Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of music videos and tour footage, October 11, 2001
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This features all of Mr. Manson's music videos from Portrait of An American Family (1994), Antichrist Superstar (1996), Mechanical Animals (1998) and then it features live footage from the Rock is Dead tour with the band Hole (1999). All of the music videos included are played from the most recent to the earliest recorded. The videos are Coma White, Rock is Dead, I Don't like the Drugs, Dope Show, Man That You Fear, Cryptorchid, Tourniquet, Beautiful People, Sweet Dreams, Lunchbox and Get Your Gun. Coma White features Manson being the President, and tragically being shot in a JFK reenactment. Rock is Dead is just of a live performance of the band. I Don't like the Drugs is a comical with several Jerry Springerish parodies. Dope Show has Manson in his suit with breasts, and a live performance of the band. Man That You Fear has Manson as a condemned man who is going to be stoned to death. Cryptorchid features footage of death and decrepit things, hence why it was not on MTV. Tourniquet is just odd having several rotten things and insects. The video for Beautiful People has Manson on stilts dressed in all white. Sweet Dreams is more artistic than anything else. Lunchbox features a roller rink and a kid holding a lunchbox wanting to be a rock star. Get Your Guy is very dark and menacing with a live performance from the band. As for the live footage, it's the same old stuff, concert footage with behind the scenes shenanigans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWEET, November 23, 2000
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video is the BEST!!! Not only does it include every Marilyn Manson music video, but it includes an hour of additional footage from the "Rock Is Dead" tour, which also include backstage footage as well. The music video's on the video are, "Coma White" "I Don't Like The Drugs (But The Drugs Like Me)" "The Dope Show" "Long Hard Road Outta Hell" "Cryptorchild" "Man That You Fear" "Tourniquet" "The Beautiful People" "Dope Hat" "Lunchbox" and "Get Your Gunn". My suggestion? BUY THIS VIDEO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMARKABLE! Manson just keeps getting better!, November 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First off, I don't consider Marilyn Manson a "shock rock" band. "Their" work is "their" art, and it just keeps getting better. This video has everything! It contains all of their videos (from "Get Your Gunn", all the way to "Coma White"), as well as an hour of excellent concert footage from the "Rock Is Dead" tour, and some good backstage footage. The coolest thing I experienced while viewing the video is the trip down memory lane with the videos. The video starts with "Coma White" and ends with "Get Your Gunn", instead of the other way around. It was really cool watching Manson's transformation as a band through the years. If your a fan of Marilyn Manson, you owe it to yourself to purchase this video! However, if you dislike him the least little bit, this video will DEFINITELY offend you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His big-top tricks will make you happy, May 9, 2002
By 
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I had to give this 5 stars because the 13 videos on here are awesome. Marilyn Manson is truly a unique one-of-a-kind artist and it shows! Starting with Coma White, the videos begin with the most recent in 1999, including Long Hard Road Out of Hell (an awesome song and video), The Beautiful People, Sweet Dreams, and ending with Dope Hat (humorous video), and Lunch Box (always a Manson classic). Then you are treated to concert footage and some backstage antics. Marilyn's parents even make a cameo in support, as always, of their son. There is also a few clips of signs that some anti-Manson groups made. They really show what hypocrits they are. (When you see these signs keep in mind that Christians are not supposed to pass judgement on others.) If you are truly a Manson fan then you should already know what he is about, therefore nothing on this video should be a surprise. It is really a very fun and enjoyable time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Manson's Essential Item to a Diehard Fan, July 3, 2004
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first bought this VHS used because it was out of print. A long while later, I saw it at Hastings for sale; Which brought me comfort knowing that now Manson fans won't have to search hard for a copy. This is Manson way giving us exactly what we wanted. This is an essential for Manson fans. It includes all his videos from Portrait of an American Family (1st album) all the way to Mechanical Animals (4th album). I have seen his newer videos, and would be a happy happy person if he would release a DVD with his videos. But I have heard that sometime He going to relese a "Greatest Hits" album with a bonus DVD with all his videos. I don't know how he can manage to decide what to put on his GH album seeing as how all his songs are great! Anywhoo this VHS is the greatest thing ever invented since buttered toast! Here's all his videos:
COMA WHITE ~ A beautiful song with a beautiful video that makes you feel emotional inside like you want to cry. This song was based on one of Manson's dearest friends who commited suicide because she was abused, and resorted to drugs. I almost can feel Manson's pain. I'm speachless...
