Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to relieve the residency anxiety!
I found this book greatly helpful. It saved me in the beginning of my pathology residency! It relieved my residency anxiety. I think this book is indispensible for pathology residents. It helps you to learn specimen grossing. The table of the special stains is great. You may never find such a table in another book.
Published on October 6, 2002 by Doctor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hobbled online reference.
Elsevier, in collaboration with Inkling, has crippled online access to this reference. Until February, 2014, Elsevier's ExpertConsultBook online reference books have been fantastic - easy to navigate, intuitive to search across your titles, and efficient to use. Elsevier has shut that down and replaced it with Inkling's clumsy e-book reader. Easy to read. Not easy to use...
Published 9 months ago by Forrest Ritland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to relieve the residency anxiety!, October 6, 2002
I found this book greatly helpful. It saved me in the beginning of my pathology residency! It relieved my residency anxiety. I think this book is indispensible for pathology residents. It helps you to learn specimen grossing. The table of the special stains is great. You may never find such a table in another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent practical guide to pathology, October 18, 2001
By 
Milton (MINNEAPOLIS, Mongolia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This text provides an excellent practical guide to pathologic dissection and case submission. The pointers on tumor staging and important items for the final diagnosis of specimens helps one prepare the final case report. An excellent guide for pathology residents, pathology assistants, and pathologists alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hobbled online reference., February 25, 2014
By 
Forrest Ritland (Flagstaff, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manual of Surgical Pathology: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 3e (Expert Consult Title: Online + Print) (Paperback)
Elsevier, in collaboration with Inkling, has crippled online access to this reference. Until February, 2014, Elsevier's ExpertConsultBook online reference books have been fantastic - easy to navigate, intuitive to search across your titles, and efficient to use. Elsevier has shut that down and replaced it with Inkling's clumsy e-book reader. Easy to read. Not easy to use as online reference to find answers to particular diagnostic problems.

With ExpertConsult/Inkling you can no longer search across your purchased books at one go. You have to open and search within each book individually. Open your online book and you get three columns: a navigation column with list of chapters, a reading column, and a notes column (wasting valuable screen space). You have to click the search icon to get a text entry box. Search results then replace the index in the navigation column, 10 at a time, 4-5 visible on a typical computer screen. To review your search results you have to scroll down through the first 10, then click next, then scroll down through the next 10, then click next, ten at a time. The contexts of individual search results are obscure. It shows a little text where your search term appears, but not which chapter or section it is in. Figures (often lots of them) are included in your results list. Individual search results are headed with figure number (not caption, not chapter or section heading) or sub-section titles. Even in the reading pane you can't see chapter and section titles, so you don't know what part of the book you're in. You are limited to linear access through the book - with links to previous and next sections at the top and bottom of the reading pane. To get to the next sub-section you have to scroll down to the bottom of the current sub-section. In order to navigate the index to different chapters or sections you have to exit your search results to get back the index pane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, August 14, 2008
By 
compact and easy to follow guidelines on how to handle gross specimens. Definitely worth buying. I especially like the accompanying tables on immunohistochemistry and special stains, which helps a lot in daily work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surgical Pathology Manual, July 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book and guide especially for pathology residents because of its comprehensive step by step instructions on how to deal with large specimens and most especially specimens resected for malignancy. It is also great for general pathologists who do not encounter the same specimens regularly. What I also like about it are the illustrations which I used as guide when dissecting. Excellent reference for anyone in the field of pathology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely handy, May 23, 2001
By A Customer
This is a book that all residents should have with them for quick references in gross and microscopic surgical anatomy reporting. To my knowledge it is the most comprehensive book that caters to the needs of a young pathologist. I particularly like the very concise sample dictations and the relevant facts on tumor staging needed. I wish this book was published at the beginning of my residency, it would have made everthing more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for pathology resident, February 5, 2006
This book is a survivor kit for pathology residents and foreign pathologist trying to start it over again in literate pathology English. Just open it next to your grossing bench (not on, please) and start your "no rubbish" dictation of the specimen.

The best book about grossing I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for path residents, October 25, 2012
This review is from: Manual of Surgical Pathology: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 3e (Expert Consult Title: Online + Print) (Paperback)
Essential text for new pathology residents. Excellent descriptions of what is important for each specimen on the grossing bench, with helpful sample dictations to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CSW, June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manual of Surgical Pathology: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 3e (Expert Consult Title: Online + Print) (Paperback)
Very good book, perfect for trainee Pathologists, accurate descriptions and information. Describes specimen cut up well. A must buy for anyone interested in Surgical Pathology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential text for pathologists and pathology assistants, February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Manual of Surgical Pathology: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 3e (Expert Consult Title: Online + Print) (Paperback)
Great book with information on gross pathology (including mock dictations) and microscopic pathology. The tables on IHC are also accurate and concise. A must have for pathologists and pathology assistants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Manual of Surgical Pathology: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 3e (Expert Consult Title: Online + Print)
$195.00 $126.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.