Manu. uses the term "kilowatt per hour" - bogus? Under the section "Product Description - From the Manufacturer", the verbiage (generated by the marketing department probably, not the engineers) says "it will tell you the efficiency of that item by displaying the kilowatt per hour." I am not an engineer and I'm welcoming corrections, but it seems to me that "kilowatt per hour" is a mostly useless measure unless you're talking about the delta (change) in power usage over time. This has nothing to do with "efficiency" and also I'm pretty sure this device does NOT measure it. It measures kilowatt-hours, a useful measure of energy used, which is absolutely not the same thing as "kilowatt per hour."

The gaffe by the marketing people does not detract from the usefulness of the device.
asked by Bulgie on June 17, 2010
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 answers
A
OldAmzonian, perhaps you're the one who's guilty of misinformation. The Kill-A-Watt does indeed calculate power factor. For your information, PF is a trivial calculation for any device that already measures true power, voltage and amps...

KW = V * A * PF
Whetstone Green answered on November 21, 2010
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Yes, "kilowatt per hour" is incorrect and likely meaningless for this context.
Watt is a measure of power--a rate of energy per time, in joules / second.
A "watt-hour" would be (an average of) 1 watt of power over 3600 seconds, or 3600 joules--a measure of cumulative energy usage.

See also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watt#Confusion_of_watts.2C_watt-hours.2C_and_watts_per_hour
Brad answered on June 24, 2010
Comment (1) | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Someone help me on this. I plugged my fridge in to this and so far the data is: 62h 16min 3.97kWh

What does this mean? is it time the get a new fridge?

Thanks
Danny G. answered on December 11, 2010