IP addresses, mistyped configs, etc.) It's amazing! Seriously though, the content in the book is good. However, the number of errors is bad. If there weren't any errors, I would have given it a 5.
Published on January 17, 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of the exam and a good reference as well., December 9, 2001
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
For those of you who work on the PIX Firewall from Cisco and need to be trained on the finer points of the application, you'll find this book is right up your alley. The author has put a great deal of effort in this manual and results give you the best possible book on the topic I have seen so far.

In over 750 pages this manual is broken down into five parts, each building on the section before. The amount of information included is very detailed and well documented and I can see another volume of information on the horizon.

In part 1 this is where you learn to set up the security policy dealing with threats, denial of service attacks and the hacking process. Also covered the security policies and securing the switches and routers.

Part 2 moves to dial-up security with the use is Cisco's AAA security, PPP, CHAP, PAP, TACTAS+, ACS and Radius are the major topics covered. Showing the different ways to ensure the dial in accounts are the only things creating traffic that will enter into your network.

In Part 3 the author shows that the secure internet connection is one of the most important parts of the network security scheme. Topics include the setting up of the DMZ, using and working with the bastion host, firewall with NAT and PAT, and the Cisco PIX Firewall.

Part 4 is the PIX Firewall section where you learn about the configuration of the PIX firewall, configuring multiple interfaces and AAA encryption. Finally part 5 which deals with VPN and IPSec. The author does ensure an understanding of IPSec, configuration and configuration with PIX rounds out the Section.

Case studies are included, examples of the router code, an abundance of other examples and well as hands on tasks makes this a must have for everyone network manager, administrator and security specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference but Kinda Wordy., December 11, 2001
By 
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
This is a must have book if your going for Certification. However, If you just want to learn how to work the different components I would recommend "Cisco Secure Internet Security Solutions" CSISS is not as wordy as this and gets into the nuts and bolts of the components.
MCNS is excellent for those who may normally tend to ask more questions in class, or may have a little trouble understanding the theory behind the components.
These two books go Hand-in-Hand to give you not only the certification but the know how to use the Cisco Secure Components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need to understand (cisco) security, this is the book, August 8, 2001
By 
Andy Fox (Topsfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
This book follows the Managing Cisco Network Security (MCNS) course produced by Cisco. What is great about this book is that it goes into more detail than what the course book does. That makes it a great resource if you don't attend the class; and makes it a great resource if you DO attend the class (for later reference). If you do attend, you'll see that the book does go farther. Mike Wenstrom did a great job with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most errors ever published in a book, January 17, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "heilxmq" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
They should contact Guinness on this one. Almost every page has some type of error. (Mislabeled IP addresses, mistyped configs, etc.) It's amazing! Seriously though, the content in the book is good. However, the number of errors is bad. If there weren't any errors, I would have given it a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, January 24, 2001
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
A long awaited 'definitive' Cisco Press book on Managing Security within corporate networks. Makes excellent read both for the simple and technical minds. If you thinking of the MCNS Exam this is it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So terribly disappointing, August 16, 2001
By 
Ajit Mohanraj (Bangalore, India.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
May I just say how disappointed I was with this book.With the credentials of the author I was really looking forward to actually having a very very good 'understanding" of security .. and sadly all I got was a half baked coverage of core topics and a fairly well documented 'command-reference' guide to implement Cisco Security !! (I could have got that from the Cisco Documentation) What I was looking for was an in-depth understanding of the technology..didnt find it here and found the Cisco CCO Web site as a very very good reference and may I say a lot easier to read and understand !! For a hands-on aid in the lab - Mike's book I guess meets the requirement ... but thats not why one buys it in the first place !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like!, April 11, 2002
By 
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
Cisco Press is funny because some of their books series are error-few and others are error-some. I really liked the content of this book though. I reference it for specific subjects as much or more than any other good book I own. I wish that it would give better descriptions of more detail on some key commands and not just the cut and paste of the command in the description field. Other than that there is a broad range of decent security info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but mistakes make it a difficult read, May 12, 2002
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
This book has good coverage of all cisco security technologies. PIXes are there with intense detail but no config examples with access-lists at all. All examples use conduit and static. I wont blame it as this book is published in Jan 2001 and pix access-lists became famous around the beginning of this year. The biggest problem is config mistakes, i wasted hours to figure them out and finally decided that they r definitely wrong. So read it but watch out for mistakes. 3 stars becoz of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for Cisco Security, August 17, 2002
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
As I am currently working on my Cisco Security Specialization (CSS) I have read all books related to CSS. Out of the four books this is definately one of the most valuable references when it comes to Cisco network security. This book is well-structured, referencing all the potential threats and countermeasures that exist to network security. I really praise the author for his clear explaination of IPSec and PIX concepts. For those seeking to pass the MCNS 2.0 exam, this is a great reference and study guide. All necessary topics are covered, except the Cisco VPN Client, which has been added to the MCNS exam during version 2.0. Overall, a great book by a great author, a definite must-have for the future CSS1, CCIP/CCIE security specialists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Book, October 28, 2001
This review is from: Managing Cisco Network Security (Hardcover)
It doesn't get five starts because it lacks information about Intrusion Detection, which is an important part of Network Security. The rest of the book is excellent, not only for the CSS1 & CCIP certification (it can be a guide for the 640-442 MCNS, 9E0-571 CSPFA & 9E0-570 CSVPN (you need additional info on the VPN 3000 and the CS VPN Client for this exam)) but also as a reference book for implementing security on Cisco Networks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Managing Cisco Network Security
Managing Cisco Network Security by Michael J. Wenstrom (Hardcover - January 15, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.