Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to maps and globes
Written for 7-10 year olds, this colorful book introduces young readers to the basics of maps and globes, such as a map's uses, direction, the equator, scale, legends, latitude, longitude, elevation and the difference between physical and political maps. Illustrations are simple, colorful and informative.

Well done.
Published on October 21, 2005 by audrey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty arcane
I had hoped that this would be suitable for children but found that the language was not as clear as it needs to be for a child.
Published 20 months ago by Peggy Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to maps and globes, October 21, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
Written for 7-10 year olds, this colorful book introduces young readers to the basics of maps and globes, such as a map's uses, direction, the equator, scale, legends, latitude, longitude, elevation and the difference between physical and political maps. Illustrations are simple, colorful and informative.

Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to understanding Maps and Globes, June 26, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
Colorful, fun way to introduce Map and Globe reading and understanding. It covers the history of maps, and uses. Advanced concepts like debth and elevatons are discussed. It looks at different uses maps have, and leaves the student wanting to discover more on their own. A very usful tool in teaching basic geography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for teaching about Map Skills!, August 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
This book is a great resource to use when teaching a unit about Map Skills! I've used this in my 2nd grade classroom and it was successful! The language is very child-friendly and easy to understand! The illustrations are wonderful! A great addition to my Map Skills unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but one quibble, July 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
I bought this title to help introduce my son to map skills. It is very informative and written at a child's level; I am quite pleased with that aspect of the book. The one problem I have with it is that it repeats the legend that everyone thought the earth was flat up until 500 years ago, when Columbus and Magellan finally proved otherwise (see pp. 6-11). Though we probably all heard that one while growing up (I certainly did) it has been debunked (see the book _Inventing the Flat Earth_). The ancient Greeks first figured out that the earth was round when they noted that it casts a round shadow on the moon during an eclipse and that ships seem to move downward as they disappear over the horizon. By Columbus' time all learned people actually knew the earth was round; they only disputed his theory that traveling west rather than east would prove to be a "shortcut" to the Indies.

Anyway, I just wanted to warn parents about that bit of misinformation since none of the other reviewers mention it. It's actually understandable since the book is copyright 1985; AFAIK the research debunking the "Everyone was a flat earther until five centuries ago" notion was done after that. Still, there's a lot of good information about maps otherwise so you may still wish to use the book and just explain the error or skip over those pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Learning from and Enjoying Maps", August 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
While written for youth, this is a very good introduction to maps. It is especially useful because it informs young readers that maps are not always accurate. The historic discussion helps to bring students to the present in terms of how maps, in general, evolved. Comparison of globes and flat maps is very instructive. I would have
said more about the utility of Mercator and similar maps (especially rhumb lines, shortest distances), but the Greenland/South America discussion is on target. I would have included another map -- the Western and Eastern Hemisphere and related cartographic data to Old and New World -- it introduces what young students will learn in later classes. Measurement on maps is effectively dealt with, but it is important to distinguish
the 'naturalness' of the Equator from the 'arbitrariness' of the Prime Meridian. Nice coverage of South America, but it might be more useful to put the pair of maps opposite each other. Authors should avoid referring to the land area as 'dry' land. It could be confusing. Imre Sutton, retired prof., geography, Cal. State Univ., Fullerton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction and overview of maps for elementary ages, June 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
Good book for introducing maps, globes and history of map making. It includes a few simple activities which should encourage readers to further research with maps, globes, atlases and at the library. However, the book would be greatly improved by a glossary defining all the italicized words in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, December 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
This was a great book to explain maps, where they came from, etc. It is for children 2nd grade and up, and can be rather detailed at times. For younger children and a fasster read I would recommend "Me On The Map".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn About maps and gobes using colorful pictures and easy reading large print text, July 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for teaching about maps and globes in a simple, fun and colorful way. The text is a nice large size which makes it easy to read. The age level is 7-10 but I am sure my five year old will enjoy it. This is a wonderful book used with Geography A-Z as part of My Fathers World curriculum. Neat stuff. Enjoy the book and go ahead and get both of them together and save on shipping if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Companion Book for the Elenco 5" Desktop Political Globe!, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
I purchased a "starter globe" for my grandchildren, ages 5 and 7, and wanted a companion book to use along with it. MAPS & GLOBES has fit the bill perfectly! Using this book, the grandkids have traced the routes traveled by early explorers; became familiar with map language/terminology; and, using their small Elenco globe, located countries mentioned in the book. The book claims to be for children ages 7-10, but my 5 year old granddaughter enjoys having me read it to her, while she locates the contents on her globe. My 7 year old grandson can read the book on his own now, needing only occasional assistance with terminology that was originally unfamiliar to him. MAPS & GLOBES is a wonderful resource to help your little one understand "where in the world" he or she is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes learning geography easy and fun, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)
Very easy to understand and great illustrations! I even have an eighth grader learning from this book. It looks quite elementary, but even I learned from it as an adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book)
Maps and Globes (Reading Rainbow Book) by Jack Knowlton (Paperback - May 23, 1986)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.