Customer Reviews


614 Reviews
5 star:
 (471)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave me alone, stupid blue shells!!!!!
Here's another must-own for the 3DS, plus it's my most played on the handheld. Just like how I got Super Mario 3D Land, I got Mario Kart 7 the day it came out. If you love Mario Kart or if you're new to the series, this game is especially a must!

Just like the other Mario Kart games since Mario Kart DS, you can play this game on your own, with nearby people...
Published on July 5, 2012 by SMB3BestGameEver

versus
37 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough On Newbs!
I guess I've always been more of a traditional racer than a kart racer. To put it in perspective, I've really enjoyed the Wipeout series, Split Second, Need for Speed Hot Pursuit, Burnout 3, etc. As far as Mario Kart, the last game I played was on the Super Nintendo. Prior to Super Mario 3D Land (probably the best game on the system), my 3DS was gathering dust when my...
Published on December 9, 2011 by Jason Weesner


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave me alone, stupid blue shells!!!!!, July 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Here's another must-own for the 3DS, plus it's my most played on the handheld. Just like how I got Super Mario 3D Land, I got Mario Kart 7 the day it came out. If you love Mario Kart or if you're new to the series, this game is especially a must!

Just like the other Mario Kart games since Mario Kart DS, you can play this game on your own, with nearby people provided that they have 3DS's, or play online. I dig the fact that you can be able to customize your kart, as well as the ability to glide and drive underwater! I would also like to thank Nintendo for getting rid of the thunder cloud that plagued Mario Kart Wii, that thing was just really annoying... you also won't be able to see any fake power-up blocks either, yay! Instead, you'll see new power-ups which are the fire flower, the raccoon tail, and the lucky 7 (I only use that to use the star lol). But still, be prepared to get attacked by those too, that includes blue spiny shells, bullet bills, and bloopers! And each time you get a lot of coins, you'll be able to unlock kart parts. You will also be able to unlock hidden characters, as well as a 3-star rank when you do awesome in the grand prix mode.

The best part of Mario Kart 7 is the game's online mode. You are able to play in worldwide matches much like in Mario Kart Wii, but with an improved VR system that doesn't decrease by a lot for no reason! The only way to lose your VR is when you get last place, and you only lose 3 VR when that happens, which isn't much at all - that is much more fair than Mario Kart Wii's online! You are also able to race in communities and find people/friends you previously raced. There is also the Mario Kart Channel where it updates the time trial ghosts and the community list. The game also keeps track of your wins, losses, coins collected, etc. Plus you'll still be able to unlock remaining kart parts while you collect coins in the online mode too!

The only cons I have are the mii's voices, no actual way to ban whichever items you want while you make a community, not having the ability to create your own messages when you're in a community, and Toadette not being in the roster (I miss her!!!). Overall, the game is definitely chaotic, but you'll keep coming back for more action. Right next to Mario Kart Double Dash, this is my favorite entry in the Mario Kart series. Go get it right now!

Final Score - 9/10 - Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario To The Finish Line, December 4, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
There is no question that Mario Kart is soon set to celebrate its 20th anniversary as one of the most acclaimed video game series for the Nintendo games. It has just been a non-stop fast & furious ride for Mario, Bowser and his friends from each angle. It has been on every system since the Super NES, and it hasn't seen the plumber and his friends and foes hit the brakes into the warp pipe even once. Still, there have been so many racing games that have tries to copy it and haven't succedded, or those who have been inspired by Mario and his friends race. Well whatever the case, Mario and his friends kept on evolving in the Mairo Kart games and they have never lost their luster. Now with the high-octane and mushroom speed, it is at it again for the Nintendo 3DS, and truthfully it is worth each and every race.

Mario Kart 7 really brings in the big guns for the Nintendo 3DS, where some of the other Nintendo 3DS games, have missed their mark with the launch of the system. Hard to believe it is the 7th racing game for Mario and his friends, and this time around it has continued to evolve well by bringing in a swift mix of the new and the old. Just like Mario Kart DS and MarioKart Wii, gamers will race 32 tracks that are both new and from Mario Kart's past. The game definitely looks amazing with some new wrinkles into the game, as you have new racers and new courses too like racing in the new Music Park, where hopping on each note and insturment will help you cross the finish line, Shy Guy Bazaar, where it is a Middle Eastern flavor available, as you and your fellow racers try and cross the starting gate, while trying to glide from rooftops, and classics as well like Luigi Raceway from Mario Kart 64 and the speed and mall-madness of the Coconut Mall from Mario Kart Wii.

Aside from the mix of old and new tracks as well, there are new racers that are here to challenge Mario, Yoshi and friends including Lakitu the cloud-dwelling and spiny tossing foe, Metal Mario (as a celebration to help celebrate the 15th anniversary of Super Mario 64,) Shy Guy and Wiggler to name a few. They bring a lot of new blood into the game, as well as new elements like customizing your karts with tires and gliders which will make you soar your way back to the asphault.You also can race underwater too, which will help you find shortcuts in the game, especially in redesigned courses like Koopa Trooopa Beach and new Cheep Cheep Lagoon. There are also a few new items in the game too including the fireball power-up, the tanooki tail which will help you swat passing racers, and the new Lucky 7 that is a seven-way mix of weapons like the shells both red and green, a blooper to ink foes, banana peel and and a star for invinciblity.

