Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let the Games Begin
Another winner for Nintendo DS lovers. Using the same high quality 3D animation used on Mario Kart DS, Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games is packed with action. There are two teams, but the question is what are the teams? The title suggests Mario characters vs Sonic characters. The instruction book seems to suggest hero characters vs villain characters. Bottom line...it...
Published on March 23, 2008 by N. C. Weber

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars extremly disappointing.
When I got this game for the Wii, I totally fell in love with it. so when I heared it came out for the DS, I was like "OMG! I must have!". so I got it, but it turned out to be no fun at all. For one thing, the game was impossible. the events are WAY too hard. 2, it was really weird how you did the events. Like table tennis,for example. you couldn't beat table tennis...
Published on February 17, 2008


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let the Games Begin, March 23, 2008
By 
N. C. Weber (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Another winner for Nintendo DS lovers. Using the same high quality 3D animation used on Mario Kart DS, Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games is packed with action. There are two teams, but the question is what are the teams? The title suggests Mario characters vs Sonic characters. The instruction book seems to suggest hero characters vs villain characters. Bottom line...it doesn't matter. The whole point is to do your best in the events no matter which character you choose.

The characters are:

From the Mushroom Kingdom:
Mario, Luigi, Peach, Daisy, Yoshi, Wario, Waluigi, and Bowser.

From Mobius:
Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy, Shadow, Blaze, Vector, and Dr. Eggman.

The selection of events is impressive.
100m Dash, 400m Dash, 400m Hurdles, Long Jump, Triple Jump, Javelin Throw, Hammer Throw, 100m Freestyle Swim, 10m Platform Dive, Trampoline, Vault, Archery, Table Tennis, Fencing, Skeet Shooting, and Cycling. Plus, there are several special mini-games you can unlock.

So far, I kick butt in Archery, Javelin and Trampoline. I really suck at Skeet Shooting. It takes speed that I haven't yet developed. Also, the cycling has some complex controls I have yet to master, but I shall! I'm so-so at Table Tennis (Ping-Pong to us old timers), but watching those super charged finishing moves is always a blast. It's nice that some games are difficult to master. No point in making everything too easy.

Bottom line, this game rocks. Definitely a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let The Games Begin, October 11, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Sadly, I don't even know who placed first overall in the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Luckily, I've got a copy of Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games to experience the excitement all over again for myself.

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games (MS@OG from here on out) has many events in several sport types including athletics, aquatics, gymnastics, archery, table tennis, fencing, shooting and cycling. There are also "Dream Events" which are all locked at the beginning of the game which put fantastic spins on traditional events. The game encompasses most of the Olympic disciplines and you will see familiar events such as the long jump, table tennis and basketball. Although some of the events are a little less typical, they are all Olympic events.

And what fun is it to play these events as one of your favourite video game heroes or his friends. Sonic and Mario bring along their pals so you can kick butt as Luigi or Tails, Dr Eggman or Bowser, Princess Peach or Amy. In all, there are 16 characters divided by type (power, all-around, speed and skill) to choose from and everyone will have his favourite.

There are 3 standards modes of playing for single player in MS@OG: single match, circuit and mission. As the name implies, you can choose any single match in any sport with any character in "single match." Most events consist of 3 rounds and your scores are either added or averaged to determine the winner and the top 3 competitors earn a bronze, silver or gold medal.

There are 3 circuit classes - Beginner's, Advanced and Master's - each containing 5 circuits made up of several events from different sports. The circuits involve a special opportunity to win called the "Circuit Chance" which will double the points you earn in 1 chosen event. Contestants earn up to 10 points each match which are added to all the match points to determine the winner of the circuit, who earns a trophy.

There is also a "Free Circuit" where you can choose the individual events or have the game select random events.

Each character has 5 missions, not all of which are unlocked to begin with. Completing all 5 regular missions unlocks a 6th final mission which is usually a dream event. Missions require you to complete certain events with certain criteria like within a certain time frame, without being hurt or scored against, with a certain score, with a handicap or before another character.

Gameplay is done mostly with the touch screen and stylus, making good use of the DS features, although a few buttons are used. Many of the events involved running which means rubbing the stylus back and forth quickly; this can soon tire your arm. There are some unique elements particular to the DS, such as making sound to increase your score. During some events, like the long jump, 'clapping' (I tap the mic with my stylus) into the microphone encourages your character to do better. For the hammer throw, making a sound at the right time increases your throw.

You can also expect to trace a lot of shapes (Trampoline, 100M Swim) as well as push certain button combinations (Platform, Table Tennis)

Gameplay can become a bit tedious, especially when it comes to a lot of racing or long races like the 400M race. I also find that the biking uses a lot of button mashing rather than calculated moves. It's definitely a good idea to do a variety of events so that you don't become bored or exhausted of any one. However, very few events are so tedious; most of them make better use of the controls.

MS@OG also makes good use of the dual screen by generally displaying information on the top screen, allowing the touch screen to be used completely for game viewing or settings/menu selections. In some events, like Table Tennis, the opposite screen is even used to display the character, allowing the view to be even larger.

One thing that I find unique about MS@OG is that it shows the actual World and Olympic records for events and, if you happen to beat those records in game, it tells you and updates them. Your scores can be submitted online through a WiFi connection.

And if you want to play with a friend or more, you can do that, too. MS@OG has Versus Play, like other DS Games. You can create a group with local friends via Download Play or play with others across the world via Wireless Play. There appears to be only a limited version of Download Play regardless of whether the other player has the game which is a bit disappointing. However, unlocking all the events expands the available games.

Of course, all your medals and trophies are stored in your Collection in your records. Here you can see medals by character (for individual events), trophies (earned in circuits), emblems (special accomplishments you unlocked during play such as winning an event without letting your opponent score or completing all of a character's missions, and points and crowns (earning gold medals in all events for a character).

MS@OG also contains a gallery which lets you play minigames and learn about the history of the Olympics. As you complete the minigames, you earn rewards in the form of songs to play in the Gallery Jukebox.

Although some of the events differ in almost no way from actual Olympic events, MS@OG manages to still bring a unique flavour to their game. The dream events really add something new to the Olympics, taking events to a whole other level bye eliminating the laws of physics, gravity and even reason. ;) Although generally harder than the regular events, they are often more fun as well. They've even managed to add a bit of Mario Kart with the dream race, where you can use items to aid you.

Overall, my favourite events are 10m Platform (swimming), Trampoline and Vault (Gymnastics), Table Tennis, Fencing, Dream Long Jump, Dream Fencing and Dream Basketball. All except 10m Platform and Table Tennis require use of the stylus and most of which also use the buttons.

In terms of difficulty, MS@OG does not require much of you, which is why it's a great game for kids of any age. Although it make take some time to get used to the controls, it's likely that there will come a time when you are always scoring a medal or trophy.

Overall, Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games is a fun game which creatively uses the DS as a system. Although it would be nice if there was a more extensive option to play with your friends besides only Download Play and some of the events are a bit tedious, it offers a lot of variety and lovable characters so that you can compete at the Olympics in your own home and experience the Olympics for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, February 18, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I think this game is a lot of fun! There are lots of different olympic events like swimming, track and field, cycling, and table tennis just to name a few. The events are very realistic to real olympic events. You get to compete for medals and be any character that you want! There are also eight dream events that you have to try to unlock. That is the one problem I have found with this game. The dream events are very hard to unlock. I have unlocked some of them, but I have tried everything I can think of to unlock the others but nothing seems to work. But overall, this is a fun game and definately worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game for the DS, December 28, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I received this as a gift and in only 3 days, I am addicted. Some of the sports are challenging to play, and certain characters are out of place (such as Tails trying to throw the hammer), but that is what I like about this. Enough parts are easy to keep from being frustrated but challenging enough so that it is not boring. A very nice touch is the gallery in which there are challenges to meet on 5 different levels, which also give Olympic triva lessons. No matter your skill level or your interest, you should find something you like to do with this game. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for ages 12 and up, January 9, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I bought this game for myself but thought it would be okay for my two children to play, ages 7 & 6. I love the game although there are many steps, controls, and actions, etc to remember. It's really not age appropriate for younger children under 12 because of this reason. Any adult or older child would have fun playing it though. There are many different modes to play it in and the game is very challenging. You use all the buttons and your stylus for the game, sometimes separately and sometimes together. I'd recommend it to anyone who is a Mario or Sonic fan or anyone looking for a game that has a few challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's SEGA Vs the Mario Team in a shootout on the DS!, December 29, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I bought this game yesterday for my new DS Lite, and I found that some games are easy as pie, and some hard as a stone. Here are some of the Olympic Sports Featured(Some Feautered In my opinion difficulty):

- Swimming(Medium)
- Track and Field(Hard)
- Diving
- Fencing(Medium)
- Table Tennis(Medium)
- Trampoline
- Hurdles
- Triple Jump
- Javelin
- Archery( Easy)
- and many more!

I've only played the single game, but so far it's not really Sonic(SEGA) Vs. Mario(Nintendo). I very well be in the cup mode which I haven't played yet though.You can also play loads and loads of mini games, see your records, and can play muliplayer as well from up to 4 players. I would say almost all ages. 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is nice,, April 23, 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I like mario and sonic so this game was a must have for me. I bought the wii version and got this for my birthday. I love both! (The wii more.) More this game is awesome there are so many characters and the events are awesome! i like all the events im good at aquatics, athletics and archery. gymnastics though are REALLY hard especially vault.
bottom line this game is awesome if u like the olympics, mario, sonic, or sports this game is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars extremly disappointing., February 17, 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
When I got this game for the Wii, I totally fell in love with it. so when I heared it came out for the DS, I was like "OMG! I must have!". so I got it, but it turned out to be no fun at all. For one thing, the game was impossible. the events are WAY too hard. 2, it was really weird how you did the events. Like table tennis,for example. you couldn't beat table tennis because the controls were so confusing. also, the graphics are horrible. I guess my point is THIS GAME IS NOT WORTH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Olympic Fun - Recommended!, December 22, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My 12 year old son found "Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games" to be a very fun and engaging collection of sporting games, including both actual and "dream" events. He makes the following observations:

Graphics: Great, they really enhance the game play
Controls: Different for each game, but easy to master
Playability: Great
Re-Playability: Great

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, October 16, 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game has all the bling of a good NDS title with plenty of colorful graphics and good and fun gameplay. Some of the sports are a little boring in my opinion (i.e. the trampoline) but others are rather challenging (shooting, hammer throw etc). Its a great multiplayer title and the World records listing will show who is king! Well worth it. Good fun for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS
Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games - Nintendo DS by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo DS)
$58.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.