Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mannix Returns to DVD!!
Great news for Classic TV fans!

CBS Paramount Home Video is quickly following the successful release of Season 1 of the iconic TV series 'Mannix' on DVD with the release of the complete Season 2!

Great news: CBS Parmount Home Video has also annouced that ALL of the ORIGINAL musical score and cues for every episode has been included and not replaced...
Published on September 10, 2008 by E. Hornaday

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars damaged discs
I bought listed as new, but a couple of the discs were scratched and one was unplayable...I was not too thrilled about it,but kept it because there were other discs that were good and didn't want to bother with the return process
Published 9 months ago by thomas allen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mannix Returns to DVD!!, September 10, 2008
By 
E. Hornaday (Lawrenceville, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
Great news for Classic TV fans!

CBS Paramount Home Video is quickly following the successful release of Season 1 of the iconic TV series 'Mannix' on DVD with the release of the complete Season 2!

Great news: CBS Parmount Home Video has also annouced that ALL of the ORIGINAL musical score and cues for every episode has been included and not replaced! (They had been sharply criticized by fans for replacing some of the music in Season 2 of the Fugitive.)

Mannix ran from 1967 through 1975 on CBS. Created by Richard Levinson and William Link and developed by executive producer Bruce Geller (who also created Mission: Impossible), the title character, Joe Mannix, is a two-fisted private investigator portrayed by Mike Connors.

Rarely has an actor so inhabited a TV character that it's impossible to separate the two. This series represents one of those times, and even the show's producers recognized it when the unusual credit proclaimed: Mike Connors IS Mannix.

The ruggedly handsome Connors was the perfect match, and made the signature loud polyester sports jackets of the time look great on his altar ego. Mannix also drove a variety of convertibles, and even had a car phone - which was unheard of at the time!

Mannix originally worked for a high-concept computerized firm known as Intertect in the rarely seen first season. In the second season, Mannix has left the firm and opened his own private investigative agency at 17 Paseo Verde, Los Angeles, California.

It was in the second season that the brilliant and popular actress Gail Fisher was brought on board as Mannix's devoted secretary, Peggy Fair. Peggy's cop-husband, a friend of Mannix, had been killed in line of duty. She is now a widowned mom to young son Toby, portrayed by Mark Stewart, who is still coping with the loss of his father.

Fisher, one of the first African-American actresses to have a regular TV series role, portrayed the character from 1968 through the run of the show.

Connors, very proud of his Armenian heritage and spoke fluent Armenian and French, incorporated his background into Mannix's character, even putting several Armenian proverbs into the episodes including, "There is no reason for war that reasonable men cannot resolve." Connors was also a Korean War veteran - and so was Mannix!

Joseph Campanella, who portrayed Mannix's boss Lew Wickersham, in Season 1, reprised his role in Season 2, but was no longer his boss, but instead offered computer assistance and friendship when Mannix needed it.

As a solo P.I., Mannix was also assisted by members of the police department. The two most prominent officers were Lt. Adam Tobias (portrayed by Robert Reed, prior to his Brady Bunch days when he starred with Florence Henderson as the parents), and Lt. Art Malcolm (portrayed by Ward Wood). Both characters premiered in Season 2, Reed in `A Copy of Murder,' and Wood in `End Game.' Other police contacts were Lt. George Kramer (Larry Linville of M*A*S*H* fame) and Lt. Dan Ives (Jack Ging).

Often criticized for its violence, it nonetheless remains a fan favorite to this day and a ratings winner it aired. Over the eight seasons of the series, Mannix was knocked unconscious 55 times and shot 17 times.

