Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Material and Structure -
Every once in a great while a new business book is published that just oozes with credibility and usefulness. Such is the case with Vanessa Fox's "Marketing in the Age of Google." Vanessa is a search engine optimization expert and former Google spokesperson. Her book takes off quickly, pointing out that 88% of online search dollars are spent on paid results, but 85% of...
Published on June 21, 2010 by Loyd E. Eskildson

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good material despite some flaws
Although overall a book with a lot of tips, the author does not explain things as well as she could. For instant, she starts talking about Google Trends and doesn't tell us where to find it online (I guess there's Google for that ;). That said, there are a lot of good gems she shares. Here are some:

-Searchers click on organic results 85% of the time...
Published on September 8, 2010 by A. Mann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good material despite some flaws, September 8, 2010
By 
A. Mann "gadget maven" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
Although overall a book with a lot of tips, the author does not explain things as well as she could. For instant, she starts talking about Google Trends and doesn't tell us where to find it online (I guess there's Google for that ;). That said, there are a lot of good gems she shares. Here are some:

-Searchers click on organic results 85% of the time
-Companies connect with searches in two ways: Paid and Organic
-Longer search queries = fewer paid results appearing to the searcher
-Videos and images draw users away from the paid search column
-50% of searchers will see the 7th search result
-100% of searchers look at the first organic result; 50% look at the first paid result
-Increased organic results = increased brand awareness
-organic results last over time, whereas paid results stop the second you stop paying for them
-Searchers click on a brand 92% of the time when a brand is in both paid and organic results
-A search is on avg. three words long; nearly 25% are only one word
-Women are more deliberate in reading search results
-A #1 ranking is less important than people think. If you rank in the top 3 to 4 results and have a more compelling title and description, you may own the click
-Searchers don't even look at the entire title. They look at the left half of it
-Remember that every page of your site is a potential entry for visitors
-The days of normal search results that everyone sees the same are now over
-YouTube is the second largest search engine
-Results that contain both video and images, searches start with that first, then go above, and then below in their scan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Material and Structure -, June 21, 2010
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
Every once in a great while a new business book is published that just oozes with credibility and usefulness. Such is the case with Vanessa Fox's "Marketing in the Age of Google." Vanessa is a search engine optimization expert and former Google spokesperson. Her book takes off quickly, pointing out that 88% of online search dollars are spent on paid results, but 85% of searchers click on organic (non-paid) results. Slightly over half (56%) of Google searches return no paid ads. Although $9.1 billion was spent on online advertising in 2007, and it is projected to reach $20.9 billion in 2013, improving performance with organic search results is the focus of her book.

Worldwide there are 131 billion searchers/month, 23 billion by Americans. About 12% of U.S. searches are focused on retail items, and 63% of search-related purchases occur offline. Essentially all searchers look at the first organic result, while only 50% look at the first paid result. Fox points out that searchers will tell you exactly what will compel them to buy your products - if only you will look for the answers. Information within Google Insights for Search and Google Trends can reveal the relative popularity of similar search terms, trends and seasonality in their popularity, where (geographically) most inquiries are coming from. Other sources for useful sights include Google Adwords (Fox suggests trying a few ads, if only for the information retrieved), Google Analytics (reports number of visits, time on site, number of pages visited, bounce rate), Compete.com (degree of competition associated with various search terms), and [...] (what sites and search terms are driving visitors to your site). [...] and others can help alert marketers to PR disasters in the making before they get too far.

Must reading, and ownership for any marketer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great snapshot of online marketing, today., May 19, 2010
By 
Marshall (Denver, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
A great overview of how businesses can leverage search engine optimization, pay per click and social media tactics as their business and marketing strategy. The book details not just what search engines are looking for, but how you can leverage data and analytics to better promote your business with greater opportunities to be found in search engines or online communities via online marketing tactics. I consider this book as a must have for anyone just getting into marketing or needs to familiarize themselves with SEO and/or online marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meant for larger businesses, November 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this would be built more for the small business model.
Instead there is alot of talk of having a board of directors that understands e-marketing and advice for your tech department.
I am my tech department.
I liked the links to how to find how similar sites are found, what keywords might work better and how they operate, But it does not seem to be written for single employee entreprenuers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn some quick, new SEO tricks? If yes, then this book is NOT for you!, May 29, 2010
By 
Tim Martin (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
It amazes me: businesses big and small are allocating increasing amounts of coin to an assortment of internet related initiatives without having their heads around the basics of search engine dynamics (and I'm not talking about cheap and fast SEO 'trickery'). What Vanessa Fox has so effectively achieved with this book is to provide anyone interested - and anyone running an organisation should be - with a systematic framework to incorporate search into their tactical and strategic decision making fabric. Knowing thy customer has long been a business imperative - and so why would anyone pass up on a free peek into Google's treasure trove of historical and live search data? And why would anybody not want to know how to rank well on a wide and deep range of directly related search queries, land qualified traffic onto their online properties, to then drive these leads through to ready and waiting calls to action? Beats me. This hints at a more fundamental problem - people don't know what they don't know. This book - more a guide really - is a business gem. Read it and then you'll know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool to help your organization understand the opportunity of SEO, May 10, 2010
By 
Chris (INDIANAPOLIS, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
So much of marketing is focused on the company broadcasting out in the hope of bumping into a potential customer. Meanwhile there are 18 billion individual 'Broadcasts' each month from people who want your help.

