Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Arm
We use this arm clamped to the edge of a bench. We've mounted a pocket projector to it.

Pro's
Stable
Inexpensive
Highly adjustable

Con's
Not easy to adjust. You have to loosen all of the points to get the exact position that you want. Also, you have to undo the bolts quite a bit as the clamping points stick, and you need the...
Published on October 14, 2011 by J. Dueck

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for a compact
If you think you are securely going to hold a DSLR with this - don't - because you won't.

This plus a superclamp and a compact like a Canon PowerShot G11 10MP Digital Camera with 5x Wide Angle Optical Stabilized Zoom and 2.8-inch articulating LCD though and its very useful.

In the end - I really wish I bought the double arm version (two rods per...
Published on January 8, 2010 by Todd Gilbert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for a compact, January 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
If you think you are securely going to hold a DSLR with this - don't - because you won't.

This plus a superclamp and a compact like a Canon PowerShot G11 10MP Digital Camera with 5x Wide Angle Optical Stabilized Zoom and 2.8-inch articulating LCD though and its very useful.

In the end - I really wish I bought the double arm version (two rods per section) because it tightens down on teeth not friction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Arm, October 14, 2011
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
We use this arm clamped to the edge of a bench. We've mounted a pocket projector to it.

Pro's
Stable
Inexpensive
Highly adjustable

Con's
Not easy to adjust. You have to loosen all of the points to get the exact position that you want. Also, you have to undo the bolts quite a bit as the clamping points stick, and you need the room to break them free. That being said, there is a nicer model that addresses this, and for the price, it is not worth knocking a star off.

Other thoughts
I wish the arms were just a bit longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light weight, versitile bracket, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
This attaches very securely to my Manfrotto 035RL Super Clamp and reasonably well to a tripod. Support is very good for compact cameras, flashes, or what I mainly use it for, a digital microscope. If you want something capable of holding more, for example a dSLR, I would suggest the Manfrotto 396B- 2 2- Section Double Articulated Arm.

I find making adjustments can be a bit tricky with this model. When you loosen one of the screws to raise/lower an arm it also frees that arm to pivot. That can be a feature if you want to pivot the rod and a pain in the butt if you don't. (That is a "problem" that is also solved with the double arm model.)

I mentioned it works reasonably well on a tripod. The supplied stud, which is permanently fixed to the lower arm, is tapped to accept a mounting screw from a tripod. The problem is that there's not a lot of stud to come in contact with the tripod and that makes it difficult to get it screwed down tight enough to keep it securely screwed down tight. :)

The camera bracket mount is as you would expect. There is a rubber(ish) pad that helps keep what your are attaching from spinning around.

Another nice feature is that you can only use one rod if that's all you need and that give you an even more stable platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what you think, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
I bought the articulating arm thinking it would be adequate to hold my Canon 5D3. It's not. It does however serve well to hold a flash strobe or a pocket sized camera, so I kept it for future simple off-camera flash work when I don't feel like setting up my studio strobes.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used this along with the manfrotto super clamp for my auto rig, May 12, 2010
By 
Dao Vang (Somewhere, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
This item was used in combination with the manfrotto super clamp with stud to attach to my boom poles for my AUTO RIG setup.

The poles were attached to suction cups and extended over and away from vehicle, then the manfrotto super clamp is used to attach the single section, single articulated arm to the boom pole.

Attach a camera and shoot away when the car is rolling!

Fast, free 2 day shipping as always from Amazon! (prime)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent arm extention, February 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
Highly recommended to anyone who wants to set up their GoPro or other imaging device away from the centre line. I was bored with smply having a frontal or rear angle. By using the arm and clamp on my bike's seatpost I can take more interesting videos and shots which include the bike as well.
The arm is solid enough to use over any terrain and has taken a fairly good beating and come through shining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, July 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
This is an absolutely fabulous item. Great for holding my monitor attached to the tripod, and would be good for lights to.
It holds a lot of weight, and is incredable in it's positioning. The rubber seat on the extension needs to be better glued down...maybe NOT in China..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, June 4, 2012
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
I use this as an adjustable flash bracket primarily for macro photography. It holds the flash wherever I want it around the lens and is easy to adjust. Can also be use as a more typical flash bracket adding good/adjustable distance between the flash and the camera in both portrait and landscape orientations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Manfrotto quality, affordable price!, July 17, 2014
By 
Phillip Sutton Jr (GAINESVILLE, GA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
It's Manfrotto quality - everything works smoothly and as described. All the joints are strong and the parts have great fit and finish. The downside is it's definitely not as easy to use as a magic arm. Having used both, let me tell you what you're getting when you pay for a magic arm over one of these articulated arms...

With a magic arm, you attach the base to a light stand, super clamp, or other holder. Next you attach your camera, light, or whatever to the other end. Finally, you aim your camera or light and tighten it down. With the lever type, you just swing the lever, it has some kind of cam mechanism or something, and it tightens the joint at the device, the joint in the middle and the joint at the base with the flick of the wrist. the "variable friction" type has a knob that does the same thing - but it's not just "on" or "off" You can "vary - the - friction" (go figure).

NOW - what you're getting with this Articulated arm: hook the device on one end and the holder/base on the other... After that do some thinking and moving and aligning... it helps to have a good idea in your head of how you want it to be before you start setting up. Then you can slide and adjust and move everything to your heart's content. (and probably because you didn't get it right the first time).

That said - this is WAY cheaper. (I think it's rated to hold much less weight too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camcorder mount - great quality, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto 196B-2 143BKT 2-Section Single Articulated Arm with Camera Bracket (Black) (Electronics)
We use this mount for a camcorder at the Church, This provides a lot of versitility for our sound booth and love the ability to clean up a tight space and options for extending and bending. the finger locks are easy to use and firm fitting...

Opportunities:
- needs a handle to control the tilt and pan for a camera that
needs to follow a subject
- can not flip it sideways while mounted
- since it is a single pole extension, this will have a little
vibration if touched as opposed to the stability of a tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.