All 25 episodes of Season 2 are included in this boxed set and are: `The Silent Cry,' Mannix chases kidnappers with the assistance of a deaf girl who lip read the plot of the crime; `Comes Up Roses,' Mannix fights a conspiracy of silence to find Rose Anderson, who was swallowed up by the underground she deserted; `Pressure Point,' Mannix's clues to court corruption were a few words gasped by a badly beaten man; `To the Swiftest, Death,' Mannix probes a race-car accident that killed an aerospace engineer; `End of the Rainbow,' Mannix probes the mysterious death of a recently released prison inmate who carried a scrap of paper with his name on it; `A Copy of Murder,' a manuscript gone missing holds the answer to a homicide; `Edge of the Knife,' kidnappers threaten to kill a doctor's son unless the surgeon lets a patient die on the operating table; `Who Will Dig the Graves?' revelations await Mannix in his search for a millionaire's wife; `In Need of a Friend,' Mannix finds new evidence in the case of an embezzler he helped convict; `Night Out of Time,' the likelihood that a young man killed a girl grows stronger as Mannix reconstructs the previous evening for him; `A View of Nowhere,' on a helicopter trip, Mannix thinks he sees a murder below; `Fear I to Fall; Death Run,' Mannix is called to testify against an ex-con he sent up, but this time suspects a frame; `A Pittance of Faith,' an old friend asks Mannix for help, but when he arrives at the man's rural town, he finds murder; `Only Giants Can Play,' Mannix takes a murder investigation into the political arena; `Shadow of a Man,' Mannix tries to unravel a war hero's past in order to find out why he is being targeted for death; `The Girl Who Came in with the Tide,' Mannix believes a drowning victim was murdered; `Death in a Minor Key,' an enigmatic police chief, a bigoted witness and an interloper thwart Mannix's search for Peggy's boyfriend; `End Game,' a court-martialed veteran seeks revenge against Mannix and a policeman, the last survivors of his combat unit; `All Around the Money Tree,' Mannix is lured to Mexico; `The Odds Against Donald Jordan,' Mannix is hired to locate a missing building contractor; `Last Rites for Miss Emma,' Mannix faces the loss of the friendship of Peggy Fair when he tells her that he suspects her new boyfriend of being the key man in the theft of 45 cartons of morphine; `The Solid Gold Web,' a newspaper publisher's daughter is implicated in the death of a mobster; `Merry Go Round for Murder,' a boarding school marked for demolition sets off a mystery; and `To Catch a Rabbit,' a bitter murder suspect claims the death was accidental.

Guest stars in Season 2 read like a `who's who' of the best actors and actresses from the era. Included are: Cloris Leachman, William Windom, Barbara Rush, Barbara Babcock, Gerald S. O'Laughlin, Harold J. Stone, Hugh Beaumont, Peter Haskell, Jill Ireland, Kathryn Hays, Ford Rainey, Eve Plumb, Fritz Weaver, Geraldine Brooks, Harry Dean Stanton, John Colicos, John Considine, Dana Elcar, Madlyn Rhue, Peter Donat, Patricia Barry, Philip Ahn, Yaphet Kotto, Anthony Zerbe, Steve Ihnat, Paul Winfield, and Sally Kellerman.

It's great to have Season 2 released so quickly after Season 1. Let's hope the remaining seasons follow suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mannix Season Two - A 40 Year Perspective., January 30, 2009
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
It is hard to add much more praise on this great series than already has but here goes. First I never missed this show as a child growing up, I watched it with my dad every Saturday night. It was the only night of the week I could stay up until 11:00pm. The first thing that strikes me as I watch the show 40 years later is how shows of this era tried to appeal to the best in human nature. Loyalty, integrity, honesty, sense of justice, and in Mannix case genuinely caring about many of the clients he was trying to help. Compare that to most shows of today that wallow in the worst of human nature even glorify it. I probably will never get a chance to meet Mick Connors or another hero of my youth James Arness of Gunsmoke but would like to thank them for helping to make a positive lasting impression on a little boy so many years ago. I highly recommend this dvd set. Thanks Joe !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mannix Season 2, January 29, 2009
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
I've always been a Mannix fan so, I really liked season 1... but I have to tell you Season 2 is much better. The story lines have improved with Joe's new address at 17 Paseo Verde. Gail Fisher is not only beautiful... but she can act as well! I couldn't help notice the much better use of cinematography in season 2 that just wasn't there in season 1. The story lines are better and easier to follow and Chrysler supplied the cool cars. Joe drives a dark green Dodge GTS 340 convertible with mag wheels... it's sweet! We can only hope for the release of future seasons! Mike Connors where ever you are... BRAVO! Well done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soulful Mike Conners plus Cigs, Mini Skirts & Cool Cars, February 16, 2009
By 
M. Courtenaye "Vivanti" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
Just a few notes of Lalo Schiffrin's seductive theme song for Mannix and I'm transported right back to my early teens in SoCal. I'd forgotten how much I really loved this show until I stumbled upon this set. The series holds up surprisingly well in terms of story and acting; Mike Connors is enjoyably charismatic and sexy as independent, two-fisted PI-with-a-heart Joe Mannix. Plenty of familiar faces from 1960s TV Land appear as guest stars. Although the same studio backlots and painted backgrounds can get tiresome, each episode does manage break out of the studio for location shooting and that's when things perk right up.

The time-warp aspects of the series are lots of fun, even the not-so-positive ones. I had forgotten how much Mannix smokes, though less than in Season 1. The fashions are a scream, not just miniskirts and go-go boots for women but also pointy bras, big hair and ever-present fake eyelashes. The mini-skirts we all wore back then look somehow startling today, especially when worn by very professional women such as the sublime actress Gail Fisher, who played Mannix's plucky secretary. (How quaint that he calls her "Peggy" or "Honey" and she calls him "Mr. Mannix.")

Mannix shows up in some pretty hideous sports coats (some of which cause the dreaded pulsing "moiré" effect on the screen), not to mention ankle-baring tight slacks and the occasional foppish neck scarf (ouch!). And it's fun to watch his hair color get blacker and blacker--but that front curl never gets mussed. However, Mike Connors is such a watchable actor that all of that stuff is simply amusing, not distracting.

Vintage muscle-car lovers, take note: Mannix has got the goods, with plenty of car chases. All the great land yachts of the late 1960s are on full display as everyday transportation (I spotted a gas sign advertising 33 cents a gallon--sigh). I particularly enjoy seeing the occasional 1967 Ford Galaxie 500, since that was our family chariot. Simpler times indeed.

This second season is far superior to Season 1, though I miss seeing Joseph Campanella, who played Mannix's boss the first year (his brother Frank shows up as a police captain in Season 2). Let's hope more seasons are in the pipeline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Tough, Be Cool, Be Mannix, May 8, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
Tough, cool loners don't answer to anyone except themselves, and that's the Mannix way. Go it alone. Be tough. Be smart. And, most importantly of all, be honest, brutally honest. The chicks all dig you, but chicks are a dime a dozen, and besides, you've got things to do. You've got a crime to solve. You've got a mystery to unravel. You've got a bullet to dodge. There are bad guys who think they can handle you, but you make them think about it a whole lot harder. The bad guys end up changing their minds, but you never change yours. You believe in yourself. You believe in the truth. You believe in helping good, honest people and turning dishonest people upside down. Your tough, never-say-die nature was made even tougher in the Korean War. You served your country. You came home a hero. And the hero in you found himself a new mission. Your new mission: be tough, be cool, be Mannix!

If you're familiar with the show, all you really need to know is that the DVD's do the show proud. They have great picture quality and include all the episodes of season two with the awesome and beautiful Peggy. No special features, and that's a shame, but the show is as it should be: unedited and right at our fingertips. Bring on season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Fair" beginning for the REAL Mannix, March 7, 2009
By 
Mark Gaston (Oxnard, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
Unlike many of you, I had the privilege of viewing the initial season of Mannix in reruns, thanks to a local station. That was 28 years ago. And now Paramount has made it possible to enjoy the first and second season of Mannix.

I found it interesting that both Mannix and Mission Impossible underwent changes in their second season. Mission with its lead man and Mannix with its general format. Gone are Joe Campanella(to the Bold Ones)and the Intertech computer system, making Joe Mannix his own free agent. 17 Paseo Verde would be the address for the remaining 168 action packed adventures.

Newcomer Peggy Fair, played by the great Gail Fisher, is a welcome breath of fresh air to this series. There is no token interaction between Mannix and Peggy. There is sincere, personal dialogue and Peggy is a real individual, not an eye candy receptionist. Moreover, both Mannix and Peggy share mutual concern for one another's physical and emotional welfare. Commend producers for the then daring move of blending business principle with subdued physical and sexual attraction between Joe and Peggy. This element of the show did not seem to deter its core audience, since Mannix ranked in the top 20 throughout its run.

The second season produced some wonderful and enriching episodes. Viewers, notice the number of well written episodes at a time when Mannix filmed 24-25 episodes per season. A litany of series produced during the late 60s often filmed 26 or more episodes per season. Today's writers work with a 22 episode schedule and still struggle to give you an intelligent or entertaining script. Mannix maintained good production values (despite the persistent bows to the Paramount sets), great directing, wonderful use of colors, and famous actors in each episode.
The producers were willing to spend money for Mannix and it showed.

In addition, Mike Connors did many of his own stunts. Reverse or slow down your DVD to a moment where stuntwork was required. The face clearly belongs to Mike Connors, who was quite an athlete for his time. Imagine how a serious injury to Connors would have held up production for weeks, if not months!

For those of you who lived in Southern California during the Mannix years, you might be pleasantly surprised to see segments of episodes filmed in your hometown. I know that Mannix filmed a number of episodes by our old family house in Oxnard. It is a treat for me to compare the retro Oxnard on Mannix to the revamped Oxnard I currently reside in. Markedly different.

My only regret is that Paramount did not make an effort to produce bonus features for this offering. That would be the only demerit, if any, to this season 2 compilation. But all in all, if you like frame ups, fist fights, gunfights, screeching cars, kidnapping plots, embittered war buddies, and twisted ex girl friends, 17 Paseo Verde is the place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep 'em coming!, March 24, 2009
By 
D. Riddell (Glen Allen, Va) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
Being a kid growing up in the 60s I have always felt that Mannix is the greatest detective show, if not best television show period, of all times. I have season one and two and love them both. (I also have the Lalo Schifrin CD of Mannix music. Love it!) On the negative side though, I was a little disappointed that there are no commentaries or extras at all on the second season. That was a nice plus to season one. On the positive side the quality of the picture is fantastic. Season one looks good but somehow season two is unreal. We have a 46" flat screen tv and blue ray player so the combination makes season two a true thrill to watch. In addition I feel that the stories are better than season one and the acting by Connors and his guest starts is better as well. I almost hate to admit it but I actually welled up inside when I started watching the series again. It really put me back in the 60s as a kid being truly entertained. I cannot wait for season three but I hope they decide to include the extras. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, The Good Old Days Of Classic TV..., January 17, 2010
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
I watched this show as a kid, and wondered if it would still hold up for me - some shows do, some don`t. After picking it up and checking it anew, I was pleasantly surprised that it was even a better show than I remembered. My wife, who had never seen it as she is younger than I, also became a fan while watching. The show is simple, direct, solid, and consistantly entertaining - no wonder it was on from 1967 to 1975 (tho I only watched the first 3 seasons before my social life precluded future viewing). Rarely has an actor so immersed himself in a TV character that it's impossible to separate the two. This series represents one of those times, Mike Connors was Mannix, make no mistake about it... Lots of violence, great big old American cars, miniskirts and big hair aplenty on the actresses, tons of drinking done during the day, everyone smoking cigarettes - we were genetically stronger and had much thicker skin in those days, and didn`t blame society or our parents for our shortcomings and weaknesses. (Too bad we`re not more like that today). Anywho, you should give this one a shot, you won`t be disappointed you did, not like when I rewatched 'The Mod Squad', which was a Godawful melodramatic mess and complete waste of time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mannix 2nd Season--Well Done!, January 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
CBS/Paramount has done a fine job in this release of the second season of Mannix. The episodes have been nicely restored--in fact they are pristine. As far as the show's premise--by season two, the producers changed the format from the unsustainable premise of the first season---namely Mannix working for a large detective agency, but bucking the system and his organization in each and every episode. By season two, he is out on his own as a P.I. The production values were very high for the 1960's and Los Angeles of that era is nicely showcased. The plots are clever, well written and well paced. In fact, there was such an improvement from first season--that the format stayed essentially intact for the remainder of the series.

I heartily recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Years, January 27, 2009
By 
L. Cabos (planet earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mannix: Season 2 (DVD)
When people think of MANNIX it's really the second season on. As a matter of fact, when the series run ended and it went into syndication the first season was never shown again. The original "fish out of water" premise was abandoned for the more popular hard-nosed, hard-hitting and compasionate private eye. There was a quality to the tv shows of that era (MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE, I SPY, UNCLE, BONANZA, GUNSMOKE, MEDICAL CENTER, HAWAII FIVE-O, et al) that defined them: entertainment. A few shows over the years have had that quality: THE NIGHT STALKER, THE X-FILES, SUPERNATURAL. Mike Connors IS Mannix and with this season brings Gail Fisher and Peggy Fair, Mannix's secretary. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mannix: Season 2
Mannix: Season 2 by Mike Connors (DVD - 2009)
$49.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.