Ms. Fox also talks about how online search drives offline purchases and I really learned a lot from the section that discussed using search data as marketing research. She says:

"Search data is the greatest form of market research there is. If the marketers job is to discern wants & needs and then fulfill them...then studying behavior is way more valuable than studying what people think is the right answer when they take a survey."

We also love that the core message here supports exactly what we help with here @ Compendium. Check out this line from the book:

"For most searches, the home page is not the entry point. Any page can be the entry page. We have to rethink our approach to site design and user interaction based on the new world."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Search Engine Marketing in one., August 14, 2010
By 
Josh Charlesworth (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is excellent. It really covers so much in a short amount of time and I was fascinated from the start. I particularly liked the discussion of paid vs organic searchers and the value of each and have a richer insight into just how we all search . For example Vanessa Fox details some really interesting research about how people look more to the left side of the Google results page than the right. I found this insightful as many sponsored links from PPC appear on the right.

At that point I thought okay no more PPC but Fox continues exploring this concept, highlighting the pros and cons and delves into each in some detail. I have a reasonable understanding of internet marketing but was pleasantly surprised with just how Fox covers.

Sometimes you read a book and think boring... how many different ways can someone say the same thing. This is not that book!!! Fox uses many graphs and pictures which add to understanding the discussions (I suppose that saying a picture tells a thousand words is true!).

Perhaps the most powerful aspect of this book (for me) isn't just the strategies (i.e. use internet marketing, its the way of the future etc as anyone can say that), it is Fox simple yet effective way of providing steps with how to implement the strategies in your own business and/or marketing role. I finished this book believing I too can be successful online. That's a good thing!

The author also discusses many tools which can be used in your online strategy including, Google Trends, Adwords and others and provides clear examples of how these can be integrated into strategies. If you're thing 'yeah I've read all this before bla bla bla' then think again. Fox's discussion about Google Trends, Keywords and the techniques anyone can use to gather competitive intelligence, increase their SEO and drives sales truly was impressive.

If you want to know more about search engine marketing this is a great addition to anyone's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've ever read on SEO, October 9, 2012
There are very few books I would recommend reading on SEO, primarily because the best content out there is on blogs. Vanessa Fox's book is one of those rare exceptions. This is one of the most important books you could ever buy on search engine optimization. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, SEO makes sense. Phew., May 10, 2010
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
So, I'm in the biz, and even I didn't 'get it' when it comes to search engine marketing. And this is after countless presentations at conferences, reading tons of stuff online, etc. Maybe I'm just dense, or maybe I just needed someone like Vanessa Fox to clarify what SEO is, how it works, why I should care, and exactly what I can do about it to help my business (and my clients' businesses) in plain old ordinary language. With actual examples that make sense.

Sure, I'm biased. I contributed a little info on personas for the book. But I've got to tell you, I got way more out of this book than I put it. I've learned more from Vanessa's book--actual, practical methods that tie in perfectly with user experience--than I've learned from any other book I've read in the past few years.

You'll love this if you are a marketer who has to worry about SEO (and you all do).
You'll get a huge amount out of it whether or not you already know anything about SEO and SEM.
You'll get a brand new perspective if you are a user experience person (because guess what? the conversation you are trying to establish with your users and customers starts waaaay before they arrive at your site!).
You'll become a savvy consumer of SEO tools and services.

So really, just buy it already. Seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distractingly good, May 16, 2011
This review is from: Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy (Hardcover)
This is not a bunch of "tips and tricks" designed to outsmart search engines. This is foundational wisdom about why search engines do things the way they do, and what any size business can do to take advantage of that.

It was difficult to read, because I kept wanting to run to my computer to tweak settings or analyze traffic with my new knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marketing in the Age of Google: Your Online Strategy IS Your Business Strategy
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.