Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage GNO Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Maonomics and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Maonomics: Why Chinese Co... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Seattlegoodwill
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do Hardcover – October 4, 2011

6 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$26.95
$4.78 $2.85

Best Books of the Year So Far
Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2015's Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$26.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do + Rogue Economics
Price for both: $45.90

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

• "Timely and fascinating, Napoleoni’s top-notch reporting, in which her attention turns from Viagra to blood diamonds to the banana price wars in a few pages, works in the vein of Freakonomics and Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, but much grimmer." --Publishers Weekly on Napoleoni’s Rogue Economics, a PW Book of the Year 2008
• "This thoughtful and incisive inquiry yields much insight into some of the most important issues of today, and tomorrow" --Noam Chomsky on Napoleoni’s Terror Incorporated

About the Author

A woman of the Left who garners praise from Noam Chomsky and Greg Palast at the same time as she is quoted respectfully in Forbes and the Wall Street Journal, LORETTA NAPOLEONI was born in 1955 in Rome. In the mid 1970s she became an active member of the feminist movement in Italy, and later studied as a Fulbright Scholar at Johns Hopkins University’s Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies in Washington, D.C. She began her career as an economist, and went on to work as London correspondent and columnist for La Stampa, La Repubblica and La Paîs. Napoleoni is the author of the international bestsellers Rogue Economics: Capitalism’s New Reality and Terror Incorporated: Tracing the Money Behind Global Terrorism. She has served as the Chairman of the countering terrorism financing group for the Club de Madrid, and lectures regularly around the world on economics, money laundering and terrorism. Napoleoni lives in London and Montana. 




From the Trade Paperback edition.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Seven Stories Press (October 4, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1609803418
  • ISBN-13: 978-1609803414
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.2 x 9.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,139,351 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Loretta Napoleoni's first book, the bestselling Terror Inc: Tracing the Money Behind Global Terrorism, has been translated into twelve languages; her second, Insurgent Iraq was an early look at the growing insurgency led by al-Zarqawi (and came out just as American media and government were recognizing his power). Napoleoni holds an MA in international relations and economics from Johns Hopkins University, and a PhD in terrorism from the London School of Economics. For her work as a consultant for the commodities markets, she met often with officials of many Middle Eastern nations. Her latest book is Rogue Economics: Capitalism's New Reality (Seven Stories Press).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Hubert Shea on October 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover
This book can arouse deliberate concern about political and economic struggle between China and its western counterparts for hegemony in a phantasmagorical and fraught epoch. Nowadays politicians from the EU and Washington have been painstakingly mitigating the risk of double-dip recession due to sovereign debt crisis and sagging labor market. However, China economy continues to grow rapidly and since wealth is power, the global political paradigm is likely to shift and as US tumbles and China ascends, this raises a very unsettling question to politicians from the western world: How can the EU and US shields their people from detrimental effects of economic failure and rebuild their omnipotent power in the world?

Napoleoni maintains that lessons to be learnt from the Chinese economic miracle can be a universally applicable panacea to maladies in the western world. In this book, she tries to convince readers not to pass the CCP (Chinese Communist Party) off as a totalitarian regime with hostile and chronic transgression of environmental protection and violation of human rights and people's vital interest. Instead the three-decade economic reform has helped Chinese people to escape from extreme destitution and the regime has been becoming open to public criticism. Moreover, the fulcrum of demand-side economic philosophy underscores omnipresence of the government in choreographing investment activities in infrastructure and other public services for economic well-being of the people. To Napoleoni, Chinese politicians are devout Marxist and Confucian advocates and they behave ethically "like a father" (P.152) to protect economic well-being of their people. Nor do they malignantly belligerent and hegemonic when exploiting natural resources in African nations (P.271).
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Wei Jin on May 2, 2013
Format: Paperback
The book is full of lying and fabulous imagination which seems about another paralleled universe. It's not China AT ALL.
I lived in China and I think I am knowing this country much better than author.
I need to point out,
1. None of any government official will resign publicly, no matter what kind of disaster they caused. They can be removed from office. But nobody will take the responsibility by himself. Generally speaking the big boss will find a scapegoat and grant some compensation in few years, for instance, give him another, even better job.
2. The bank system is a part of government. These years people are suffering an obvious currency inflation caused by the bank. And in this spot, the winners are the government officials, bankers and real estate developers.
3. These years, we heard of that quite a lot lawyers and reporters were put into jail because of muckracking.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Mercator on November 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Ms. Napo is part of a generation of educated Italians who grew up admiring the PCI, whose Marxist ideology held the key to a bright future for all. The collapse of the soviet union was a shock and left millions of believers in italy puzzled and looking for explanations. Napo has a simple one: communism is very successful, but in its Chinese version, which is completely different from the mistaken Soviet interpretation, and it is rapidly modernizing China, which will soon overtake the evil West. At this point most people will say: you've got to be kidding! China's ideology has undergone tremendous change, it can hardly be described today as Mao-nomics or even Deng-nomics; leaders as well as ordinary Chinese hardly ever refer to marxist concepts nowadays. Napo understands that, but it does not stop her; writing in a breezy, fast moving style (well translated from the Italian by S. Twilley) she makes her case boldly and then moves forward as in a James Bond movie, where the quick changes in the plot entertain the reader and hide the preposterousness of the underlying premises. A former newspaperwoman with no scholarly pretensions, she has read widely about China and world affairs generally, and she ransacks her reading list for interesting anecdotes to fit to her ideological frame: up with China, down with the West.

A quick summary. Iceland, guided by a neoliberal ideology sank into disaster, while China's economy following the opposite principles (really?) soared to new heights. Reagan and Thatcher badly damaged their economies, while Deng sent China on an upward path by forcing millions of people to work hard for very low wages (hey, to make an omlet you have to break some eggs).
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do
This item: Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do
Price: $26.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: economy, socialism, ideology