Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Hartford's Legacy, July 6, 2000
By 
Darol Anger (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
John Hartford might fairly be said to have originated the Americana/Newgrass branch of Contemporary American Music. Mark Twang begins a staggeringly inventive and personal run of recordings John made for the Flying Fish label, using minimal instrumentation and maximum instrumental and verbal creativity. John's inimitable banjo style is featured on this recording, and his lyric gift is in full flower, brilliantly commenting on life on the Mississippi river, and various artistic and romantic issues.There are songs on this record which I will always remember, and which have influenced countless acoustic string performers--whether they know it or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The River Runs Long After I Am Gone....", June 8, 2001
By 
James F Schwartz (Wheaton, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
John Hartford passed away two days ago after a long battle with cancer. He was an American original, a great writer, musician, humorist, and archivist. I've owned "Mark Twang" for over 20 years and among all the folk and bluegrass records I have it still stands out as one of the most unique and a great favorite. John playing fiddle, John playing banjo, often while clogging to the rhythm--it is as close as you will come to having somebody play in your house. That was, I think, an essential virtue of his music and why I believe you could learn a lot about American folk music by listening to this album. If the news of John Hartford's passing has compelled you to seek out his recordings, then I believe that you will find yourself richly rewarded for discovering this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best individual performances ever!, January 14, 2005
By 
B. Wall (Jacksonville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
This album, yes then it was on vinyl, won the grammy for best folk album that year. It was 1976. America was celebrating its 200th birthday. The performance resembles a live radio show format. John wanted it that way. Technically, the sound quality is great and it translated well to CD. John's voice has a very full sound, I feel, better than his later solo albums. The percussion of his foot shuffles and tapping is great. Turn up the volume. The sound engineers captured the percussive sound of John's trademark low tuned banjo.

"Don't leave your records in the sun", now on its own is nostalgic. It is just as nostalgic as the album itself. It is ironic that just as John was looking back on the Mississippi steamboat history, I'm looking back fondly at a great performance that has, in itself, become part of live acoustic music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Leave Your Records In The Sun, June 17, 2005
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
This 1976 album by the legendary John Hartford is among one of the top five CDs in the CD player. This album is fun to listen to, and it resembles a radio show, but I think that is what John was going for. This album features John in a solo setting playing all the instruments. Classic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Hartford, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
Definitely characterizes hartford's more creative and abstract side. Somewhat more of a novelty though. It's enjoyable if youre really into his strange side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of John Hartford, January 7, 2009
By 
George M. Morgan (Warwick, Rhode Island USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
The best album of one of the finest folk/bluegrass talents that ever was. If you only own one John Hartford album own this one. Singer, songwriter, banjo and fiddle virtuouso, humorist, he is greatly missed but greatly appreciated. A musician's musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure John Hartford........, August 20, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
This is a great album, though not without some low spots. The "Riverboat" songs are wonderful songs by someone who clearly knows his subject. The recording is sparse, just vocal, John's banjo, fiddel or guitar, and a foot stomp for rhythm. All one take, and not perfect techicaly, but infused with an honesty and spirit that is rare. This record has a very intimate feel. Some of the "novelty" songs detract, but they're also typical J.H. You can marvel at Hartford's vocal excursions on "little cabin doh-wah" or "trying to get your attention", but I can't say I like them so much. But this is definitly a solid effort by a great performer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last, April 11, 2014
By 
Kevin (Charleston, WV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
It does not matter that I have heard this album on vinyl at least 80-90 times. It iwas still new, fresh and fun when I put it in the CD player. Only sad part is that two of my friends who were rabid Hartford fans like me are gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hartford, the legend, August 21, 2013
By 
Donna (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
Such talent will be missed. I wanted a keepsake, though this particular album was probably not the best choice for me and what I remember most fondly about the body of his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A banjo will get you through times of no money, but money won't get you through times of no banjo.", July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mark Twang (Audio CD)
Chances are if you're reading this you're automatically a better person for knowing who John Hartford is. Therefore it follows naturally that you should give Mark Twang a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mark Twang
Mark Twang by John Hartford
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.