Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 13, 2013
Just got this book and a week later, while stuck in a windless bay, my engine suddenly died. Of course this only happens when you are anchorless, motoring through islands and shoals with a nice hunk of shore that is covered in rocks, and half a dozen icons on the navigation chart of sunken boats. (Somehow the fates know when you are trying to sneak by unnoticed.)

Luckily we happened to start drifting through a cargo channel that was blessedly void of any cargo ships, or anyone at all except a small pod of porpoise. We had a good thirty minutes to break open this book and trouble shoot the engine. This book gave us the guide lines we needed to quickly and successfully diagnose our problem and get the engine back to limping. Not only that but this book has guided us through the month of repairing all sorts of things, fixing the starter, along with recognizing a few things that previous owners have jerry-rigged. In a month this book has already paid for itself many times over and now our old crusty engine sounds better and runs better. This book is a must, without it, my first mate and I would have never been able to turn a potentially deadly trip into just a few minutes of stress.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
A good reference, but a bit too technical. I was a machinist and would not even dream of attempting some of the repairs suggested. Removing, cleaning and replacing internal engine components is something I would only attempt if I was broken down in the jungle, many miles from civilization.
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
This is a good intro to small diesels, especially outdated ones you find on old boats. The writing is readable and easy-to-follow. The pictures could be much better. A mechanic friend who uses it to teach seminars said it contains several pieces of inaccurate info in the troubleshooting tables. Overall, his other books (Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual) is a better deal since it contains most of the same material and then some.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Very comprehensive treatment of the topic. How to guide for the big repairs on diesel engines. You may not be contemplating these type of repairs yourself, but knowing how they are done teaches one alot about how the engines work. Plus, you are prepared in case you find ourself in a remote location with a non-working engine.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2008
This is another fine reference book from Nigel Calder! I think that this book along with a good factory type manual would be all you needed to maintain your diesel engine. I have yet to purchase a book that Calder has authored that was not worth the money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Needs to be renamed, "PhD level Marine Diesel Engine ...."
Great book many details, it goes overboard on them to be honest, but its fun reading in some odd way. You can figure out how many millionths of a gallon of diesel your engine burns on each stroke, not that its useful, but...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Great book with plenty of pictures to guide you throw any project. Well written for the professional mechanic or an experienced do it yourself type of individual. I bought the book for trouble shooting projects and the import things to do to keep your diesel running right. It has plenty of tips and examples with pictures of what can go wrong if you don't maintain your engine properly. It gives great trouble shooting techniques so if the job is too big or too time consuming to do yourself, the mechanic you chose will understand you know your way around diesel engines and should not pump up the bill with unneeded repairs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
Great, detailed explanation of the principles, operation, and troubleshooting of marine Diesel engines. The book is very helpful with connecting observed symptoms to engine conditions. I highly recommend this book for anyone with an inboard Diesel engine or two!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Yes, indeed very useful and well written - Some i wouldn't take on my self unless i absolutely had to (think middle of the ocean and no other choice) and some i look forward to trying. Mostly though i bought this book so i felt confident dealing with my mechanic - what surprised me is now i wont need my mechanic quite as often. Buy it, it will save you money and you can't argue with that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
Buy this book, read it from cover to cover, then keep it onboard for reference. That way, when something goes wrong and you are far from any help or assistance, you will be able to handle the problem and get home. That has happened to me already and this book has paid for itself many times over. The investment is invaluable. I highly recommend this book and I would go so far as to say your marine diesel engine is incomplete without this book to go with it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse