Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect from Dietrich
The best way to summarize the contents of this book would be to describe it as a compilation of words that attempt to describe Dietrich as she understood herself. It is rather like a journal in that she writes about her thoughts and opinions, honestly and frankly all throughout. There are no tell-all's, this is not that kind of an autobiography. Instead, reading this book...
Published on January 17, 2009 by Merry Artist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but she comes off as a bit superior at times
Dietrich writes with a compelling voice that kept me interested for the most part, despite the fact that she doesn't really address any of the more controversial aspects of her life. However, I didn't find her to be particularly likable - she came off as a bit superior, which was off-putting. I'm glad I read the book, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a big fan.
Published 26 days ago by Laura


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect from Dietrich, January 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Marlene (Hardcover)
The best way to summarize the contents of this book would be to describe it as a compilation of words that attempt to describe Dietrich as she understood herself. It is rather like a journal in that she writes about her thoughts and opinions, honestly and frankly all throughout. There are no tell-all's, this is not that kind of an autobiography. Instead, reading this book will enable one to understand what motivated the woman and the actress, and what values were her priorities in life. It is very straightforward and often inspiring. There is much to learn here, and I can only say a belated thanks to the lady who was willing to share her wisdom and experience with a devoted audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous!!!, February 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlene (Hardcover)
this book was an awesome insight into the character of one of the twentieth centuries greatest icons. dietrich was a walking contradiction, and her own words show that... but it also helps to add a touch of humanity to an untouchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by a great legend, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marlene (Hardcover)
I read the entire book in 1 day couldnt put it down. What an amazing woman so smart and whitty..for any one who wants to learn bout the legend herself and for anyone who wants to learn how it was and how it should be..going into the new year of 2011 this book is a reminder of how classy people where and hard working not so ghetto and lazy like now...love you mrs dietrich..and its december 27 ....marlenes birthday...happy birthday dietrich...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, October 22, 2012
By 
SteamDave (Castelnuovo Belbo, Asti, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marlene (Kindle Edition)
Marlene Dietrich was an artist and an icon.
Her looks are familiar even with those that never saw one of her movies, even with those that normally avoid black & white cinema.
Dietrich was in landmark movies, directed by giants among directors.
Together with Garbo, she has come to represent all that was sensual about an era.
And she's been the subject of uncounted biographies.
It is therefore highly refreshing to find a Dietrich biography which cuts through the legend and gets up close and personal with the woman and the artist.
Unsurprisingly, such a biography is in fact an autobiography, penned by Dietrich herself with the open purpose of defusing and setting straights a lot of dubious myths about her career, her life, her choices.
What Marlene (fresh from Open Road Media) gives us is a self-portrait by a highly intelligent, refined lady - someone that almost by chance happened to lend her face and her body to some of the raciest, most seductive and risqué women in movie history.
We discover a woman with a passion for life and a somewhat bemused detachment from her job, not so much insecure about her beauty as dismissive of it. In a pleasant, ironic tone, Dietrich shares details of her life, her opinions on art and literature, her strong political stance, and her reminiscences about the people she worked with.
Joseph von Sternberg stands out as Dietrich's main influence and mentor, and reading about Marlene's experiences allows us to peek behind the scenes during the filming of such masterworks as The Blue Angel or Morocco.
An extraordinary treat for the film buff, and a highly entertaining, moving experience for anyone interested in the true woman behind the glitter of the legend.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but she comes off as a bit superior at times, July 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marlene (Kindle Edition)
Dietrich writes with a compelling voice that kept me interested for the most part, despite the fact that she doesn't really address any of the more controversial aspects of her life. However, I didn't find her to be particularly likable - she came off as a bit superior, which was off-putting. I'm glad I read the book, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ..., June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marlene (Kindle Edition)
A somewhat haphazard read ... unrelated subjects intertwined. Maybe if I were older, living at the time she was popular, I would have found it more fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truthful look at the star from the legend, November 25, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlene (Hardcover)
This book is essential for any deitrichphile or fan who wants to understand the motivations and life of the Legend. She honestly portrays herself and does her best not to over glamourize her life, but speaks nonchalantly without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was so boring I almost put it down several times, July 11, 2014
This review is from: Marlene (Hardcover)
I did not know much about her before reading this book other than she was an actress. I feel as though I still don't know much about her. Too many unknown people in the book. It was so boring I almost put it down several times. I don't remember any USA soldier ever saying he served with Marlene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MARLENA THE GREAT ACCORDING TO HER OWN OPINION, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marlene (Kindle Edition)
Awful... A total waste of money. I have always liked Marlena Dietrich and bought this because of the 5 star review.
With the exception of the first pages relating to her childhood, this is more a self serving bit of garbage focusing on how wonderful she is in EVERYTHING as well as a pathetic boast of how so many famous men were absolutely crazy about her and how she deigned to love them actively . No real explanation of where her loving husband and daughter fit into her grand scheme while she practically won the war for the US single handedly with her valiant entertainment efforts and also managed to live with and love counntless big names. It's more her collectively opinion of all of them and is much more their stories than hers. I am 70% finished and this book still as yet to be interesting or resemble an autobiography. Should have bought her daughters biography which appears to give a more objective review of Marlena and addresses her weaknesses as well as her strengths . I still like her but this book is an ABSOLUTE STINKER! Wish I could get a refund. Save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marlene
Marlene by Marlene Dietrich
$2.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.