Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Price:$59.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2014
This is basically the 2012 "Forever Marilyn Blu-ray Collection" of seven movies (still available for $37.75), repackaged and with "Bus Stop" and "Niagara" added. Both of the added movies are available separately for $18.96 each. This nine movie set is a great deal if you want "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," even if you already have the seven movie collection, because for only $2 more than the cost of the two separate movies you get the other seven in individual Blu-ray packaging. If you don't care about "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," or the individual Blu-ray packaging, the seven movie collection is the better deal.

By the way, the actual run time is far from the 122 minutes shown by Amazon, it is as follows:

Bus Stop 105 minutes
Niagara 89 minutes
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes 91 minutes
How to Marry a Millionaire 96 minutes
River of No Return 91 minutes
There's no Business Like Show Business 117 minutes
The Seven Year Itch 104 minutes
Some Like it Hot 121 minutes
The Misfits 125 minutes

Total Run Time 939 minutes
1111 comments152 of 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I always check with amazon before I shop with any other web store. It arrived 9 individual blu-ray movies all individually shrink wrapped. The movies are in both color and black in white depending on the film. The picture quality varies but most all are excellent transfers. Even if you don't like Marilyn Monroe the films themselves are excellent with great lead and supporting actors. I personally like Joesph Cotton. I won't individually review each movie since you find those reviews throughout Amazon. Thanks Amazon for making this affordable.
0Comment55 of 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
All movies (except Seven Year Itch) have Dutch subtitles and are region free, picture quality is great on all movies.
0Comment38 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
For the Amazon special price plus free shipping plus all these movies in high def and several with extras, this is an incredibly great set of Monroe movies. I had most on reg DVD but these on Blu Ray really add a lot to already classically good movies.
0Comment24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
If you love Marilyn Monroe movies, this is the ultimate classic collection set to have and enjoy for many years to come.
0Comment18 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
Who could ask for more the woman was so good & was a flawless beauty. Hoping Fox & Warner Brothers step on it & get more of her films out for people to enjoy in HD. I love these films & had most of them on just dvd till now. If your a true fan you should just go for it & buy these they are worth every penny.
11 comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Received this in the mail today, packing was secure and all disks were new and intact. I almost bought the Forever Marilyn box set last month but I'm glad I waited. It's nice to have all of the movies in their own boxes, plus the 2 extras (Bus Stop and Niagara) that were not included in that set.

The disks themselves have very limited special features, some only have the theatrical trailer. For the price paid ($39.99) I'm willing to overlook Fox not including anything extra. This is great for any Marilyn lover who may have not bought many of the films on Blu-ray as well as someone who is just now seeing these films for the first time. You just can't go wrong with the price.

Now I just have to decide on what to watch first!!
0Comment18 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I bought these at 75% discounted price. I've only ever seen "Some Like It Hot" & "The Misfists", but now I can watch all the best movies of Marilyn Monroe on Blu-Ray no less.
11 comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
A great Amazon deal of the day price ($29.99), but was disappointed by 20th Century Fox Packaging even at this price. No Slip Case to hold the 9 Blu-rays discs to keep them together & organized. It seems absurd to price this item usually 3X to what I paid & give so little. I can get shrink wrap
for my produce & meats, but didn't expect it as a finishing for a "Classic" set!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
You can find reviews of the quality of each movie transfer in the sites that specialize in that sort of thing. It's worth checking up on, because the quality varies. If you do a little research, there should be no surprises there. The main thing that surprised me about this "collection" is that there isn't a box, or any special packaging. It just seems to be an ad-hoc shrink-wrapped group. The is price is good enough that absence of a box doesn't matter that much to me.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse