Customer Reviews


493 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the whole family...and probably the kids too!
My brother received a Gamecube (it came with this game only) for Christmas. He's in his thirties. I'm almost in my thirties. And I'm the youngest. There were six adults at our family get-together this past Christmas. There were no children. But all of us got the biggest kick out of this game. I don't even usually like racing games, and I loved it! I almost never...
Published on January 18, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Alright...
Mario Kart won't survive another videogame generation if Nintendo waits another 7 years to make a sequel. Famously, at E3 when they were still introducing the gamecube, Nintendo showed charts displaying how game sequels were just perpetuating old ideas, like anyone minds. The big N's idea for the GC Mario Kart was to give them two riders. The difficulty on 50cc is...
Published on January 19, 2004 by D.N.


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the whole family...and probably the kids too!, January 18, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "Shelf-Help" (Brownwood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
My brother received a Gamecube (it came with this game only) for Christmas. He's in his thirties. I'm almost in my thirties. And I'm the youngest. There were six adults at our family get-together this past Christmas. There were no children. But all of us got the biggest kick out of this game. I don't even usually like racing games, and I loved it! I almost never play console games (only computer games), and I couldn't get enough of it.

This game is easy enough that anyone can enjoy it and still presents enough difficulties not to make it boring. That is a balance which very few games ever achieve. If you own a Gamecube, this is definitely for you. If you don't own a Gamecube, this game could potentially make you want to purchase one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great new addition to this excellent series, January 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
The people at Nintendo have really outdone themselves this time. I have always been a big fan of the Mario Kart series, and each release has been better than the last. This is no exception. Mario Kart Double Dash includes all of the classic elements that made the Super NES and N64 versions so much fun--wacky cast of characters, cool weapons, intense battle mode, very enjoyable Grand Prix mode--and yet manages to improve in almost every aspect of the game.
The new Karts, which hold two people, are a great new feature. Not only does this allow two players to team up together, it also allows four people to play in Grand Prix mode, something that was not available on the N64. In addition, each character has a unique weapon, which adds variety to the game. With many characters to choose from, and a large assortment of unlockable karts, levels, and characters, Mario Kart Double Dash also has a greater potential for extended game play than any of its predecessors.
The graphics are stunning, and the commentary by the characters enjoyable. It is entertaining to work on various combinations of characters, and try to pick out a kart suited for them. The game is difficult, but not so difficult that you have to dedicate your life to playing it. As always, the battle mode contains unlimited possibilities in the way of kart mayhem. In short, this is an excellent game, worthwhile in every way. With this game, Nintendo continues its tradition of excellent, unique games, and provides yet one more reason why the GameCube is a great choice for a system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Addiction is bad!, August 10, 2004
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
I agree with the kid that said this was "Hands down the best racing game ever!". It's more than a racing game, it's an all out road war. If the other racers don't get you the obstacles on each track will. Mushroom Kingdoms favorite foes like Goomba's, Piranha Plant's, Pokey's and many more are waiting around every turn. There are a number of weapons that you can put to use againist your opponents.. like turtle shells, bombs, banana peels, large spiked King Koopa shells, fire, explosive boxes and more. There are also mushrooms that give you that extra boost of speed that can sometimes help you win the race at the last minute. Not to mention the famous speed boosters that are on each track. The tracks are great, they're "Super Mario Sunshine" themed. I recommend that game highly as well. There are some tracks that are not "Sunshine" themed however. I recall one track that traffics regular and not-so regular vehicles, these cars and trucks will slow you down if you don't stay clear of them. I did notice some people say this game isn't much more advanced than "Mario Kart 64", don't believe such bologna. This game blows "Mario Kart 64" out of the water. Just in case you haven't played this yet, you may wanna know where the subtitle "Double Dash" comes from. That's simple you are able to choose two characters that race together. The combination is up to you. For instance you can team Mario with Bowser if you like, or you can be traditional and put the Mario Bros. together. My choice last time I played was Koopa and Wario. An odd team but that gives you an idea of your options. One character drives while the other is equip with an array of weapons (mentioned above), with the press of a button they are able to switch jobs. There are unlockable characters and tracks, but you do start off with a wide variety. Bottomline is, I really believe you won't find a better racing game. It's not Nascar and there's not a woman in a bikini that waves a checked flag, but I recommend it fully based on hundreds of hours in replay value, beautiful graphics, user friendly controls, and Nintendo's timeless characters that I always seem to fiend for more of. "MARIO KART DOUBLE DASH" IS A GREAT GAME TO ADD TO YOUR GAMECUBE INVENTORY. 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You take the wheel,I'm riding shotgun!, October 16, 2003
By 
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
This game is the best Mario Kart in the series.From its colorful 3D graphics to its awsome multi player features.This game's got all you want in a racing game.
The biggest change is that you can have 2 players in a kart at the same time and choose the car you want.Each pair of players has a special item that only the two of them can use like Yoshi and Birdo's egg or Baby Mario and Baby Luigi's giant chain chomp.
The characters that you can use are as follows:Mario, Luigi, Peach, Daisy, Yoshi, Birdo, Baby Mario, Baby Luigi, Koopa, Paratroopa, Bowser, Bowser Jr., Wario, Waluigi, Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong and the unlockables:Toad, Toadette, King Boo and Petey Piranah.
One of the coolest new features is the unlockables.You can unlock different coarses, characters and cars.This adds a brand new twist to the series.
The coarses are amazing.Travel through sandy beaches,dry deserts,rainforests and a lot more.Beautiful 3d graphics create the awsome scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Gamecube Game Ever, December 8, 2005
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
This game is so much fun. I'm a 35 year old guy. My wife is 29 and hates video games. Everyone in our family has a ball playing this game. My mother-in-law even loves it. I'm telling you, this is a deserted island game. Any game you can have on a deserted island? Pick this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why You Bought a GameCube..... To Play This, November 17, 2003
By 
craig herbert (Bedford, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
i had been waitong to play this game for well over a year( since i heard it was in the making) and november the 14th, my dream had come true. The garphics are superb, with great character modeling and great looking tracks. the noticeable thing about the driving is that the steering of the Karts has been made very slow to respond, but works brilliantly.My first impressions after playing this game was that is seemed rarther slow and very very easy, seeming to chug along(50cc mode)i won the mushroom cup with ease, but my worries were soon thrown in the bin once i stepped up to 150cc, i got absolutely hammered in the championship and was very happy with that .... i hav completed the game now and unlocked everything (you unlock something every time you win a chapionship( unlockables include new carts, battle mode arenas, two characters who i will no say, and a new 'all cup tour',( you play all of the tracks randomely in one go), and look forward to gaming with my mates on the good old battle mode.
i wouldn't buy this game if you arent someone who likes multiplayer gaming, the 1p mode can be completed in 2 or 3 hours, but other wise..... GET THIS...GAME IT ROCKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Start The Warp Pipe Engines!!, December 1, 2003
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
It is just so amazing when it really comes to video games these days. When I decided to purchase a new video game system, I had a very difficult time in knowing which system to buy. I could've bought the Xbox or Playstation 2, largely because of the value of games they've each came up with. Instead, I felt it was a wiser move to purchase the Gamecube from Nintendo. I think it was a much wiser mover, because it was easier to drag around, and because of the games that were available for it. One of them, really reminds me so well of a classic. Mario Kart has been considered as one of the Top 5 racing games of all time, accoriding to the Nickelodeon GAS show Play 2 Z. When I got to play this one, I thought it was much fiercer than ever before.
Mario Kart: Double Dash!!, is the first Mario Kart release to really have a massive impact, since Mario Kart 64 back in 1997. The game takes on a true new light, as not one, but 2 different characters range with special weapons, and much more difficult tracks than the previous Mario Kart. The graphics really stand out on all the tracks as a premium that Gamecube has brought for about the past few years, and the game has more than ever. The game has the exact same number of courses and surprises that was in the previous one, but the oponents are tougher and make your road to #1 a lot harder. I also have to admit, the idea of swapping the team during the middle of the race also makes the pace a lot harder to go around, and the carts are definitely cute to fierce, depending on the status of your driving. I also like the idea of the internet device that can be used to add to the mayhem of Mario Kart. It just makes the game a lot more exciting, considering that just came out recently too. The game stands out a whole lot more than other racers at this time, largely because other racing games are exactly just the same these days.
This is the very first game I've ever purchased for the Gamecube, since I bought the game system just recently too. I don't know how many people may enjoy the new Mario Kart: Double Dash!! as much as I am. Whatever the case is, Nintendo should really consider making a sequel very, very soon. This race cannot be stopped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a solid, fun game- but its a rehash, November 27, 2003
By 
Dave (West Grove, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
My friend brought his GameCube over my house recently and we rented Mario Kart: Double Dash. Having previously owned a N64 and Mario Kart 64, and loving it, I was expecting a good, fun game and a quality sequel. Well, I was right, and I was wrong.
Double Dash!! has a number of new features, such as two characters per cart. Two characters per cart means one is driving and the other handles the weapons or other goodies you pickup. This also creates a number of new things:
1) since different characters have different weights, it affects which carts you can choose, since the cart has to be big enough to fit the bigger of the two. This makes it so bigger carts might have a higher top speed, but accelerate slower or handle looser, ect.
2) it allows you to switch between characters, so if you're playing with two people on one cart, you can switch drivers, ect.
Some other new features are the ability to "power steer" into turns. This makes you loose the ablity to move around sharply, but slows you down and lets you hug the turn better, so you don't go flying off the road. Also unfortunately the hop was taken out, probably due to power steering being added.
Double Dash has the same number of cups, and the same number of levels per cup, so theres still 16 levels, which is pretty good, but a lot of them are rehashes of old courses. For instance, theres a desert course, ice course, beach course, castle course, rainbow course, and other ones. These were all basic course designs in MK64, but there are some new ones, like a cruise ship.
DD has new LAN multiplayer features, so you can play over a non-internet ethernet network. The game is popular at colleges since you just plug into the college LAN and game away. Its a cool little feature but online play should have definitely been included.
The problem with DD is it feels like a rehash. It plays just like MK64, and it seems like little has been done to make it more like a sequel. The courses are too similar, I was disappointed with the lack of very many new drivers (theres only a few new, I was expecting a lot), and I think there should have maybe been an extra cup added at the end to make it even more interesting. Don't get me wrong, its still a fun game, and I will probably buy a GC soon and pick up a copy, but as a sequel I think it fails. I give this game 4.5 stars. Just my two cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could anyone ever think this is bad?!? IT ROCKS!, February 8, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
What a game! Where do I start? Well, let's see. You can choose from SO MANY STINKIN' CHARACTERS! You can choose Mario, Luigi, Baby Mario, Baby Luigi, Koopa, Paratroopa, Diddy Kong, Baby Bowser, Waluigi, Yoshi, Birdo, Peach, Daisy, Bowser, Donkey Kong, and Wario, plus you can unlock 4 more characters you can unlock, Toad, Toadette, Petey Piranha, and King Boo. Also you pair up two characters so that you can create a winning duo. Each set pair (ex: Mario & Luigi, Petey Piranha & King Boo) has their own car to start with, but as you progress, you eventually unlock a kart for every character! It's extremely cool, because you can choose any kart you want for any character, but only if the kart fits the heavier character's weight class. It means that if you pair up two light characters, you can ride in a light kart. If you pair up a light and a medium or a medium and a meduim, you can ride in a medium kart. If you pair up a light and a heavy, a medium and a heavy, or a heavy and a heavy, you can ride in a heavy kart. The courses range from begginer course like Baby Park and Luigi Raceway to advanced courses like Dino Dino Island and Rainbow Road. You can also unlock a bonus cup, the Special Cup and the All-Cup Tour, a championship that takes you across the country ina frantic 16-race Grand Prix. And the multiplayer is sweet! If you want to, up to four players can drive alone controlling both racers in the kart. Or you can team up, one driving and one taking shotgun. Each character pairing also has a unique special item only them can pick up. If four player team up into two karts, you can race 4-player Grand Prix! FINALLY! WHOO-HOO! The multiplayer battle mode is the only thing that lacks a little, although that is much more entertaining than recent battles. Instead of just a baloon battle, you can also play Shine Thief where you chase a Shine Sprite until someone drives into it and the timer starts. Then other players attack the player in possesion of the Shine with items so they drop it. As soon as someone picks it up the chase begins again. Whoever is in possession of the Shine when the timer stops wins. Or you can play Bomb-omb Battle, where the only item boxes available contain Waluigi and Wario's special item, the Bob-omb, and you have to blow up the opposing characters a pre-determined number of times to win. You start with four somewhat interesting courses, but you can unlock two much more interesting courses, Luigi's Mansion and the Tilt-a-Kart stage.
Graphics: 7/10: Not stunning, but cartoonish in spots (but isn't that what Mario is supposed to look like?)
Gameplay: 10/10: Pretty easy to master, very fun.
Replay Value: 10/10: It's always fun to try new character pairings on different courses.
Multiplayer: 10/10: Friends and I have a blast playing this.
Overall: 9.25 of 10: That score is technically correct if you do the math based off of every other catagories scores, but I'd give it a ten anyway. BUY THIS GAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo gets this one right! Mario Kart a must buy!, January 15, 2004
By 
Christopher Reed (Mansfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Kart: Double Dash (Video Game)
I recommend this game highly for every GameCube owner. The game is easily one of the best racing (and for that matter, any game) ever. If you don't know by reading other reviews, websites, etc., the basic premise is simple. Race a variety of Nintendo game inspired courses with a slew of old nintendo characters (Mario, Luigi, Princess, Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong, Birdo, Yoshi, Toad, Toadette, Wario, Waluigi, Piranha Pete, King Book, Baby Mario, Baby Luigi, Daisy (easily the most annoying character...), Bowser, and Baby Bowser.
The game is amazing (NO LOAD TIMES, which is great), but is best enjoyed as a multiplayer game. Racing, battle mode (3 different versions), and time trials round out the majority of the options.
BOTTOM LINE:
(9.3 out of 10)
This game is fun, but the true challenge lies in multiplayer. It won't take long to unlock everything (which requires beating everything). The computer A.I. is decent, but not overly challenging once you get used to the controls (roughly 30 min - 2 hour learning curve.) I highly recommend this game to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mario Kart: Double Dash
Mario Kart: Double Dash by Nintendo (GameCube)
Used & New from: $41.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.