ACDelco Radiators & Heating Components Shop Men's Watches Cloud Drive Photos nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson belkin All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Beauty Videos Introducing Handmade Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer wdftv wdftv wdftv  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing STEM Toys & Games

Format: Video GameChange
Price:$29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on July 5, 2012
Here's another must-own for the 3DS, plus it's my most played on the handheld. Just like how I got Super Mario 3D Land, I got Mario Kart 7 the day it came out. If you love Mario Kart or if you're new to the series, this game is especially a must!

Just like the other Mario Kart games since Mario Kart DS, you can play this game on your own, with nearby people provided that they have 3DS's, or play online. I dig the fact that you can be able to customize your kart, as well as the ability to glide and drive underwater! I would also like to thank Nintendo for getting rid of the thunder cloud that plagued Mario Kart Wii, that thing was just really annoying... you also won't be able to see any fake power-up blocks either, yay! Instead, you'll see new power-ups which are the fire flower, the raccoon tail, and the lucky 7 (I only use that to use the star lol). But still, be prepared to get attacked by those too, that includes blue spiny shells, bullet bills, and bloopers! And each time you get a lot of coins, you'll be able to unlock kart parts. You will also be able to unlock hidden characters, as well as a 3-star rank when you do awesome in the grand prix mode.

The best part of Mario Kart 7 is the game's online mode. You are able to play in worldwide matches much like in Mario Kart Wii, but with an improved VR system that doesn't decrease by a lot for no reason! The only way to lose your VR is when you get last place, and you only lose 3 VR when that happens, which isn't much at all - that is much more fair than Mario Kart Wii's online! You are also able to race in communities and find people/friends you previously raced. There is also the Mario Kart Channel where it updates the time trial ghosts and the community list. The game also keeps track of your wins, losses, coins collected, etc. Plus you'll still be able to unlock remaining kart parts while you collect coins in the online mode too!

The only cons I have are the mii's voices, no actual way to ban whichever items you want while you make a community, not having the ability to create your own messages when you're in a community, and Toadette not being in the roster (I miss her!!!). Overall, the game is definitely chaotic, but you'll keep coming back for more action. Right next to Mario Kart Double Dash, this is my favorite entry in the Mario Kart series. Go get it right now!

Final Score - 9/10 - Awesome
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
105 of 131 people found the following review helpful
There is no question that Mario Kart is soon set to celebrate its 20th anniversary as one of the most acclaimed video game series for the Nintendo games. It has just been a non-stop fast & furious ride for Mario, Bowser and his friends from each angle. It has been on every system since the Super NES, and it hasn't seen the plumber and his friends and foes hit the brakes into the warp pipe even once. Still, there have been so many racing games that have tries to copy it and haven't succedded, or those who have been inspired by Mario and his friends race. Well whatever the case, Mario and his friends kept on evolving in the Mairo Kart games and they have never lost their luster. Now with the high-octane and mushroom speed, it is at it again for the Nintendo 3DS, and truthfully it is worth each and every race.

Mario Kart 7 really brings in the big guns for the Nintendo 3DS, where some of the other Nintendo 3DS games, have missed their mark with the launch of the system. Hard to believe it is the 7th racing game for Mario and his friends, and this time around it has continued to evolve well by bringing in a swift mix of the new and the old. Just like Mario Kart DS and MarioKart Wii, gamers will race 32 tracks that are both new and from Mario Kart's past. The game definitely looks amazing with some new wrinkles into the game, as you have new racers and new courses too like racing in the new Music Park, where hopping on each note and insturment will help you cross the finish line, Shy Guy Bazaar, where it is a Middle Eastern flavor available, as you and your fellow racers try and cross the starting gate, while trying to glide from rooftops, and classics as well like Luigi Raceway from Mario Kart 64 and the speed and mall-madness of the Coconut Mall from Mario Kart Wii.

Aside from the mix of old and new tracks as well, there are new racers that are here to challenge Mario, Yoshi and friends including Lakitu the cloud-dwelling and spiny tossing foe, Metal Mario (as a celebration to help celebrate the 15th anniversary of Super Mario 64,) Shy Guy and Wiggler to name a few. They bring a lot of new blood into the game, as well as new elements like customizing your karts with tires and gliders which will make you soar your way back to the asphault.You also can race underwater too, which will help you find shortcuts in the game, especially in redesigned courses like Koopa Trooopa Beach and new Cheep Cheep Lagoon. There are also a few new items in the game too including the fireball power-up, the tanooki tail which will help you swat passing racers, and the new Lucky 7 that is a seven-way mix of weapons like the shells both red and green, a blooper to ink foes, banana peel and and a star for invinciblity.

The graphics in the game look amazing, as you score your way to the finish, as well as collect coins while on course to help yopu unveil extras to help customize your karts. The control is strong as well, in the classic mode, but there is one small hiccup with the new first person perspective. While the concept is good, in that mode you can race with others using the gyro sensor from the 3DS and steer your kart by swaying your racer back and forth, like the Wii Wheel was in Mario Kart Wii. That can take a bit to get used to for new racers, but for veterans they can also choose to play in the classic way as well. The sound is strong as well, by bringing in the classic scores and musical elements of the distinctive classic courses like Mushroom Gorge, but overall it is the gameplay that is fun in both single play and especially multiplayer too. The multiplayer adds extras with the Streetpass, and online gameplay like Mario Kart Wii showed, as you and 7 other racers try to race your way to the finish line.

Overall, despite one small flaw, Mario Kart 7 is definitely a fast and furious game from start to finish, and it still is just as great for many gamers more than meets the eye. If you have enjoyed the chase that Mario Kart has brought before than you'll definitely love this Nintendo 3DS game. I definitely love this thrilling racer and it shows that some game franchises have never gotten old, they just have gotten better with age. It is definitely a must buy for your Nintendo 3DS that is sure to be a treat that many racers haven't been able to show for over 2 decades across the finish line. I absolutely recommend Mario Kart 7 from start to finish.

Graphics: A

Sound: A-

Control: A- for classic gamers; B for Nintendo 3DS gyro sensor

Fun & Enjoyment: A- for solo play: A for multiplayer

Overall: A-
1919 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2014
I don't know if they'll ever release Mario Kart 8 for the 3DS, but if you are holding back on this then you should definitely add this to your 3DS collection. Even though this was release a few years ago, this game is very enjoyable! I've been playing with the online community and my friends and it's totally worth my time. If you just got a DS lately or if you held back on it for awhile then you should give this a go. Mario Kart 7 is the best racing game on the 3DS.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Out of the way, every single racing game on the Nintendo 3DS, because Mario Kart's come to town! And in style too; the game has brought over a few new and returning elements to the series's traditionally insane kart-racing playing field! Mario and friends now have the ability to race underwater and inexplicably pack in gliders in their karts for when they need to take brief rides in the air. Coins are also making their way onto the tracks for the first time since Mario Kart Super Circuit (excluding the arcade installments). You can even do stunts like in Mario Kart Wii!

And with these features, the people at Nintendo have delivered yet another bunch of exciting new tracks! For example, Bowser now not only has a castle, but also a whole city dedicated to racing on. Wario also makes a contribution with a sunken ship of all things, and even Wuhu Island makes a guest appearance for this game! These new tracks are as fun to play as they always have been in every new Mario Kart, and they complement the newly implemented gliding and underwater driving finely.

That's not to say we should forget about this game's batch of returning tracks from previous installments gone by. In fact, they look downright beautiful this time around. Graphically, I personally believe the Nintendo 64 tracks benefit from the visual upgrade, but each track looks great in its own right. I also love having the opportunity to play a few of the Wii tracks on a handheld system. While this game may not carry over the half-pipe stunts from MKWii, though, the game does inject its new elements into the older courses featured here, allowing them to get a bit more of a fresh feel.

Do I really need to discuss the gameplay at this point? Of course not! It's freaking Mario Kart!! The kart-racing item-throwing gameplay has been as fun and frantic as it's always been! I will say, though, that it becomes all the crazier during online play, which has been thankfully carried over from Mario Kart Wii as well. Back in Mario Kart DS, what was given to you for online play was a limited selection of tracks, and only three other people can race you. Not the case here! You can have a full-on up-to-8-player race in one of all the available tracks of the game! It's madly addictive, and is one of the bigger reasons why I'd come back to playing this again, among others!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
40 of 55 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 5, 2011
Every time Nintendo releases a new game you can always bet on them bringing over their core franchises. The one that seems to ruffle the most feathers and delight the most is always Mario Kart. The gameplay is often fun, simple and it's easy for just about anyone to pick up. It's also a series that has what can be considered a tried and true formula. Mario Kart has retained its familiar formula for two decades now and it's not going to stop here. If you've liked Mario Kart previously there's no reason not to really give the game a try.

As you'd expect, Mario Kart 7 is pretty easy to slip into. There are 32 courses in total and at least 16 of them are retro courses drawn from other Mario Kart releases. Most of them are pretty well designed, and those who love the older courses will be pleased to find some of the classics here. Some of them have changes to compliment some of Mario Kart 7's new mechanics. Each race has eight racers. There are also a ton of items to find and use as you race.

If there's one thing Mario Kart has always been criticized for and praised for it's the different assortment of items. Some familiar items that have been in Mario Kart forever return such as the mushrooms, stars and bananas. Some of the more recent items return as well such as the bullet bill. There are three new power ups to behold in Mario Kart 7. The first is the fire flower which will let your hurl fireballs at your opponents for a certain amount of time. There is also the Tanooki Leaf that gives you the Tanooki Tail to whack your enemies and finally there's the Lucky 7 which gives you seven power ups at once that you can use. Of the three new items the Lucky 7 is the most amusing of the batch. The fire flower seems as though it should've been a part of Mario Kart all along. The Tanooki Tail, however, is by far the least amusing of the new items here.

There is some degree of luck when it comes to winning, but there's more of a feeling that you're in control than the Wii variation where you could easily be bombarded with several items at once just seconds before the finish line. Here, that isn't likely to happen. You'll still find yourself hit by an item, but you won't find yourself bombarded too often in such a short period of time. The balancing here is better to the point that there is still a little luck, but your skill is actually important here as well.

There has been a lot made about the new addition to the vehicles. The glider and the propeller. One allows you to fly while the other allows you to traverse the water. For the most part, these additions don't really add much to the experience. It's amusing the first couple of times you do them, but you'll feel much more at home with your wheels planted firmly on the ground. They're not entirely useless. Gliding can, for example, give you an edge in some races. It's going underwater that more or less feels no different from being on the surface. So while they're certainly welcome additions, it doesn't really do a whole lot to enhance the experience.

You'll more or less experience much of what Mario Kart 7 has to offer within a couple of hours. Certainly there are 32 courses but you'll breeze through all of them rather quickly. You'll also unlock drivers and a mirror mode and different parts to your Kart. If anything the multiplayer is what is more likely to keep you coming back to Mario Kart 7. You can play locally with friends or online and both actually work out just fine. You can also get into coin battles and the balloon battles, which is pretty standard for Mario Kart now (and also much more fun with friends). There's also a Mario Kart channel just like there is for the Wii.

Visually, Mario Kart 7 is by far the best looking game the 3DS has at this point. There's a lot of detail put into it and it just looks smooth. The 3D also works out rather well, but chances are you won't actually need it to enjoy the game. It really gives players a sense of what's around the corner for the 3DS.

The only thing that really keeps Mario Kart 7 down is that it really isn't any different from the previous Mario Kart. Things have been slightly reworked and tweaked but there isn't much offered here that other Mario Kart games aren't already going to provide for you. The new courses are great but usually that's all you get. Aside from that, the experience of Mario Kart 7 isn't really all that different from the previous ones. It's not necessarily a bad thing. It means those who've loved Mario Kart don't have much reason not to try it. It makes for a decent game, but it sometimes walks a fine line between improving the series and becoming stale. Regardless, the game is still good on its own and worth a look.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2014
Great game for both kids and adults. Fun and challenging with high replay value for both single player as well as multiplayer

Online multiplayer works flawlessly. Local multiplayer is fantastic requiring only 1 person own the game which can be shared with other player's 3DS via local wifi.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2015
Mario Kart 7 is a great racing game for the 3DS. The game brings a few new things to the series but keeps most of the classic elements that have made the Mario Kart series so good. The game also features a good variety of multiplayer modes, which are easily the best part of the game.

