Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my kindergarteners' favorites, June 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
This is a great book for young children learning Spanish or English, as well as those who are bilingual. The predictability of the story helps them figure out the vocabulary in the other language. It is also a very sweet story about making new friends. My bilingual kindergarteners absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Margaret speaks English and not Spanish. Margarita speaks Spanish and not English.", July 20, 2006
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
Two little girls, Margaret and Margarita, set out for the park with their mothers, neither of them willing participants in the outing, convinced there will be no one to play with. In this clever mix of languages, the author literally builds a bridge between two worlds: when the children meet, they must find a way to communicate, for Margaret speaks only English and Margarita only Spanish. The adults recognize the barriers their children face, but, like children everywhere, the girls see only similarities and set about making each other's acquaintance, Margaret with her toy rabbit, Susan, and Margarita with her toy kitty, Susana.

The girls spend the next hours playing together and learning the sounds of another language, the illustrations cleverly drawn to enable youngsters to make these associations. Meanwhile, the two mothers sit at opposite ends of the park bench, uncommunicative. By the end of the day, the girls draw their mothers together, happily introducing them and making plans to meet at the park another day. A well-constructed bilingual text, the language is facilitated by colorful drawings, a bit more creative than the usual Spanish/English combination for young readers. The concept of building bridges instead of barriers serves the story well, a subtle touch to a thoughtful combination of two cultures. Luan Gaines/2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable story and illustrations, May 31, 2003
By 
My husband and I are in the process of adopting a little girl named Margarita from Guatemala. A girlfriend of mine found this perfect book for me. It's not only a really cute story, but also teaches some basic phrases and words in English and Spanish. The illustrations are adorable. I highly recommend this book to others and can't wait to share it with my little girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bilingual book for kids, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
Makes Spanish/English seem fun and useful in playing with other kids who speak different languages. There is another book about "my way" by the same author that is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cultural book., September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was my daughters favorite book as a little girl. We read it over and over again. As a Cuban American, I always wanted for her to know that all cultures were Important specially her own. That was close to twenty years ago. When a friend asks in lue of cards to bring a book to her baby shower, I just knew this was the book to dedicate. Margaret n margarita will always be remembered with love as I recall those great days of reading to my little girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Story, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
This is an adorable story. It is a great read and a great introduction to Spanish and English, Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written book that young ones can relate to, April 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
I teach second grade in NW Ohio, where there isn't much diversity. One of my friends in the school (other teacher) was born in Puerto Rico. We often read this to classes together, as we are much like the two girls in the book. The students are facinated at hearing the story in both English and Spanish. By the end of the story, they are usually able to pick out a few words in Spanish. The story line is very simplistic, but one children can relate to (going to the park and meeting a new friend). The book also provides much discussion about how to make friends even if you don't happen to speak the same language. I would say this book is a MUST for bilingual classrooms as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very cute, March 17, 2009
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
My 16mth old daughter, at first, wasn't into this book, but the more I read it to her the more she became fascinated with the characters in this book. We are a spanish speaking family so I think this is a good way for her to know both her languages. She likes me to read this book to her while she is eating her lunch..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative story of crossing bridges and joining cultures, November 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
This book is so cute. The illustrations are adorable and appealing, and the text ingeniously depicts what happens when two cultures meet, and how friendship is always possible. Clever and witty on so many levels, and a wonderful warm story to boot. My kids love this book. And it exposes them to a lot of Spanish vocabulary without their even realizing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret and Margarita, September 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret (Paperback)
This is a great story to teach children about differences in children. This book also works well with children who are in class with language differences. My children in my class enjoyed hearing both the spanish and english language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret
Margaret and Margarita / Margarita y Margaret by Lynn Reiser (Paperback - August 23, 1996)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.