Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Dammit, We're Marines!
These are the riveting and intensely personal stories of Marines who fought and won the most costly battle in Marine Corps history, The Battle for Iwo Jima. Iwo Jima, an eight square mile island of volcanic rock, defended by an estimated force of 22,000 Japanese soldiers who were determined to defeat U.S. forces. These are the personal accounts of the Marines who fought...
Published on August 29, 2009 by Robert A. Bean

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
The book does not tell of the campaigns and the personal stories, it is mostly men telling how happy they were to join and telling their life stories.
Published 18 months ago by Lidija FOGLAR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Dammit, We're Marines!, August 29, 2009
This review is from: By Dammit, We're Marines! Veterans' Stories of the Heroism, Horror, and Humor in World War II on the Pacific Front (Hardcover)
These are the riveting and intensely personal stories of Marines who fought and won the most costly battle in Marine Corps history, The Battle for Iwo Jima. Iwo Jima, an eight square mile island of volcanic rock, defended by an estimated force of 22,000 Japanese soldiers who were determined to defeat U.S. forces. These are the personal accounts of the Marines who fought and decimated the Japanese forces burrowed into the island. This is a fascinating look into the mindset of the World War II era Marine Corps' philosophy on closing with and destroying the enemy. This book provides the personal stories of the Marines on the battlefield. From Infantry men to Tankers, Communicators to Forward Artillery Observers, Shore Parties to Headquarters and Service Marines, all who contributed to the Marine Corps victory over the Japanese. Included are selected stories of Navy, Army Air Corps and Army Ground Forces personnel that supported the Marines in their fight for the island fortress. This is an outstanding and compelling book chronicling the wartime remembrances of the veterans of the battle for Iwo Jima, members of our Greatest Generation.

Colonel Robert A. Bean Jr., AUS Ret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book By Dammit, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Dammit, We're Marines! Veterans' Stories of the Heroism, Horror, and Humor in World War II on the Pacific Front (Hardcover)
Miss Chatfield has presented well the experiences related to her. It is easy to forget that she wasn't in the midst of the action. As a Iwo Jima veteran. I wanted to see it through other eyes in different situations. Unless you were there, it is difficult to really understand. Even participating one sees only the part effecting him. It is good to see other perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Elders, what a gift you have given us, August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Dammit, We're Marines! Veterans' Stories of the Heroism, Horror, and Humor in World War II on the Pacific Front (Hardcover)
To me, this book does not start out with "the hook" that aspiring writers of lyrics and literature are encouraged to develop early in the first few pages...a survival tactic for publication. Instead, the author chose the gutsy method (perhaps allowable, considering the genre)of letting the collected parts construct the whole meaningful experience, giving these aging warriors a "last hurrah" of flinging the "verses of their hearts" in the stories of an incredible part of their lives, so that we who come after may not forget their gift to us all, their valor, their honor, and their innocence.They are a source of hope that this kind of courage will not fade from the Glory of America.

I came upon the book at the recommendation of an elder author friend who froze in the foxholes of Europe as a young GI and whose heart is so full of love, humor, and benign outlook, who also knows the author, Gail. I'm so glad that I read the stories of these soon to be passing men of my father's generation.

I have purchased another volume as a gift for my retired Marine General neighbor,so to honor his life's service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
She did an amazing job putting it all together. The flow was perfect, laced with action, humility, sorrow and understanding. If you can't understand why they are The Greatest Generation, then please leave my country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, June 10, 2013
By 
Thumper (Montana, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great story, well-written and most engaging. Worth the price that's for sure. It will be passed along to others interested in WWII in the Pacific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Personal Look at Marines., March 14, 2013
By 
Michael D. Moses (Chatfield, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a collection of stories of Marines who fought during WWII in the Pacific and it particularly focuses on those who went on to fight on Iwo Jima. It tells their stories from the time of enlistment to their present situation and helps bring theri battles, along with the hardships and losses, into perspective and give them a human quality, telling us why they fought the way they fought. WWII Marines, along with others who fought in the Pacific, were engaged in a brutal war of death with a fanatical enemy who considered themselves superior to any other people. It was a war of racism, where the Japanese were the master race against the subhuman people, not only of the West but also those oriental who would not succumb to their demands. Against this fanatical foe, these Marines, soldiers, sailors and airmen had to fight equally as fanatically in order to survive.
There are those revisionist historians who now claim that the United States was at fault because we really started the war for capitalist gain and those American servicemen who were captured and tortured got "just what they deserved". As a Marine who fought in Vietnam, I find these remarks stupid and idiotic, coming from those who have never sacrificed for anything in their lives and sit in their armchairs or at their desks in universities and judge what real men had to do to protect them so they can sit there and say stupid things. These people disgust me but they do have a right to their opinions - just so long as they say them where no one can hear them.
If you want to read about men in battle who are relaying information about a war that changed the course of human history, then this book should be a "must" read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down!, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book!! I always like books written by a Marine who was actually there. First hand accounts are always the best and usually the most interesting. Worth reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic first hand remembrances of the Marines who fought in the Pacific., December 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Dammit, We're Marines! Veterans' Stories of the Heroism, Horror, and Humor in World War II on the Pacific Front (Hardcover)
For years I wanted a book to follow in the footsteps of Semper Fi, Mac. This book does just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The author's thoughts and search mirror mine., August 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: By Dammit, We're Marines! Veterans' Stories of the Heroism, Horror, and Humor in World War II on the Pacific Front (Hardcover)
The author's assembly of veteran's experiences and feelings gives a collective picture of war through their eyes. Through their telling of their life's both as civilians and as Marines in battle I've come to understand somewhat of what my grandfather experienced in the pacific, a time he spoke little of. It is a book of meaning for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They Were there, June 26, 2014
By 
Robert W. Norton (Minotola, New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very interesting cross section of marines who commented on their action in a variety of locations. An easy read of first hand reports of battle actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.