Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylized Stealth Action
I had heard quite a bit about this game in articles and reviews, I was not disappointed. This game takes stealth gameplay to another level. Unlike other games in which stealth is just one aspect, you can expect to die in MotN if you are detected. The kills are brutal, the art is sick, and the voice acting is pretty good. Quick download through Steam, also works...
Published 24 months ago by CalmKakashi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall great 2d Stealth game
Trouble Running on Windows 7, but great game bar any minor technical problems. Definite buy for any stealth game fanatics.
Published 18 months ago by Tyler Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylized Stealth Action, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I had heard quite a bit about this game in articles and reviews, I was not disappointed. This game takes stealth gameplay to another level. Unlike other games in which stealth is just one aspect, you can expect to die in MotN if you are detected. The kills are brutal, the art is sick, and the voice acting is pretty good. Quick download through Steam, also works wonderfully with Big Picture (full xb360 controller support). Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new stealth game benchmark, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I played through the normal game and I'm currently on a New Game +.
I can definitively say this is the BEST stealth game I've played. Period.
I used to judge all stealth games against Tenchu 1 & 3, Thief, and Deus ex. Mark of the Ninja excels in every way and is my new standard.

It's highly recommended to use a gamepad (the Xbox 360 controller feels perfect for this game; smooth and responsive)
In no time you'll be easily pulling off some really cool moves and feel like a badass ninja.

Stealth kills, puzzle rooms, manipulating guards with sound, line of sight, thrown traps, along with lots of ways to play. This game has it all.
The best part is unlike most stealth games where there's one "correct" solution to get past a segment of the level, they have the locations setup for all sorts of solutions. You can play the game entirely without being seen, go for fear and scare your victims by hanging bodies and terrifying them, or go pacifist and not kill anyone the entire game.
With different costumes that change how the game plays, choosing which distraction tools and deadly traps to use, there's plenty of replay value.

On top of all that, after you've completed the game go for the "New Game +" which changes the locations of the guards and makes it more difficult, making it an entirely different game on the second run.
Can't recommend highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best stealth game i have ever played, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The story is just long enough.
The combat system really makes you want to use stealth
The stealth is extremely rewarding if you do it correctly
Multiple paths to victory really rewards you for exploring all your options.

Overall best stealth game i have played, and it's a 2D game, who would guess?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best stealth games ever made, February 6, 2013
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Stealth games are hard to do right, but Mark of the Ninja makes it look easy. Quite simply, Mark of the Ninja is not only the best pure stealth games to be released in many years, but is also a strong statement that small developers (many, many kudos to Klei Entertainment, the creators of this game) are more than capable of outdoing their bigger peers with significantly larger budgets and greater resources. By focusing their attention to strong, responsive gameplay and incorporating innovative mechanics to a genre that seems very much set in its ways, Klei's Mark of the Ninja is a triumph.

Mark of the Ninja is a 2D side scroller where you play as a ninja attempting to save the destruction of his clan. Where as so many stealth games give the player significant power/advantages over their enemies, Mark of the Ninja smartly handicaps the player as well, making him/her have to exercise patience in order to analyze the environment and be strategic in planning ways to get from point A to point B. If you want to clearly see an enemy's path, you must pay close attention to the sound coming from their footsteps, or risk being seen by peeking up through the vent or around the door. Likewise, you must be mindful of all times of not only your enemy's field of vision, but also how much sound your activities emit. The game very clearly measures all these variables for the gamer to see, so nothing ever feels unfair. As you move through the game, you gain access to different weapons, distraction items, and even various ninja suits that match different play styles. The better you perform in the game, the higher your score is, which in turn gives you more points to spend on these upgrades. The levels, while being generally linear, offer multiple ways through, and give a fantastic sense of freedom that makes the stealth even more enjoyable. Stealth kills are incredibly satisfying and easy to pull off, provided you have positioned yourself appropriately without attracting too much attention. What is equally astounding is that being non-lethal is just as fulfilling and equally as challenging. The game gives you plenty of ways to distract enemies, shadows to hide in, and alternate routes to take.

All of this is tied together by one of the best-playing games I've ever experienced. Whether you're jumping, grappling, climbing, dangling, or stalking, your ninja is a natural extension of your fingertips. For the wide variety of ways you can play the game, solid controls were necessary for versatility, but Mark of the Ninja makes it look effortless. Your ninja skills are hampered only by your own ability, and moving the ninja through the shadows as you plan attacks, hide bodies, and discover secrets in the most remote corners of the map is an exhilarating experience. Couple this together with superb visuals, a great soundtrack, an easy-to-follow map, and easy, clear upgrade interfaces, and Mark of the Ninja is not only one of the greatest stealth entries we've seen in a long time, but also one of the top games of 2012 and one of the best indie games I've seen. This is a can't miss title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick game, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Ninja Gaiden + Metal Gear Solid in a 2d side scroller.

gameplay: fun

replayability: high

I use my PS3 remote to play this game... keyboard and mouse is playable but a bit weird imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't played this, do!, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is great. If you are a fan of side-scroll games AT ALL, or even just curious about them, this game is a good one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much the perfect 2D stealth game, April 13, 2014
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I bought this in a bundle here on Amazon and I was so glad I did. This game really does everything right. The stealth aspects really make you plan well and are incredibly well thought out. Traversing the 2D landscape using climbing, crawling, and otherwise navigating your way through is engaging. The ability to buy and upgrade equipment add a nice RPG element to the game, and the items are all genuinely useful. The story itself is also really well written and you are even forced to make some game altering decisions towards the end. The style/artwork is approachable, engaging, and just flat out cool. Pretty much everything about this game is spot on perfect, and I highly recommend this game above almost any other indie title out there (and there are some really great indie titles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GAME ROCKS, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Klei makes great games, it's not very long but it is rewarding dashing through levels stealthily whether you go aggressive or passive. New Game + modes difficulty makes it well worth a 2nd play through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game... very fun for me!, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I agree that this hits the mark on what a fun stealth experience can be... controller support and pretty graphics make this an easy pick. Nice work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little stealth side-scroller., March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark of the Ninja [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
My 13 year old, gamer son loves this game.
It is cute (for a ninja assassin game).
The central plot could use a bit more, but gameplay is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.