Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 23, 2016
a sleeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Brilliant acting and script come together in a film that highlights key aspects of the financial crisis from the perspective of Goldman Sachs. Admittedly, the simplified nature of the film works better for anyone with some background in the real life events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
Shallowed dialogue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
I watched this movie because Jeremy Irons impressed me in a current film (The Man Who Knew Infinity), and I wanted to see him in other films. This story did not disappoint. We are fairly removed now from the Great Financial Crisis, but this film did an excellent job of retelling a part of that story in a way that was both dramatically entertaining and substantively accurate. The cast of characters is remarkable and the fact that no one tried to over-play the others was commendable. Kevin Spacey is almost always great,and of course has gone on to create ever more interesting characters (House of Cards) since this film in 2011. But Jeremy Irons, in my view, made this show. He plays an almost perfect ruthless Wall Street businessman, and his monologue toward the end rationalizes it all with a chillingly accurate portrayal of human nature. This was one of the best stories of this genre I've seen. Two thumbs up, big time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
Awesome movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
An excellent film with a storyline centered in the financial crisis. Excellent acting all around and taut direction allows the plot to unfold while conveying the complex emotions of many of the characters. Seeing this film again after The Big Short makes you realize that, comparatively speaking, Margin Call does more to mystify than explain the crisis and in the process valorizes Wall Street elites while completely deflecting its gaze from the real victims of the financial debacle. Still, it's an outstanding film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
OK but left you hanging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
Men in smart, dark suits act nervously in a hush as a procession of women enter the office. Redundancy is in hand, and we observe a clinical dispatch of ‘bad news’ packages handed out by the women to selected employees. The human stain of culling has started, and things are going to ‘get ugly.’ But there is a greater threat lurking in the background, and the secret of this will begin to unfold - from the office trading floor to the top man in the boardroom. The message is clear –the stock market is about to crash. Traders get twitchy, and the cosy charm of personal wealth is lost in an exchange of crisp dialogue. We are about to learn a lesson in the language of profit and loss: The traders have overstretched themselves, and the promise of high returns won’t be fed back to stimulate the market: The public has gone broke. .......Behind the seemly world of polite manners, smart suits and cocktails, lies a seething energy of ruthlessness: The film is set in the world of trading -and a great story too that enhances itself to the screen. The film engages energy and invites the viewer to observe a private and exclusive world. But it is like an artificial world born out of science fiction, which will soon crack open to reality: The traders are reminded that they are only one step away from becoming broke themselves ......The film has a subtle way to soft pedal emotions and politeness in a controlled manner – it is like a mafia shake-up without the blood. .......There are lovely touches to the film – the music score ( by Nathan Larson ) beats along pleasantly – and there a snippet of a Chopin prelude ( no.15 in D flat major ) that is cut short in play as Kevin Spacey awakes from sleep as we are about to indulge....and a trader recalled to office from a plush bar, still drinking from a lengthy bottle hidden in a brown, paper bag. I loved the ending: masterfully and touchingly real - - - the directors first venture into feature film –remarkable, and well done J.C.Chandor! The acting is also rewarding on all levels, especially with the star graded choice of actors - and more. ....The story loosely reminds me of ‘ The Machine Stops’ ( by E.M. Forster ); ‘We’ ( by Yevgeny Zamyatin), and the film, ‘The Swimmer’ ( starring Burt Lancaster ). Treat the film with a sense of black humour as it teases us to do so in return – and don’t sell your soul to the night of the film..... I highly recommend to watch.... the film’s ending has all the hallmarks of an Eli Kazan film: that is, the ending has a new beginning?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Great cast, the movie is a "Financial Thriller", nothing incredible but overall a pretty good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.