Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


188 of 190 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Additional information & correct size
[Amazon recently combined pages for two products: the MJ3 and MJ5. This review is for the smaller MJ3]

The sizes given in Amazon's Product Details and Product Description are contradictory. The correct size for the cover is 3.5" x 5.5" and the paper is a slightly smaller. Thickness is about 1/2".

192 pages means 96 sheets. Paper is cream-colored,...
Published on January 21, 2011 by Wormwood Scrubs

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great look- paper not so great, not suitable for fountain pens
For the price and availability and a number of stores- great. Size is good for a something to take along.

Paper is cream colored and I had high hopes. However, as most paper in the US- cheap. I write with fountain pens- and even with the finest nibs and different inks everything bleeds through like a ruptured artery.
Even regular pens that most people use-...
Published on October 26, 2011 by Elisabeth


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

188 of 190 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Additional information & correct size, January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
[Amazon recently combined pages for two products: the MJ3 and MJ5. This review is for the smaller MJ3]

The sizes given in Amazon's Product Details and Product Description are contradictory. The correct size for the cover is 3.5" x 5.5" and the paper is a slightly smaller. Thickness is about 1/2".

192 pages means 96 sheets. Paper is cream-colored, smooth uncoated, strong but thin with a lot of show through. Lines are dark grey. Line-spacing is a bit tight--under 7/32", giving 20 lines to write in plus top and bottom margins of approximately 1/2" each.

Well made. Binding uses sewn signatures. Does not lie flat.

Covers are stiff but bendable cardboard covered with "genuine bonded leather." Translation: "real fake leather." The label says, "80% genuine cowhide leather fibers and 20% non-leather materials." I guess that's fake leather composed of bits and pieces of real leather and other stuff. "Genuine bonded leather" is reminiscent of the furniture retailers' expression, "solid engineered wood." I.e., sawdust and glue. Anyway, it looks okay and smells like leather.

Made in China.

These are a good deal at $6 to $7, but in the past Amazon's price has spiked to $12. They are way overpriced at that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


246 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly like it was described!, March 28, 2011
By 
M. Hoormann (Saint Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Markings by C.R. Gibson Brown Ruled Paper Bonded Leather Journal (MJ5-4792) (Office Product)
I wanted a leather back journal but Amazon did not describe the other ones very well enough for me to purchase. This journal was described well by both Amazon and the other reviewers. It suits my needs perfectly and I couldn't ask for anything better. Here are some pros and cons for this item:
Pros:
The leather is as tough as a hardcover. (It is made of 80% cowhide and 20% nonleathers, whatever that means)
There is a pocket in the inside back to hold pages and other items.
Thin ribbon bookmark to save your pages.
Elastic band to keep your journal shut.
Cons:
The page lines are narrow ruled and unperforated. It is not a school notebook after all.
The pages bleed through if you use a marker or thick pen.
The pages are not a bright white, but more of a cream or off white.
The journal is small. If you want to know the exact size. Get a sheet of computer paper, turn it sideways, and fold it half. That's the size of this journal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Journal, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Markings by C.R. Gibson Brown Ruled Paper Bonded Leather Journal (MJ5-4792) (Office Product)
My husband is the one who actually uses this journal. I have ordered a 2nd one because he purchased the first one elsewhere 2 years ago and is now requesting a new one just like it. He actually managed to fit 2 years' worth of diary into it and the cover looks nearly new yet. It has lined pages that are cream-colored, nice to write on, and definitely worth having as a family heirloom. It has a pocket in the back cover, perfect for storing any mementos that you would like to keep, such as tickets to special events, etc. An elastic band wraps around from the front cover to keep the journal closed and it has held up nicely these past 2 years. The journal is slim, about 1/2 inch thick, so it is easy to toss in to a suitcase or overnight bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little pocket journal, September 27, 2010
By 
Clarissa (Virginia, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This journal is the perfect size for a purse or pocket. It has a little envelope on the back cover to hold whatever and a nice ribbon to mark your place. It has an elastic band to keep it shut, and all-in-all is a nice little journal. I think it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple conventional elegant journal, January 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have taken these journals with me to China, India, Korea, Singapore, Europe as well as all over the US. Very well bound together and the leather cover keeps in like new condition. I really like the pocket in the back and the elastic strap that holds it together. I keep receipts in the back pocket while I travel during the day and then create an expense report each night. The elastic band holds any papers inside that I may collect at vendors througout the day. The paper quality is very good. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Additional information & correct size, January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
[Amazon recently combined pages for two products: the MJ3 and MJ5. This review is for the smaller MJ3]

The sizes given in Amazon's Product Details and Product Description are contradictory. The correct size for the cover is 3.5" x 5.5" and the paper is a slightly smaller. Thickness is about 1/2".

192 pages means 96 sheets. Paper is cream-colored, smooth uncoated, strong but thin with a lot of show through. Lines are dark grey. Line-spacing is a bit tight--under 7/32", giving 20 lines to write in plus top and bottom margins of approximately 1/2" each.

Well made. Binding uses sewn signatures. Does not lie flat.

Covers are stiff but bendable cardboard covered with "genuine bonded leather." Translation: "real fake leather." The label says, "80% genuine cowhide leather fibers and 20% non-leather materials." I guess that's fake leather composed of bits and pieces of real leather and other stuff. "Genuine bonded leather" is reminiscent of the furniture retailers' expression, "solid engineered wood." I.e., sawdust and glue. Anyway, it looks okay and smells like leather.

Made in China.

These are a good deal at $6 to $7, but in the past Amazon's price has spiked to $12. They are way overpriced at that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy journals, February 7, 2011
By 
Becky L. (Villa Ridge, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Markings by C.R. Gibson Brown Ruled Paper Bonded Leather Journal (MJ5-4792) (Office Product)
I researched many journals before finally choosing these. I wanted something that would stand up to kids writing and handling. These turned out to be perfect. The cover is very sturdy and the pages are thick and lined. The elastic band keeps it closed. I can see these books holding up very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great look- paper not so great, not suitable for fountain pens, October 26, 2011
By 
Elisabeth (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
For the price and availability and a number of stores- great. Size is good for a something to take along.

Paper is cream colored and I had high hopes. However, as most paper in the US- cheap. I write with fountain pens- and even with the finest nibs and different inks everything bleeds through like a ruptured artery.
Even regular pens that most people use- forget it. You can write on one side- writing on the backside of the paper is a punishment, the paper just doesn't hold up at all.

Pencils for this paper in this notebook. Might work for those who use pencils, crayon, sketching etc- for writers not very suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Moleskine, you'll love this, September 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With its sturdy leather binding, book mark, elastic band, ruled pages and pocket in the back flap, this notebook/journal is as good as a comparable Moleskine.

I've bought Moleskine notebooks for years but will now convert to C.R. Gibson, because simply put, it's the same great product at about 1/2 to 2/3 the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice..., July 6, 2012
This review is from: Markings by C.R. Gibson Brown Ruled Paper Bonded Leather Journal (MJ5-4792) (Office Product)
I have 3 of these now. Perfect size for me and use them to record notes while reading books. Or writing thoughts on whatever philosophy I might be reading at the time. I do have one I use as an everyday journal where I keep random notes in and private thoughts, and its b/c of those private thoughts I added a lock which worked out nicely. I'll try to add a pic of the one with the lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.