Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of 6 stars
If you are perplexed by the light speed evolution of marketing on the Web, this book is for you. The author is has been deeply involved in the Web since the beginning of time, on both the technical and business fronts. Thus,Weber paints a very clear picture of how social media evolved, what it looks like, how businesses should use it, and where it is going. The book...
Published on February 15, 2008 by Brad Shorr

versus
52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars General information for "dinosaurs" still not sold on Web 2.0...
Executive Summary:
The book would be more appropriately entitled: "An introduction to Web 2.0" There is very little marketing advice, and the information in this book might have been cutting edge in 2002-3 but in 2008, it would only appeal to beginners, or non-tech oriented people. If you don't know what a "Blog" is, then this book is for you. If you do know what a...
Published on July 13, 2008 by C. Fallon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars General information for "dinosaurs" still not sold on Web 2.0..., July 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
Executive Summary:
The book would be more appropriately entitled: "An introduction to Web 2.0" There is very little marketing advice, and the information in this book might have been cutting edge in 2002-3 but in 2008, it would only appeal to beginners, or non-tech oriented people. If you don't know what a "Blog" is, then this book is for you. If you do know what a blog is, I would go elsewhere.

Full Review:
I have read about a dozen books on marketing/advertising/community building on the web. Perhaps I didn't realize the scope of this book. First, if you are reading a review for what this book is about, you are probably more technologically advanced than anything this book has to offer...(IE: The "Social Web" as he puts it, Or Web 2.0, can affect hearts and minds. For example, you are reading this review before purchasing this book for some insight.)

To me it seemed as if the book was written for very large company's marketers who are 60+ years of age and are not familiar with the internet, or at best don't think there has been any evolution of the internet in the past 14+ years since it has gone commercial. I don't mean to be rude, but this book really seemed like something that would have had an impact and would have been interesting in about 2001. The fact that this book was written and released in the last year honestly amazed me, as I was certain that it was just re-released based on the material.

To be slightly more specific, the book concentrates heavily on not trying to hurt the ego's of marketers who have not been keeping up with the Internet by saying "Some of your old marketing knowledge is still useful." a bit too often. While true, it just seemed a bit overboard. Another quick example of the target market is that the book took about 4-5 pages in describing what a blog is. This is all well and good for an "Intro" book, but it is indicitive of the audience this book was meant for. I found this book too generic to be useful. It lacked specifics, strong case examples, adequate statistics, etc. If you are 60+ years of age and really aren't aware of what social communities are, or message boards, or online reviews of products (Oh the irony), I would recommend this book. Also, if you don't believe that having an online voice is relevant in today's global market, and are looking for a strong case to show you why it is, I would recommend this book. If you have ever participated on a message board, read a blog, posted/read an online review, etc...this book won't tell you anything that you don't already know.

However, if you are looking for effective ways to market to the "Social Web" AKA Web 2.0 by the rest of the world, go elsewhere. This book is too generic to be useful IMHO. I gave this book two stars instead of one because it was well written, and unlike EVERY other marketing book I have ever read, it didn't remind you to go to the author's website every other page (In fact, I don't even remember him naming his website in the book, which is to be applauded, as you can tell this info was legitimately designed to help the reader, not just another marketing tool by the author as many marketing books are). Also if you do want a BEGINNERS' book to what Web 2.0 is, this would be tough to beat. The author puts everything in non-techie terms, and is very thorough at explaining some of the core/basic concepts of Web 2.0.

BOTTOM LINE:
The people who could best be helped with a book like this are intelligent people who don't keep up with technology, but know the basics. I found this more as an introduction to what Web 2.0 was than a "How to" book which is what I believed the book to be about based on the title.
If you are looking for valuable "How to market to the Social Web" info, this book will GREATLY disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Customer Engagement and the Social Web, December 5, 2007
By 
Laurent Pacalin (Palo Alto, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
In Marketing to the Social Web, Larry Weber provides an effective framework to further the understanding of the customer engagement process on the social web. This book will help many companies better appreciate that the command and control mode of communication has been rendered obsolete by social networks and that customers are more and more dictating the terms or engagement in terms of time, place and frequency. However, I would have liked a deeper look at how one converts social conversations and relationships in leads and revenue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of 6 stars, February 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
If you are perplexed by the light speed evolution of marketing on the Web, this book is for you. The author is has been deeply involved in the Web since the beginning of time, on both the technical and business fronts. Thus,Weber paints a very clear picture of how social media evolved, what it looks like, how businesses should use it, and where it is going. The book provides a lot of detail and advice to help marketing professionals understand things like-

The differences between traditional and new media.
How to engage customers in real conversations.
How to target customers in the social Web.
How to implement social marketing strategies.
What mistakes to avoid in social marketing (based on case study examples.)
How to vibrant customer communities.
Blogging.

Weber's practical advice for marketers is spot on, but what really struck me is the conceptual framework he provides. He sees the social Web as an integrated whole, which is very important. You can't understand how to effectively use the pieces of the social Web - blogs, microsites, social network sites, etc. - until you see how all the pieces fit together.

Weber's model of the marketing department of the future is fascinating. For starters, he envisions the CMO having a director of paid media and a director of unpaid media. This in itself is a great concept that will help companies prevent the stovepiping of individual social Web initiatives and ensure new media and old media programs are likewise integrated. Right now, old reporting structures are making it difficult for companies tap into the power of new marketing tools at their fingertips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for marketers, August 10, 2007
By 
Paul Gillin (Framingham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
Larry Weber lives five years in the future, so if you want to know where marketing is going, ask him. This book is about how businesses will market after they finally concede that they've lost control of the message. Once you come to grips with the fact that customers are dictating the terms of engagement, you can have wonderfully rich conversations with them that lead to meaningful relationships. Stop spewing and start conversing. Larry Weber tells you how. This book is forceful, opinionated, passionate and very relevant to the challenges and opportunities that face marketers in the coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing to the Social Web Sticks with Marketers!, November 13, 2007
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
Reading Larry Weber's recent book, Marketing to the Social Web, I was relieved to discover sound, practical advice for generating conversations on the web. As a Global Marketing student, I am continually looking for suggested strategies and framework necessary to implement an effective marketing campaign.

Weber outlines various issues companies grapple with when approaching the web, such as, legality issues surrounding consumer comments, employee blogging backlash, moving consumers to your company's site, and how to generate conversations. He finishes with closing thoughts on Web 4.0, calling it to `emotive' web, the location where emotions, experience and fulfillment will develop from the interactive and rich media environment. He leaves the reader with a greater sense of the workings of the web, while still leaving food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another marketing book that explains a new approach when promoting something and using the new social media., July 22, 2007
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
I just finished writing a book review for The New Influencers by Paul Gillin (ISBN: 1884956653). I mention this because I think the instant book is one that should be read along with Gillin's book. Both books are great! And both books are about marketing, the new social media, and how to use the Web effectively to promote yourself, your business, or whatever.

Marketing to the Social Web can include one or all of the following: (1) reputation aggregators, (2) blogs, (3) e-communities, and (4) social networks. This book explains each and how they can help you in your marketing efforts. I personally like blogs and social networks the best. They are easier and cheaper to create than the other two. E-communities can cost a bunch to create, monitor, and maintain. And reputation aggregators are search engines and directories. Not something that I'm interested in creating.

My favorite chapters were 1-3 and 12-16. I found chapter 4 to be kind of the odd-ball out in the book. Maybe it was necessary? Maybe not? And I thought chapters 5-11 were wonderful and added much content to the book. But they did not set my world on fire. Maybe they should have been saved as the final seven chapters?

I highly recommend this book to those who want to move away from straight traditional marketing and into new media marketing. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Social media explained for traditional marketers, October 10, 2008
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
I believe the person that might benefit the most from this book is someone from a traditional ad/marketing agency that has some experience with social media (they know what a blog, Facebook, and user generated content is), but needs additional exposure and ideas about ways to apply.

I might have been the wrong audience.

For me, there were some interesting case studies and it does a good job of connecting ideas, but I didn't feel like I got much out of it. I think I would describe it to someone as:

Introduction to Social Web Marketing: A Traditional Marketer's Primer

Overall, it just didn't grab me, but there are a lot of people that seem to love the book, so take it with a grain of salt.

-Marc Crudele
Atlanta, GA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marketing to the Social Web a good book not great, March 31, 2009
Marketing to the Social Web, by Larry Weber.

I decided to read this book because I wanted to get a better understanding of marketing on the social web. All together I found this book interesting and informative. This book was a quick read with a lot of information packed in.
Larry Weber has an ability to make his concepts and points easy to understand. In this book I learned about social networks, reputation aggregation, blogs, e-communities and other interesting topics related to social media. Weber paints a clear picture of the how social media has changed over the years and how its continuingly changing. He also does a good job of showing how businesses should utilize forms of social media.

Something that stood out to me about this book is its ability to actually give you recommendations on how to do things. Most books of this type only give you definitions of concepts and descriptions theory's on marketing for the web this book goes deeper. Another section in this book that really stood out to me was Weber's analysis on the use of or the lack there of metrics in social media world. He does a great job of pushing this concept of better ways to track social media statistics. Some of the other key concepts that I like were consumers can use technology to avoid seeing television commercials. On the social Web, consumers have control over brand meanings. He also describes how you can use the Internet to build positive associations and influence rather than profit.

Weber also shows us the differences between media today and traditional media he tells you how to engage your customers in conversation about your brand, how to target consumers via the web, how to implement social media strategies and more. This book includes various case study samples that show the successful campaigns as well as the failures. The advice for marketers is direct and on point and shows how an integrated approach works best in terms of social media web marketing.

The author cuts to the chase in the book and does not fill it with unnecessary jargon. I would recommend this book for beginners and for those who know what they want to do but are not achieving the results they desire.

[...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleeding Edge of Internet Marketing, August 16, 2007
By 
D. Herrera (Tehachapi, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
This book goes into detail about the possibilities behind marketing to the social web. It's more about how to interact with your customers and the social ties that bind them to determine the next steps in marketing and product development. It's also a good way to attract and interact with them in a more personal way than every done before in traditional marketing. The book is full of examples and case studies with usable techniques even for smaller companies who might not have as much to invest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best way to understand Social Media, April 16, 2008
By 
Antonio C. P. Amorim (Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business (Hardcover)
As I work at a Social Media Company, I purchased this book as a reference to create powerpoint presentation to explain to Social Media my clients.

It is a great book with a perfect explanation about how to create a marketing strategy to this new media.

I strongly recomend to everyone who is looking for understand this new environment created by the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marketing to the Social Web: How Digital Customer Communities Build Your Business
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.