Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by FlorenciumBear
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Immediate despatch from the United Kingdom. Condition guaranteed
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Marchel's Mode
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Marchel's Mode

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, January 13, 1996
"Please retry"
$14.00 $7.71

1. Marchel's Mode
2. Escapade
3. Don't Blame Me
4. Wee
5. Jeannie's Song
6. Firm Roots
7. Giant Steps
8. Nutty
9. Every Time We Say Goodbye
10. Ruby My Dear
11. Track 11

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 13, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Leaning House Jazz
  • ASIN: B000003H87
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #590,029 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Blues Muse on December 24, 2010
Format: Audio CD
October of 2007 saw the passing of a tremendous Texas talent. Marchel Ivery left this world with only a limited amount of published output, but a generous outpouring of sorrow from thousands of jazz enthusiasts who knew the great loss that had just occurred so unexpectedly. Among these to say the least, countless Dallas and Fort Worth musicians, artists and music lovers who will long remember his unique sound and manner. Marchel's Mode showcases the ebullient and meaty chops of this seasoned tenor and former colleague of Red Garland. Joined by the great pianist Cedar Walton as well as Lyles West and Ed Soph, Marchel cranks out blistering renditions of Coltrane's Giant Steps, Monk's Nutty and a Kenny Dorham penned original "Escapade". But the opening phrases of track one, the original composition Marchel's Mode, will make an impression on anyone seeking to define the modern Texas Tenor sound. This is a great CD from the short-lived local label Leaning House Jazz. What a tribute to Dallas' jazz scene and the life work of a brilliant and under-appreciated musician.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in