Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two good, one average, one bad
This is a very uneven collection of films with no common theme. Three are entertaining. One is a perplexing throwaway.

The best of this lot is "Angels From Hell," and I have to admit my surprise in saying so. The oldest in the collection (released 1968), it lacks the sex appeal (i.e. nudity) of the other three, but does feature some stunningly-gorgeous...
Published 6 months ago by The Phantom

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally Naked Cage on DVD
Realizing the director of THE NAKED CAGE also gave us CHAINED HEAT, it would have been nice to have this given the same restoration as HEAT and put on Chained Heat/Red Heat/Jungle Warriors release in place of JUNGLE WARRIORS. Oh well. What we get here is a topped-up full frame port from the video master. OKay, it's not widescreen, but it's decent enough looking, and a big...
Published 10 months ago by Ghostcinderella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally Naked Cage on DVD, December 23, 2013
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Realizing the director of THE NAKED CAGE also gave us CHAINED HEAT, it would have been nice to have this given the same restoration as HEAT and put on Chained Heat/Red Heat/Jungle Warriors release in place of JUNGLE WARRIORS. Oh well. What we get here is a topped-up full frame port from the video master. OKay, it's not widescreen, but it's decent enough looking, and a big step up from the VHS with just a wee bit of visual tinkering and adjustment with your flatscreen to suit your visual needs. Sadly, the same can not be said for the transfer of SAVAGE ISLAND, which looks just awful! The soft focus, washed out color picture is little improvement, if any, over a VHS copy. Strong daylight footage fairs better than anything night or indoors, and overall it pales in comparison to the acceptable Naked Cage picture. And as most of Savage Island is shot outdoors, the full frame format is brutally noticeable and really leaves you wishing this had been widescreen. Historical note: This film shares a lot of the same footage with ESCAPE as both were shot back-to-back. Differences? In this film Anthony Steffan plays an officer as opposed to a drunken doctor in Escape. Scenes of sex & violence in Savage Island, but not seen in Escape, include a gory bullet extraction, a more extensive drowning scene, three gun brawls, and an entire prison yard riot. Conversely, many sexual shocks, like Christina Lai's rape, are missing from this print. And of course Linda Blair was shoe horned into the beginning and provides some narration here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two good, one average, one bad, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
This is a very uneven collection of films with no common theme. Three are entertaining. One is a perplexing throwaway.

The best of this lot is "Angels From Hell," and I have to admit my surprise in saying so. The oldest in the collection (released 1968), it lacks the sex appeal (i.e. nudity) of the other three, but does feature some stunningly-gorgeous women including the jaw-dropper Arlene Martel who I am convinced is among the most beautiful women in history. It does have an interesting story, if you could call it that, and is very well-acted. A biker (Tom Stern) who plays by his own set of rules returns home and retakes control of his old motorcycle gang. There is really no linear plot beyond that, but it held my interest for the duration. I was especially impressed with Jack Starrett as the tough-but-fair sheriff.

"Chatterbox" (1976) is the oddball of the collection but then again, in cinematic history, "Chatterbox" ranks among the biggest oddballs anyway. It's about a woman's vagina that one day begins talking and singing. The woman (the gorgeous Candice Rialson) is more or less along for the ride as her genitalia becomes a star. Funny (often in an "OMG" kind of way), entertaining and lots and lots of Rialson topless. Unfortunately, never bottomless. Not really, anyway. So we never actually get to see the "Chatterbox" in question, which is my only real qualm.

"The Naked Cage" (1985) is a women-in-prison movie that really is about five to eight years behind its time. Follows a young women wrongly accused of partaking in a bank robbery and murder, and the effort of the woman who actually orchestrated it to kill her while both are behind bars in a prison that, from the looks of things, isn't any more secure than a car impound lot. As you might imagine there is a substantial amount of nudity and violence, including some kind of disturbing subplots involving a serial rapist crooked cop. This is an OK release to me, but I'm not a fan of WIP.

"Savage Island" (1985) is the one here that I could do without. It's another WIP, but a really bad one. I haven't studied the history but it appears as though the jungle prison portions, which are dubbed, made up an entirely different (and, I suspect, much older) movie that was glued together with bookend footage of Linda Blair, who is enacting revenge on the jewel magnate who profits from the prison. None of it makes any sense and there isn't even enough quality nudity to hold my attention span. Not only that, the quality of transfer is pretty atrocious.

Overall, though, considering that these movies aren't readily available, this is a strong collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Well to tell the truth I didn't want the four pack but only one, so to get what I wanted I had to buy all, Now the other three movies are D grade something to watch at a later day but the other one, the naked cage is great. Because of another persons statement a young woman is sent to prison innocent of all charges. But trapped on the inside with all to hell to go along with it. With the action that follows is thick and fast, Plenty of suspense and thrills not knowing what's coming next, edge of the seat entertainment. The cast did a fabulous job with the storyline making it even better. Different and worth watching for sheer delight. I rated this an A grade for the motives and ideas that were created in the movie. Now I have told you something about it it's time to get a move on for the popcorn, plus a chair to relax on with your feet up intriguing, unusual so different from other shows a grand classic, A fantastic show waiting to be watched. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Posters Are Better, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Even though Linda Blair is only used to bookend the foreign movie with bad dubbing, it's worth it just to see her shoot Penn Jillette in the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An odd comilation of move media... ., September 23, 2014
By 
Eddy Z (Indianapolis,IN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
An odd compilation of movie media. Not for children, these 4 movies consist of strange and reveling time capsules. Two of pre-soft porn, and two reflecting the troubles of our nostalgic past. I never give up movie plots, but only one has Linda Blair in it. I gave this one a 3 stars because they do have a story(although somewhat long) to tell, but I felt neither one way or another about them. If your old enough to remember these, like me you'll get a chuckle and/or a "What was I thinking?" back then that made me like these?? :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT MOVIE. WILL BE ENJOYED BY ALL., August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
EXCELLENT MOVIE. WILL BE ENJOYED BY ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
it was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Good value for receiving four movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 19, 2014
By 
Fredde Lieberman "mofoknow" (Silver Spring, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Trash movies a perfect price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cult Movie Marathon, Vol. 2 (Savage Island, Chatterbox, The Naked Cage & Angels from Hell) (DVD)
Chatterbox is great funny at times only topless shots but the star is amazing to look at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.