Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


266 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Complete Edition -- Penguin Classics Deluxe
There are several complete editions on Amazon of Austen's novels, so I thought I would write a review recommending this one (the Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition). It lays open in your hand, has nice paper and high-quality paperback binding and cover, and it has perfectly sized type and wide inside margins. Other than the substantial size and weight (though it is not...
Published on May 3, 2006 by wm.penn

versus
395 of 416 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Commentary Regarding Quality of Book
This review is regarding the quality of the 1994 hardcover edition published by Grammercy. I ordered this edition several weeks ago and was extremely disappointed to find it was poor quality. The binding is acceptable when new but after a week of light use, I already noticed deterioration on the front binding. Actually the binding is so poor that, if not careful, you...
Published on July 10, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in quality of book, not contents, October 29, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was searching for a good compilation of all the Austen novels so I could have it available for when I get the "bug" to read them all once again. Rather than keep running out for paperbacks, I wanted a single volume that I could keep pretty much for the rest of my life, available at my whim. I thought this might be the volume, but I was disappointed in the actual quality of the book. It is printed on newsprint, which ages very quickly. This book won't retain it's neatness or newness for very long. If you are looking for something durable, beware. Try the Everyman editions -- they look much better and though the collection will be pricey in comparison, in the end you'll have books to last a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough for the price, August 27, 2006
By 
Stacy Martinez (Independence, MO USA) - See all my reviews
On first inspection, this is a very nice looking book. It has an elegant cover and the pages are gold on the edges and tissue-ish. It's a heavy book that will remain open to the page you are reading without having to hold it down. However, after a few weeks of being read and carried around, it's durability is not quite as impressive. The spine is beginning to break and the pages warp easily. Quite a few typos too if that sort of thing distracts you. For the price though, it's nice enough and I would buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite writing, August 14, 2002
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Jane Austen lovers might want to order a used copy of one of the out-of-print editions instead of this one, which appears to contain some errors, missing dialogue and so on. That said, it's handy to have all of Austen's exquisite writing in one volume. This marvelously articulate woman wrote with with razor-sharp perception, and the emotional states of her characters are fully detailed and examined. The reader will have to pay attention constantly while reading, or s/he will miss the richness of description, and maybe even some necessary subtle plot lines. These novels are meant to be read slowly and carefully, and savoured. Austen may be an acquired taste, but once you appreciate her, you will be hooked for life. I rarely re-read anything, but her works stand up to re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great novels, horrible edition, March 21, 2008
By 
N. Turchin (Hampton, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
(Let me preface this by saying that I am 24 years old and have great eyesight.)

I love the idea of combining the novels into an easy-to-hold edition (and the cover is beautiful), but I am glad I borrowed this from the library before purchasing, because the typography is awful.

To make the book easier to hold, they have sacrificed much in the way of readability. The paragraphs are too wide, and font too small, and worst of all, the space between lines is far too small, making it virtually impossible to read without using a bookmark to follow along the lines.

Jane Austen is not difficult to read, but the typography of the book makes it that way. Do yourself a favor and buy each of these novel separately so that you can actually enjoy reading them, as opposed to struggling trying to follow which line you're on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mobilereference Illustrated Edition, April 9, 2008
By 
lesley9 (SF Bay Area, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Works of Jane Austen. Emma, Lady Susan, Mansfield Park, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility. ILLUSTRATED. (mobi) (Kindle Edition)
Just a quick note to let folks know that the Mobilereference edition illustrated is very nice. Most reviews speak of other publishers editions besides this specific one.
There lots of illustrations for all novels but none for Lady Susan.

Download a sample of the book as it is quite generous in size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There's a different edition that's better value, February 18, 2005
There's a new edition of Jane Austen's complete novels that's better value than this one, you might want to take a look at it - the ISBN number is:

0954840119

(put this into the Amazon search box and it'll come up).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete compilation of Austen's works was badly needed., March 25, 1998
By A Customer
Some critics have complained that all of Austen's novels have the same plot: a young naive girl learns about herself, others, and the "ways of the world." Granted, these comments may have some merit, but many times readers and critics comment on Austen without having read the majority of her works. They read Pride and Predjudice, perhaps Austen's most well-liked novel, and maybe Sense and Senisbility, Emma, or Persuasion, and then consider themselves authorities on the Austen canon.
Jane Austen: The Collected Novels allows readers and critics alike the opportunity to read all of Austen, not just her more popular works. One sees Austen's growth from a young, aspiring novelist who wrote Lady Susan, Sandition, and The Watsons, to the mature writer so many readers admire.
This collection's importance cannot be stressed enough, because to truly appreciate and understand an author, one must be familiar with his or her canon.
Now, with the publication of such a complete compilation, we have the chance to do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an awesome book, plain and simple, January 17, 2005
This is a beautiful book, not just in its contents, but the design hardcover. If you love Jane Austen, and you want to have her complete novels by this version of them. It's beautifully made, and won't fall apart. And it makes a great gift for anyone who loves Jane Austen. And the prices amazing less than $20. Can you believe it.

Have fun and get it done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good novels, but too heavy., December 4, 2002
By 
I love Jane Austen and of course all the novels contained in this set are fantastic. However, if you really love Jane Austen I recommend just getting your favorite novels separately. This book is so large and unwieldy that I kept having to quit reading because the only comfortable way to read it is if you are not holding it up. It's kind of a pain, to be honest. But content and price-wise, this is a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, January 8, 2008
By 
I love this copy of Jane Austen's stories. It's great to have all the novels together and it's not too heavy or bulky to sit and read. A good addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.