Mario Kart 7 brings a few new things to the table. First of all, you can now customize your kart. Instead of just picking the car you want to use as you could since the GameCube game, you now pick the base car, the wheels, and a glider. Each part changes the stats of your car in different ways. The glider is another new feature in the game. When you are flying through the air, your kart can glide allowing you to stay in the air for longer and control your landing somewhat. You can also drive underwater in certain tracks, which is a cool part of the game. Thankfully, they've removed the bikes from the Wii game, it's all karts. Another new mechanic is that coins appear on the stage that you can drive over to collect (you can have a max of 10 at once) similar to the GameBoy Advance game. However, unlike that game, the coins simply allow you to get to your maximum speed, you lose coins when you spin out, but not every time someone hits you and you don't spin out if you have no coins, which makes the coin mechanic actually fun, unlike the GameBoy game.

The tracks in Mario Kart 7 are pretty fun to race on. They have the standard 4 new cups and 4 retro cups of 4 tracks each. The new tracks really take advantage of the new features, and some of the retro tracks have slight tweaks to make them better suit the new game (such as the pipe in Koopa Cape from the Wii now being underwater). Most of the items from the Wii game are here, as well as a few new ones like the super leaf, which lets you deflect items for a certain amount of time.

The game has good and fairly simple controls. The control scheme is very similar to the DS game and the GameCube controller scheme from the Wii game. The circle pad helps add some precision in turns that was missing in the DS game. There is also an option for motion controls, though I found them to not be as good (but I also didn't like the Wii Wheel). Also, the motion controls keep you from being able to see the 3D effect (although the new 3DSXL should fix this).

The game modes are pretty much the same as the Wii game. There's Grand Prix for 1-2 players, where you race a cup and get a rating. This is how you beat the game, by clearing all the cups and unlocking everything. Time Trials, for 1 player, lets you race your own time, or other ghosts downloaded through SpotPass and StreetPass. Vs mode, 1-4 players, is the classic multiplayer race. Battle Mode, also 1-4 players, features Balloon Battle and Coin Runners. These modes are similar to the Wii game, and can be played individually or on teams. These take place on special battle stages. There are a few new ones and some classics. I still don't like the new Balloon Battle as much as the classic one where you were out once all balloons popped, but it's still fun. It's worth noting that Mario Kart 8 changes battle mode to be on the race tracks, which makes battle mode very hard to play and not near as fun, so unless Nintendo changes it back in the future, this is the last game with a good battle mode.

Local and Online Multiplayer are available. Local Multiplayer works with Download Play, so others don't have to own the game. However, those who don't own the game are limited to playing as Shy Guy with the standard kart. Online multiplayer is probably the best mode of the game, as it was in the Wii game. You can play vs and battle mode with friends or strangers and get a rating based on how well you do. There are also online groups that you can join that have special rules for games such as only certain items, which provide a nice twist sometimes, though they could have been done a lot better.

Overall, Mario Kart 7 is a great game, and one I would recommend for anyone who owns a 3DS.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
43 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on December 9, 2011
I guess I've always been more of a traditional racer than a kart racer. To put it in perspective, I've really enjoyed the Wipeout series, Split Second, Need for Speed Hot Pursuit, Burnout 3, etc. As far as Mario Kart, the last game I played was on the Super Nintendo. Prior to Super Mario 3D Land (probably the best game on the system), my 3DS was gathering dust when my nephew wasn't banging it around or taking silly pictures of people for Face Raiders. Needless to say, it didn't take much convincing from my coworkers to pick up what sounded like a great game to follow up SM3DL with.


+ Lots of courses. Yeah, I know some of these are repeats, but they're basically all new to me since I haven't played the other games in the series.
+ Super painless multiplayer options. Really easy to hook up with friends and play.
+ Nice presentation overall.


- I'm not kidding when I say that the game is tough on newbs. If you don't know all the tricks, the game can feel slow and frustrating as you rapidly fall back to 8th place and stay there.
- If you don't memorize the courses, you will lose repeatedly.
- Visual language inconsistencies. Some water is good. Other water is just decoration and will kill you if you try to navigate it. In some levels (especially the castle-looking levels), the difference in appearance between onroad and offroad areas (which slow the car down considerably) is incredibly slight.
- The 3D effect can be jarring if you play racing games with any sort of motion. For example, when I play console titles, I find myself slightly turning the controller in my hands as a I go around corners. If I do that on the 3DS, the 3D effect falls apart.

If you're not a long time Mario Kart player, you'll have to put in a lot of practice in order to compete. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but for somebody who just wants to jump in and have some fun, it didn't exactly deliver the experience I was hoping for.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2014
A new system means a new Mario Kart edition to Nintendo's arsenal of games. This iteration is decent but not "Magnificent" It contains retro racing tracks with new twist. Controller configuration will be easy to get use to if you have played previous versions of the game.

After reading all the raving reviews about this game, I was extremely anticipating greatness out of this game. When I started playing this game, it was somewhat disappointing. Yes it has pretty good graphics, but it seems all the same. The multiplayer options are not so great and the download to play support is very disappointing. The person who download and play does not get the option to choose their own vehicle nor their own player. They are defaulted to being "Shy Guy" with the standard racing go kart.
Download and play allows you to use one cartridge and play:
+Grand Prix Racing
+Coin minigame
+Gliders allow you to glide through the air
+Underwater driving

+Download play is available
+use the gyroscope controls in first person (Press up on D-pad to activate "down" to deactivate")
+New items Tanooki Tail wacks nearby opponents, Fire flower throws fireballs, Lucky 7 gives your seven items banana, red/green shells, star etc.
+3D effect is done well
+Gameplay becomes extremely repetitive
+Download play features are very limited. IF you buy multiple game cartridges, problem would be solved
+Game seems basically the same as previous versions.
+Balloon battle courses are not that great

Would I recommend this for others?
Yes if you like the Mario Kart franchise. If you have another copy of Mario Kart for the Wii or for the Regular DS, I would not recommend this game. It's too repetitive.

Personally, I find more amusement in Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 6, 2012
I had no idea that the series has had this many installments, and I'm pretty sure I've played them all...

Anyway! The series needs little explanation. It's the grandaddy kart racing game, featuring an assortment of Mario characters and fun/frustrating items that make it so you never really know who is going to get 1st place. This iteration has a few new things going for it:

-3 new items: The fire flower (devastatingly powerful), The super leaf (decent for offense AND defence), and the lucky 7 (7 other power-ups surround your kart...ridiculous). The first 2 I listed are great, I feel like they fit right in. The lucky 7, however, seems too chaotic. I actually prefer not getting that power-up, because I feel it's distracting for the person who has it.
-Racing through the sky and underwater: Portions of certain tracks may have hangliding sections, or the karts may go underwater and a lil' propeller helps move through the water. Pretty neat, but kind of superfluous. When it opens up alternate paths I think it's great, but racing underwater feels very similar to racing on land. Hangliding is fun, and my favorite moment in the game was soaring through the air for the 1st time in 3d.
-Kart customization: You can choose different body, wheel, and hanglider types to create a vehicle that suits you best. I hated this at 1st. You're prompted to cycle through the kart pieces before every race and unlocking kart pieces isn't as satisfying as unlocking karts. But it's grown on me. I've been using the Koopa Clown Car and experimenting with different wheel types.
-You collect coins during the races again! The game keeps track of your total and the more you have the more stuff you unlock. Also, having 10 coins during a race gives you a small speed boost - I'm glad they brought this back!

The game features the same 50cc to 150cc races, time trials, battle modes, and online multiplayer found in its predecessor Mario Kart Wii. All of which is just as functional as it has always been. There are no missions (something you may miss if you enjoyed the regular DS version) and tricks have changed slightly (you bunny hop at the right time to get a small boost). But it's all pretty solid.

My personal opinion of the game is positive, but a little resentful. I've been with the series since Super Mario Kart (Super Nintendo) and I'm getting burnt. If you've played, or still own, Mario Kart DS or Wii you may want to pass on this one. It's just as fun and functional as those versions, but you have to be able to appreciate the little things. Mario Kart is a game where little changes can make a big difference.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 41 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
New Super Mario Bros. 2
New Super Mario Bros. 2 by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)

Super Smash Bros. - Nintendo 3DS
Super Smash Bros. - Nintendo 3DS by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)

Super Mario 3D Land
Super Mario 3D Land by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.