Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Beautyman Mystery Series-Excellent reading
The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries)
Erik Hanberg
Amazon Digital Services
Kindle Edition
November 2011
Cozy Mystery
5 Stars

In a sequel to the first book in the authors series "The Saints Go Dying" we find Det. Arthur Beautyman feeling a bit disgraced after leaving the force in California living in his mothers...
Published on November 16, 2011 by Reviewer"Lynn"

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying mystery
The Marinara Murders is the second mystery featuring Arthur Beautyman, the first, The Saints Go Dying, introduces the LA detective in the midst of a serial killer case.

In The Marinara Murders, Arthur Beautyman is a forty-something, retired detective with impressive hacker skills. Having left the LAPD with a cloud hanging over his head (I'm not clear about the...
Published on August 3, 2012 by Shelleyrae


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Beautyman Mystery Series-Excellent reading, November 16, 2011
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries)
Erik Hanberg
Amazon Digital Services
Kindle Edition
November 2011
Cozy Mystery
5 Stars

In a sequel to the first book in the authors series "The Saints Go Dying" we find Det. Arthur Beautyman feeling a bit disgraced after leaving the force in California living in his mothers basement in Minnesota. So his life took a downhill slide, he has his computer and can be quite happy where he is, or so he thinks. His mother has other plans for him, like doing what he does best, being a detective. When one of his mothers bridge partners Julie Diamond wants to hire him to find out where her grandson had been the past three years. Three years earlier he committed suicide or so everyone thought. His body was never found until the present. And it had just happened. Now for the mystery where has he been for the past 3 years and why did he not contact anyone? How did he happen to wind up dead now? With Beautyman taking the case he has to make his mother a partner to keep her from telling Julie everything he finds out. Now the fun begins .

This was a very enjoyable read and I found very hard to put down when I started. There is more twists and turns through the book with intrigue and suspense to keep the reader very involved. The characters were well rounded and very easy to connect with. I enjoyed Mama. She proves to be pretty good at detective work after all. What started out as an innocent ploy by her son turns her into a crime solving mama. This was one of those books where you did not know the killer or what was going to happen on the next page. Reading this book has made me want to go get the first book now in the series to read. And so with the ending of this book I feel like there will be more to the Arthur Beaytyman Mysteries or I hope there will be. Recommended read- No sexual scenes all though hinted at and the occasional "F" word otherwise very cleanly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying mystery, August 3, 2012
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Paperback)
The Marinara Murders is the second mystery featuring Arthur Beautyman, the first, The Saints Go Dying, introduces the LA detective in the midst of a serial killer case.

In The Marinara Murders, Arthur Beautyman is a forty-something, retired detective with impressive hacker skills. Having left the LAPD with a cloud hanging over his head (I'm not clear about the circumstances not having read the first book) he has been holed up in his mother's basement in Minnesota, a virtual recluse, for months. Tired of her son's inertia, his mother deftly manipulates Arthur into agreeing to help Julia by discovering where her grandson, Jake, had been for the three years it was assumed he was dead. As Arthur investigates, he discovers a link between the Diamond family's restaurant, Carat and an Italian diner, owned by Luca Alcamo, Dromio's and when he is attacked he knows he has hit a nerve somewhere.

The plot of The Marinara Murders is cleverly layered, and makes good use of Beautyman's slightly rusty detective skills and his computer hacking ability. Over the course of the novel, Arthur finds himself caught up in complex web of family dysfunction, identity theft and corruption. It isn't Beautyman though that solves this case, surprisingly it is his mother who pieces together the majority of the clues and, in a slightly absurd scene, invites all the suspects, the investigating police detective and the Beautyman's new 'business consultant', for Thanksgiving dinner to reveal the secret of both Jake's whereabouts and identify his murderer.

There is a note from the author at the end of the book that explains Hanberg's inspiration for the plot of this novel which I found very interesting and overall, The Marinara Murders is a solidly enjoyable mystery novel with likeable protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really liked it!, January 2, 2012
By 
LilyBell2 (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Marinara Murders. I found myself caring what happened to the characters, especially Arthur Beautyman, who looks like he may find a little redemption, along with plenty of future adventures, in his new calling as a P.I. partner with his mom.

I'm off to read the prequel, "The Saints Go Dying," next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mama's Boy, July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Just ok. Started out with a good plot. , but had a hard time with a 40-something year old man hanging
with his mother so much. He was a big city cop for years, then is let go.
He moves in Mom's basement and
she encourages him to become a PI...then he takes her on as a partner.
She's in her 60's and has mostly played Bridge for years. No skills, but she invites the suspects to dinner...to
solve the case. .... Dumb!
What a silly premise. I couldn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, entertaining book that should be made into a movie, February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book! You get a great feel and attachment with the main characters and I look forward to following their detective work in future books. I hope he publishes another spon. There are some great twists and the book seems very current which is nice. I'm going to try his other book, "The Saints go Dying" next. If you want a great read you will really enjoy Marinara Murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Light Reading, July 15, 2012
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining reading for when you don't want to really think. Not much of a plot but fun anyway. It was cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!, March 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read the first Arthur Beautyman mystery and liked the introduction of a new character who was both a sharp detective and excellent computer hacker. I looked forward to this book knowing that Beautyman had moved to Minneapolis after his job in LA fell apart. There was so much potential in the premise of this work. Beautyman is a 41 year old guy forced to live in his mother's basement while he gets his life back together. Although he is active on his computers, his mother thinks he needs to get out more and asks him to investigate the disappearance of her bridge partner's grandson. Mother and son form Beautyman and Beautyman Investigations. The interplay between mother and son as they solve mysteries together could have been great, but actually it was terrible.

Mama, who has absolutely no investigative experience, decides that she is as good a detective as her son and instead of working together to solve the mystery, decides to withhold information and compete with him to see who can find the answers first. At this point the book changed from an intriguing mystery to a "cozy" farce. The Nero Wolfe ending was so unbelievable that I swore in frustation.

Erik Hanberg turned a promising new detective protagonist into a creepy, mama's boy basement dweller who was outwitted by his mother. I hope if he decides to continue with this character that Mr. Hanberg gives him back the backbone and deductive skills that made the first novel a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marinara, May 18, 2013
By 
V. Folsom (Cape Coral, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book by Erik Hanberg that I have read and I enjoyed it very much. The plot and characters are good and it moves right along. Beautyman and mother are fun. Hope for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all in the sauce, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Arthur Beautyman Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Cute story of down and out detective who is engaged by mom's bridge partner to solve a mystery. Mother is as cunning as son and teams up with him to solve murders and manipulation in Minneapolis. Author does good job of weaving plot through many characters. A page-turner I finished in a day and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't have it figured out, March 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marinara Murders (Paperback)
I recently read this book. I have been reading mysteries for a very long time. Most of the time, I can figure out whodunit way before the author lets the reader know. This one had a couple angles that had me guessing. It was a fun book to enjoy. Read it in one afternoon. I liked it so much, I recommended it to my daughter to read. Now, I just have to read the book prior to this one to find out what Arthur did. LOL Hope my review convinces one to read this book. And I so agree, please get him out of his mother's basement!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.