The graphics in the game look amazing, as you score your way to the finish, as well as collect coins while on course to help yopu unveil extras to help customize your karts. The control is strong as well, in the classic mode, but there is one small hiccup with the new first person perspective. While the concept is good, in that mode you can race with others using the gyro sensor from the 3DS and steer your kart by swaying your racer back and forth, like the Wii Wheel was in Mario Kart Wii. That can take a bit to get used to for new racers, but for veterans they can also choose to play in the classic way as well. The sound is strong as well, by bringing in the classic scores and musical elements of the distinctive classic courses like Mushroom Gorge, but overall it is the gameplay that is fun in both single play and especially multiplayer too. The multiplayer adds extras with the Streetpass, and online gameplay like Mario Kart Wii showed, as you and 7 other racers try to race your way to the finish line.

Overall, despite one small flaw, Mario Kart 7 is definitely a fast and furious game from start to finish, and it still is just as great for many gamers more than meets the eye. If you have enjoyed the chase that Mario Kart has brought before than you'll definitely love this Nintendo 3DS game. I definitely love this thrilling racer and it shows that some game franchises have never gotten old, they just have gotten better with age. It is definitely a must buy for your Nintendo 3DS that is sure to be a treat that many racers haven't been able to show for over 2 decades across the finish line. I absolutely recommend Mario Kart 7 from start to finish.

Graphics: A

Sound: A-

Control: A- for classic gamers; B for Nintendo 3DS gyro sensor

Fun & Enjoyment: A- for solo play: A for multiplayer

Overall: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not too late to play!, April 2, 2014
By 
Russell (Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
I don't know if they'll ever release Mario Kart 8 for the 3DS, but if you are holding back on this then you should definitely add this to your 3DS collection. Even though this was release a few years ago, this game is very enjoyable! I've been playing with the online community and my friends and it's totally worth my time. If you just got a DS lately or if you held back on it for awhile then you should give this a go. Mario Kart 7 is the best racing game on the 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Racing to Victory... On Cruise Control, December 5, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Every time Nintendo releases a new game you can always bet on them bringing over their core franchises. The one that seems to ruffle the most feathers and delight the most is always Mario Kart. The gameplay is often fun, simple and it's easy for just about anyone to pick up. It's also a series that has what can be considered a tried and true formula. Mario Kart has retained its familiar formula for two decades now and it's not going to stop here. If you've liked Mario Kart previously there's no reason not to really give the game a try.

As you'd expect, Mario Kart 7 is pretty easy to slip into. There are 32 courses in total and at least 16 of them are retro courses drawn from other Mario Kart releases. Most of them are pretty well designed, and those who love the older courses will be pleased to find some of the classics here. Some of them have changes to compliment some of Mario Kart 7's new mechanics. Each race has eight racers. There are also a ton of items to find and use as you race.

If there's one thing Mario Kart has always been criticized for and praised for it's the different assortment of items. Some familiar items that have been in Mario Kart forever return such as the mushrooms, stars and bananas. Some of the more recent items return as well such as the bullet bill. There are three new power ups to behold in Mario Kart 7. The first is the fire flower which will let your hurl fireballs at your opponents for a certain amount of time. There is also the Tanooki Leaf that gives you the Tanooki Tail to whack your enemies and finally there's the Lucky 7 which gives you seven power ups at once that you can use. Of the three new items the Lucky 7 is the most amusing of the batch. The fire flower seems as though it should've been a part of Mario Kart all along. The Tanooki Tail, however, is by far the least amusing of the new items here.

There is some degree of luck when it comes to winning, but there's more of a feeling that you're in control than the Wii variation where you could easily be bombarded with several items at once just seconds before the finish line. Here, that isn't likely to happen. You'll still find yourself hit by an item, but you won't find yourself bombarded too often in such a short period of time. The balancing here is better to the point that there is still a little luck, but your skill is actually important here as well.

There has been a lot made about the new addition to the vehicles. The glider and the propeller. One allows you to fly while the other allows you to traverse the water. For the most part, these additions don't really add much to the experience. It's amusing the first couple of times you do them, but you'll feel much more at home with your wheels planted firmly on the ground. They're not entirely useless. Gliding can, for example, give you an edge in some races. It's going underwater that more or less feels no different from being on the surface. So while they're certainly welcome additions, it doesn't really do a whole lot to enhance the experience.

You'll more or less experience much of what Mario Kart 7 has to offer within a couple of hours. Certainly there are 32 courses but you'll breeze through all of them rather quickly. You'll also unlock drivers and a mirror mode and different parts to your Kart. If anything the multiplayer is what is more likely to keep you coming back to Mario Kart 7. You can play locally with friends or online and both actually work out just fine. You can also get into coin battles and the balloon battles, which is pretty standard for Mario Kart now (and also much more fun with friends). There's also a Mario Kart channel just like there is for the Wii.