ROCK IS DEAD ~ This isn't like the butchered version you saw on MTV with all the clips of The Matrix. This is just the views of Manson and the band jaming on that set. That may make it sound boring, but it's alot better than the Matrix Promo version. Ginger Fish (Drummer) really glistened in this video. Interesting and a good catchy song.
I DON'T LIKE THE DRUGS ~ One of the best videos on here. It's nice Jazzy R&B Glamour styled song goes perfectly with the scenes of Manson showing his creativity making this video seem almost like a movie with a plot. A definate reason to rewind the tape.
THE DOPE SHOW ~ Manson with breasts being captured and exploited by the evil Music Industry; giving Manson everything he wants, but not what he truly want. Which unfortunatly I am not witty enough to interprate. You'll need to see the video. I can't possibly describe it. One of Mansons best! I love it!
LONG HARD ROAD OUT OF HELL ~ Manson crossdressed, and making love with mannequins in still scenes. This was on the extras on the Spawn DVD if you have it. A catchy song which the video personifies that Manson is not afraid of what people think of him. He is a true role model if you truly know his person
CRYPTORCHILD ~ A kooky Manson song with lots of grotesque imagry and electric sounds. Shot in a fuzzy black and white mode. Making this a true macabre Manson masterpiece.
MAN THAT YOU FEAR ~ Another beautiful Manson song that has a video that is almost funny; how a trailor park village, in a remote dessert where everyone dresses fancy. And Manson leads them down a trail where you'll notice the members playing their instruments (Notice Zimzum playing a Tuba). Another good video
TOURNIQUET ~ One of my favorite Manson songs with a video that may seem a little disgusting with the bug eating and all, but somehow the charm of Manson's music makes it all so poetic.
THE BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE ~ A weird Manson video presenting one of his most powerful songs. The scenery must have cost alot, but Manson spared no expense to make a classic song that will make you break something on account of the adrenaline rush of power you get from hearing this song! I love this song, but I'm a little pissed that the audio is edited. I'm not saying that I MUST hear Manson dropping F-bombs in his lyrics. But I feel cencorship mutes a little bit of the art of lyric writting.
SWEET DREAMS ~ It's shot with a fish-eye lense to make everything look distorted in some scenes, which is cool. This song makes me happy for some reasons. I like to listen to this song in the dark with a candle lit, and just relax. You'll love this song, trust me. How could you not?
DOPE HAT ~ The best video on here! Like watching Saturday-Moring Cartoons while tripping out on Acid! I like how kooky Manson made this video. How can you not enjoy this video?! This video is a parody of the boatride through the tunnel in Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory except for Manson play Wonka, and the Kids aboard are tied to the Mast. You'll see the Oompa Loompas drink whiskey, and things like that. Kick-ass!!
LUNCHBOX ~ A power anthem for kids getting picked on at school. Another entertaining video, It's cool to see Manson without his makeup on. The little kid is funny. It's funny when he goes into the rollarskating rink to see Manson, and trips all the skaters. Ends with a view of a burning lunchbox. Manson 4ever!!
GET YOUR GUNN ~ A good Manson video. He's dressed like a pilgrim on the TV screen. Not his most creative, but a good one. And hey, this was earlier. So the band probably just didn't have enough money to make it more juicy. Still a good one and Manson went far far far with the idea.
UNCUT DOPE SHOW ~ A little pointless. just Twiggy R. and M.W. Gacy in the car fondling the woman in The Dope Show. Then the woman dancing for about a minute, then it cuts.
FOOTAGE ~ The funniest thing I've seen in a long time. I don't want to give anything away. So buy the VHS and see for yourself.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy!, February 17, 2003
By 
P. French (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
BUY THIS FILM! What are you waiting for? Whip out those credit cards let's go! I am a big MM fan and this was one of the greatest purchases I will have ever made. The first half of the movie is music videos- Coma White, Rock Is Dead, I Don't Like The Drugs,The Dope Show,Long Hard Road Out Of Hell, Cryptorchild,Man That You Fear,Tourniquet,The Beautiful People,Sweet Dreams,Dope Hat,Lunch Box,and Get Your Gunn.So as you can see already,they give u a lot to enjoy. The last 45 mins. or so is concert footage,and backstage footage, which is hilarious!!! There's this part where Twiggy's backstage with John 5, and Twiggy has a gun, and he goes, "I got the gun, boy, I got the gun, who's the man!" Me and my friend used to crack each other up because we once screwed up on saying that and it came out, "I got the man, who's the gun!" So we went around for weeks yelling that randomly around school.(Okay so you had to be there, but once you see it you'll understand.)I do have a word of warning to all you with easily concerned parents, this movie contains some "vulgar" stuff (like twiggy and John 5 giving Manson head on stage, which to me is awesome!)Of course language is a big one two, I mean c'mon, this is MM we're speaking of.So basically just be careful when watching it, the first time you view it, you should maybe wait until your parents aren't home so you'll know the layout. This movie is especailly awesome is you're into one of the band members because it shows them in the backstage footage quite a bit, so have fun! Buy this! In fact I think I'll go watch it right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Manson ~ God Is In the T.V., October 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This was a very good video. You get to see 13 of Manson's music videos, including Rock Is Dead, The Dope Show, and Sweet Dreams. Also, there's an additional hour of concert & backstage footage that some viewers might find very offensive, due to the explicit material; Twiggy & John 5 giving Manson oral sex on stage, Manson ripping pages out of a bible, the band setting stuff on fire (American flags, the stage set & instruments), and more. If you love to be shocked, then check out this video. Also check out two other great Manson videos: Dead To the World & Guns, God, and Government World Tour.

My only complaint is that this video is not yet available on DVD, and neither is Dead To the World. They should make these 2 videos on DVD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God IS in the T.V., May 21, 2004
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Being a huge fan of Manson, when i discovered that there was a tape with almost all of his videos on it, i jumped to buy it. Now i am forever happy that i bought it. The music videos are only what you would expect of manson, and sometimes they even left me spechless. The early ones from portrait of an American Family are very weird becuase of their cheap production value. The 'low-quality' special effects on Dope Hat are enough to send into tears even though it still is a cool video, and 'Get Your Gunn' looks totally like a classic rock video. 'Coma White' is a beautifull JFK assaination reanactment, and is so emotional it even still leaves me speachless. 'I dont like the Drugs but the Drugs Like Me' is a rather odd one where Manson carries around a cross made out of telivisions. "Man that you fear' is also very sad showing Manson getting ready to be exicuted. And of course there is the sexy video 'Long Hard Road Out of Hell' that features Manson naked.
Now for the tour footage...I must say that the footage wasnt as 'crazy' or 'disgusting' as most people said it was.
The cover of the video has a parental advisory sticker that states 'Contains nudity, graphic language and explicit material that some may find disturbing. Parental supervision is highly advised'
Most of the live preformances arent full songs. They get either cut or Manson heads off into some strange antics. At the begining, Manson preforms 'The Reflecting God' and when it cuts away, Manson is backstage screaming obscenities and breathing from an oxygen mask. I'd like to go into detail about the entire movie, but i'll just give you some of my favorite parts: the band covers Ginger with condiments, John and Twiggy give Manson head then John explains what it was like, the band destroys the instruments and sets the drums on fire while someone is still playing them, the band snorts up coke with pointers from Manson, and Manson goes to a soundcheck naked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manson Fans Get Ready, December 26, 1999
By 
Brett D. Cullum (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Here is a case of getting more than you ever bargained! You get every video Manson has done, and concert footage that rolls on for at least an hour! Nothing is left out, and nothing is edited! You get to see his transformations from the early days to the current Omega persona! Look for the collector's edition which puts the video and the album LAST TOUR ON EARTH together in HOLY BIBLE packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Videos and Awesome Behind the Scenes, February 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This VHS has many of Manson's great music videos and awesome live performances during the Rock Is Dead Tour, which was fabulous. Much of the live footage jumps from shot to shot sometimes showing an entire performance of a song and the sometimes showing clips of it. Either way its excellent close up shots. Some of the music videos on the VHS include Tourniquet, Sweet Dreams, Beautiful People, Dope Hat, Lunchbox, and one of his best, The Long Hard Road Out of Hell, plus many more! Don't miss this video, its excellent and worth watching many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS]
Marilyn Manson - God Is in the T.V. [VHS] by Marilyn Manson (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: $5.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.