Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, very useful
Manga Studio Debut 4 is the closest thing to a perfect sketchbook replacement on the market. A 70 dollar bamboo pen tablet and a 50 dollar Manga Studio Debut 4 program, and you have enough(assuming you have a sufficient computer) to stop buying sketchbooks for as long as you want to.

Manga Studio Debut 4 is fast enough at pencil, pen, and...
Published on February 15, 2010 by southpawami

versus
223 of 249 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Consider Carefully: Do you want a toy or a powerful tool?
If you want a toy, then get this version, but if you'd like a really great tool for drawing manga, then get the EX version. The EX version may be much more expensive, but if you're a serious artist, then you might as well throw away your money if you're going to buy this version. To give you an example of how many features that this version is missing: it doesn't have...
Published on September 27, 2009 by Fujiarmu


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, very useful, February 15, 2010
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
Manga Studio Debut 4 is the closest thing to a perfect sketchbook replacement on the market. A 70 dollar bamboo pen tablet and a 50 dollar Manga Studio Debut 4 program, and you have enough(assuming you have a sufficient computer) to stop buying sketchbooks for as long as you want to.

Manga Studio Debut 4 is fast enough at pencil, pen, and paintbrush/airbrush(airbrush is hidden in the paintbrush options) tools. This makes it perfectly reasonable to replace a sketchbook. Add the storybook files of 32 pages, with the option of seeing your pages to your left while working on your picture to the right and you've got a tight sketchbook.

Does it do panels? yes. Custom panels? yes. Tones? yes. Custom Tones? yes. Layers? yes. Ruler layers, Grid Layer, Selection Layer? yes. Layer Opacity? yes. Layer color? yes. Advanced curve settings for pen/pencil tools? yes. Does the brush have materials that are fun to play with in B&W and color? yes. Speed lines? yes. Does it have print settings? yes, a host of them. Could you make your own comic? As easy as a comic is to make. Can the program draw for you? Actually it kind of can... you can make selections, then paste tones inside the selections, and you can subtract selections from within a selection and add selections outside of the selection... and have the program tone or material all your selections. First... this is where it's a bit slow... and two, that's kind of overusing the feature.

Weak tool points of the tools present.
Text - for whatever reason... text rotation seems only present in the EX version. text rotation?? oh, come on... you'll probably work a page at 90 degrees for comfort. Just sketch your own text, or work a page vertically. Balloons? yes. Sizing? yes. Multiple language input? yes. Vertical text? yes. So everything that made sense with text except rotation was included in the text tool.
Line tools - there is no such thing as a decent pen tool in this program, nor in the EX version. However, you can use the polygon line tool to create custom panels. And the Curve line tool makes tracing possible for Ruler work on the Ruler layer(a custom layer of saved paths for line work that is unique to Manga Studio)

Conclusion: Amazing digital sketchbook... better in page organization with 32 page story files than any program on the market. With it seemingly overpowered, the lacking rotation on the text tool is a hair puller.

Update1: IllustStudio by Celsys and Manga Studio by Celsys appear to have merged(partially or fully) in what is now known in America as Manga Studio 5 Debut and Manga Studio 5 EX.
Update2: The book 101 Top Tips from Professional Manga Artists will help you know how to use this Manga Studio 3 or 4 more effectively. Jack Hamm books, like Drawing Scenery: Landscapes and Seascapes, may help make you a better artist.
Update3: OpenCanvas by portalgraphics offers a lot in the way of watching how other professionals create digital work and mimicking other professionals creating digital work(using event files from the portalgraphics forum). OpenCanvas 5.5x combines well with Manga Studio 4 Debut or Manga Studio 4 EX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


223 of 249 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Consider Carefully: Do you want a toy or a powerful tool?, September 27, 2009
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
If you want a toy, then get this version, but if you'd like a really great tool for drawing manga, then get the EX version. The EX version may be much more expensive, but if you're a serious artist, then you might as well throw away your money if you're going to buy this version. To give you an example of how many features that this version is missing: it doesn't have vectoring, an eyedropper tool, or even a gradiation tool! Check the website's manual for a list of features it doesn't have.

Skip this version, buy the EX version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvement, March 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
I'm a professional comic artist and this product has been a godsend. The pre-made panels, word bubbles, and pens are fantastic. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So cool, so easy, so awesome!, January 12, 2011
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
Wow, I got this program not two days ago and I'm addicted to using it. I didn't buy it from amazon, but it is the same product, so I figured I'd write a review anyway. Well, I'm not familiar with using programs like these. However this is SUPER easy to figure out, especially with the beginner's assistant. Everything is layed out in plain sight in an organized manner, and it's simple to make your ideas come to life. I've already started a comic of my own. And if you're not exactly interested in getting something to help you make your own manga, it's a super great tool to digitally color your artwork using the color palatte, different brushes it offers, and layers. All the materials you need are there, and with the dynamic help setting on, you can scroll over buttons and it will tell you what they are and what they do. Plus, youtube has lots of helpful tutorials. This is an awesome product, and well worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try Before You Buy...., September 20, 2009
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
I was very impressed with this program. I just downloaded the trial for macs. Windows or Macs can download this
program's 30 day trial and/or other programs. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manga Studio for my 14 year old daughter, January 30, 2010
By 
Gigi L. Rivera (Northridge, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
My daughter is a complete anime fan and artist. She absolutely loves this software. It was easy to use and she creates beautiful manga / comicbook pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, November 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
Purchased this for my 12 year old son. Very easy for him to install on his own. He loves the software and uses it with very little difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic makers dream come true, January 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
To take from the "For Dummies" book (FYI: I recommend you get, or at least read it if you're new to art programs),

"There are a lot of programs for making art, but few for actually making comics."

Manga Studio fills that void and does a great job doing it. I'm not well practiced with it yet, but I like what I've been pulling together in the time I've worked with it. This is an ideal choice for would be comic makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I wanted, cheap., June 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
I'm just getting started in graphics publishing, and compared to the price tag of industry-standards like CS4-this was much more useful as an entry-level program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disc does not work, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) (Software)
I purchased this for my daughter's birthday along with a tablet. She opened her gifts and could not wait to use them. It was very disappointing to put the disc in to install and find it did not function at all. I have never left a one star review, but I am incredibly disappointed with this product. I purchased it a month ago and hid it away until her birthday, so when I attempted to return the product I was unable to return it. I attempted to find a downloadable version on Amazon and the manufacturer's site and use the product key with our copy, but that approach did not work out either. In order to download the version I either have to pay full price for it on the manufacturer's site or purchase it again from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac)
Manga Studio Debut 4 (Win/Mac) by Smith Micro Software Inc. (Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard / Intel, Windows Vista / XP)
$49.99 $17.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.