Visually, Mario Kart 7 is by far the best looking game the 3DS has at this point. There's a lot of detail put into it and it just looks smooth. The 3D also works out rather well, but chances are you won't actually need it to enjoy the game. It really gives players a sense of what's around the corner for the 3DS.

The only thing that really keeps Mario Kart 7 down is that it really isn't any different from the previous Mario Kart. Things have been slightly reworked and tweaked but there isn't much offered here that other Mario Kart games aren't already going to provide for you. The new courses are great but usually that's all you get. Aside from that, the experience of Mario Kart 7 isn't really all that different from the previous ones. It's not necessarily a bad thing. It means those who've loved Mario Kart don't have much reason not to try it. It makes for a decent game, but it sometimes walks a fine line between improving the series and becoming stale. Regardless, the game is still good on its own and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Great game for both kids and adults. Fun and challenging with high replay value for both single player as well as multiplayer

Online multiplayer works flawlessly. Local multiplayer is fantastic requiring only 1 person own the game which can be shared with other player's 3DS via local wifi.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to Mario Kart!, July 24, 2014
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Out of the way, every single racing game on the Nintendo 3DS, because Mario Kart's come to town! And in style too; the game has brought over a few new and returning elements to the series's traditionally insane kart-racing playing field! Mario and friends now have the ability to race underwater and inexplicably pack in gliders in their karts for when they need to take brief rides in the air. Coins are also making their way onto the tracks for the first time since Mario Kart Super Circuit (excluding the arcade installments). You can even do stunts like in Mario Kart Wii!

And with these features, the people at Nintendo have delivered yet another bunch of exciting new tracks! For example, Bowser now not only has a castle, but also a whole city dedicated to racing on. Wario also makes a contribution with a sunken ship of all things, and even Wuhu Island makes a guest appearance for this game! These new tracks are as fun to play as they always have been in every new Mario Kart, and they complement the newly implemented gliding and underwater driving finely.

That's not to say we should forget about this game's batch of returning tracks from previous installments gone by. In fact, they look downright beautiful this time around. Graphically, I personally believe the Nintendo 64 tracks benefit from the visual upgrade, but each track looks great in its own right. I also love having the opportunity to play a few of the Wii tracks on a handheld system. While this game may not carry over the half-pipe stunts from MKWii, though, the game does inject its new elements into the older courses featured here, allowing them to get a bit more of a fresh feel.

Do I really need to discuss the gameplay at this point? Of course not! It's freaking Mario Kart!! The kart-racing item-throwing gameplay has been as fun and frantic as it's always been! I will say, though, that it becomes all the crazier during online play, which has been thankfully carried over from Mario Kart Wii as well. Back in Mario Kart DS, what was given to you for online play was a limited selection of tracks, and only three other people can race you. Not the case here! You can have a full-on up-to-8-player race in one of all the available tracks of the game! It's madly addictive, and is one of the bigger reasons why I'd come back to playing this again, among others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARIO KART IS BACK, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Greatest game ever made on this earth. Screw flappy bird, this is where it's at. Stay Classy amazon customer. Out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough On Newbs!, December 9, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
I guess I've always been more of a traditional racer than a kart racer. To put it in perspective, I've really enjoyed the Wipeout series, Split Second, Need for Speed Hot Pursuit, Burnout 3, etc. As far as Mario Kart, the last game I played was on the Super Nintendo. Prior to Super Mario 3D Land (probably the best game on the system), my 3DS was gathering dust when my nephew wasn't banging it around or taking silly pictures of people for Face Raiders. Needless to say, it didn't take much convincing from my coworkers to pick up what sounded like a great game to follow up SM3DL with.

Positives:

+ Lots of courses. Yeah, I know some of these are repeats, but they're basically all new to me since I haven't played the other games in the series.
+ Super painless multiplayer options. Really easy to hook up with friends and play.
+ Nice presentation overall.

Negatives:

- I'm not kidding when I say that the game is tough on newbs. If you don't know all the tricks, the game can feel slow and frustrating as you rapidly fall back to 8th place and stay there.
- If you don't memorize the courses, you will lose repeatedly.
- Visual language inconsistencies. Some water is good. Other water is just decoration and will kill you if you try to navigate it. In some levels (especially the castle-looking levels), the difference in appearance between onroad and offroad areas (which slow the car down considerably) is incredibly slight.
- The 3D effect can be jarring if you play racing games with any sort of motion. For example, when I play console titles, I find myself slightly turning the controller in my hands as a I go around corners. If I do that on the 3DS, the 3D effect falls apart.

If you're not a long time Mario Kart player, you'll have to put in a lot of practice in order to compete. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but for somebody who just wants to jump in and have some fun, it didn't exactly deliver the experience I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great download play, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
It is great that you can play with up to 4 friends that don't even own the game with local multi-player. Great for LAN parties that may have some downtime. Game is fast and easy to setup with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The kids love this game, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Video Game)
Smaller children will be entertained by this game. They simply like playing this game and keeps them entertained for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mario Kart 7
Mario Kart 7 by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
$29.99 $29.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.