Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even with a "hard" boss you can come out ahead
No matter where you work, if you can't get along with the boss, the rest of your job will be hard. Learning to deal with all types of personalities is all part of getting along. In Managing your manager, how to get ahead with any type of boss, Gonzague Dufour gives you tools to help you become your boss's go to person, increase your visibility in the company and expand...
Published on March 26, 2011 by Michelle Dunn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meant for people with really bad bosses
While the author is quite experienced and has seen a diverse set of bosses, the generalization of bosses was not relevant to me. Basically, if you have a terrible boss and are getting frustrated, there is a good chance you will find some assistance.

If you have a good or OK relationship with your boss, this book is probably not the best choice.
Published on March 12, 2012 by Ojus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even with a "hard" boss you can come out ahead, March 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
No matter where you work, if you can't get along with the boss, the rest of your job will be hard. Learning to deal with all types of personalities is all part of getting along. In Managing your manager, how to get ahead with any type of boss, Gonzague Dufour gives you tools to help you become your boss's go to person, increase your visibility in the company and expand your spheres of influence. These are all things that can seem unobtainable when you aren't getting along with your boss. If you can manage your boss instead of the other way around, you can end up on top. This book is a good resource for employees and for boss's who may want to better themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meant for people with really bad bosses, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
While the author is quite experienced and has seen a diverse set of bosses, the generalization of bosses was not relevant to me. Basically, if you have a terrible boss and are getting frustrated, there is a good chance you will find some assistance.

If you have a good or OK relationship with your boss, this book is probably not the best choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boss a bit of a lemon? Here are the tools to make the lemonade, February 5, 2011
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
There is not a working person that has not surveyed their work environment and wished that it was different. These wishes land in many categories; it may be their physical or hierarchical location, the duties of their job, the traits of the customers they serve or the personalities of their fellow employees. The most significant in the latter category are the traits of the person's manager, the one person that has the most effect on their day-to-day activities. While some people have the option to physically change managers or employers, most people do not have that choice and must make the best of the situation. That is the group that Dufour has targeted this book to.
Dufour has split managers into six broad categories:
*) Bully- this is the manager that uses unnecessarily harsh and consistent threats and speech in an attempt to keep the people working the way she wants them to work. These managers are aggressive and dictatorial in nature.
*) Good - this is the person that seeks consensus and is consistent, calm and unruffled. Creates an excellent work environment but is often unwilling to take the risks needed to reach the higher levels of success.
*) Kaleidoscope - this is the person of shifting moods, tends to be very bright and capable, but the shifts in personality makes them difficult to work with. This type of manager tends to be a controlling personality.
*) Scientist - this manager is a calmly rational thinker that applies and listens to reason and compelling arguments, in fact insists on them. They are unemotional and while they rely on a theory they can tend to become overly reliant on the theory, even in the face of contrary evidence.
*) Star - this is the manager that has to be the center of attention. Tends to be very action-oriented and driven but often has little patience for what is considered failure or lack of sufficient zeal.
*) Navel - this is the introspective manager that needs to have their ego stroked on a regular basis, generally are very poor at dealing with serious and unexpected problems. When problems occur their first reaction is to find someone else to blame. These managers tend to ignore advice contrary to their opinions.
As is the case with nearly all broad categories, these boundaries are a bit artificial as most managers will have some overlap. However, they are excellent for establishing a baseline of the most dominant traits that the manager has. With this understood and clearly stated, this baseline is used as the starting point for Dufour explaining the best ways to work with (manage) that type of boss. How to approach them with a contrary opinion or fact, the best way to present a new idea, how to accept their criticism and praise and what is at times the most important, how to praise that type of manager.
Every reader that has worked for one or more managers will nod their head in recognition of their previous experiences and in most cases wish that they would have had this information before their experiences took place. Dufour does not descend to the level of manipulation; the recommended actions are those within the bounds of effective interaction with a purpose.
If you can't change your position the only thing you can do is improve your position by modifying it. While you may not be able to modify the fundamental traits of your manager, with this knowledge it can be possible to use those traits to your advantage and make your situation one of comfort rather than tolerance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managing your Manager, March 2, 2012
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
A stressed-out manager often results in stressed-out employees. You can have a more positive, productive professional life if you understand your supervisors and handle them according to their personality profiles. Human resources executive Gonzague Dufour identifies and explains the six common managerial types. He devotes most chapters to profiling these archetypes, listing identifying traits according to professional tactics that work or don't work for each manager in specific situations, such as asking for a raise or dealing with a crisis. While many managers manifest characteristics from more than one boss type, and not all leaders are so easy to categorize, you will find yourself nodding in agreement with many of the author's points. getAbstract recommends this practical, useful book to entry- and mid-level employees, as well as to higher-level executives who wonder, "Am I a good boss?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and insitefull, February 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
Each year a large number of employees leave their jobs because of a bad relationship with their supervisor. Gonzague Dufour's book, Managing Your Manager, provides directions for seeing these relationships differently and perhaps the best opportunity to turn around a seemingly unworkable work relationship.

What I personally like about Dufour's book is the approach he takes of not only describing in depth the major supervisory personalities an employee may run into during their career, but also that he provides points to observe about the supervisor to confirm their type, and specific strategies for turning these relationships to the employees' advantage. Then add to that, he offers a list of things to definitely not do to effect the relationship, and reasons not to do them.
Just as important to any relationship equation, Dufour goes to great effort to point out to readers a cautionary list of personality issues they may recognize within themselves, that may make it difficult to want to work on the relationship and the resulting benefits available to them.

All in all, I believe, for the employee who is willing to put an effort into creating a stronger working relationship with their boss, this book offers the strongest tools available to guide them to making their work life better and their career success and satisfaction more available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd had this book years ago!, February 28, 2011
By 
Christy Crump (Tallahassee, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
I have 25 years experience as an administrative professional, and I wish I'd had this book all those years to help me deal with my bosses more efficiently and effectively. I was able to assign at least one of my bosses from my 25 years to each category. This book is well written and easy to read. I marked several pages to share with friends, and I will recommend it in my Crump & Associates training sessions for employees who are having difficulty dealing with their bosses. Thank you, Gonzague Dufour, for a helpful tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as helpful as I hoped, August 5, 2012
By 
Jesse S (Norwood, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
I bought this book for my sister, who is having a hard time with her boss. Unfortunately, her boss doesn't fit any of the six "boss types" that the author analyzes, and the author has no strategies for dealing with other boss types.

This is one of those books that you have to read first in order to know if it's going to apply to your particular situation, and in my sister's case, it didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any manager..., April 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
It's not only helping me strengthen my relationship with my manager but it has also helped to identify the kind of leader that I want to be. Mr. Dufour lays out several different management styles in a way that's informative and easy to follow. It's a quick read but it's packed with valuable information that anyone will be able to use. I wish that I had this book years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's helping !!, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't have time to finish the whole thing, but boy I can tell you, it's helping me deal with my boss and some other bosses... I bought it virtually using my tablet, but I do recommend reading !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really focuses on the types, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss (Paperback)
I don't work in business, so maybe that's why these types don't match my experiences that well. It's easy to read, and with some reasonable suggestions, but I wasn't wowed (and even skipped a few of the sections)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss
Managing Your Manager: How to Get Ahead with Any Type of Boss by Gonzague Dufour (Paperback - December 14, 2010)
$17.00 $15.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.