Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 17, 2006
Yes,the disk of relections in a golden eye is indeed in the original golden colored treatment as intended by director John Huston.Restored by Warner Bros you can now see this great film in the version intended by its creator.A unique experience.Forty years ahead of its time.A must for film collectors and admirers of Huston as a director.The color treatment adds immeasurably to the power of the narrative and lends a hypnotic and dreamlike edge to this disturbing and provocative film.Get it.Hard to believe the packaging does not mention the gold in this collection.

Joel Bender
55 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2006
It isn't merely his brilliant acting and physical beauty, but that extra quality people in show business call "stage presence." Only 2 of these titles (JULIUS CAESAR and TEAHOUSE) are among the very best of his 38 major films, but all 5 are ample proof--if proof is needed--that Marlon Brando is one of our most enduring stars.

JULIUS CAESAR: Shakespeare gets the fancy Hollywood treatment, with a young Brando heading an impressive cast, and he more than holds his own with the likes of James Mason, John Gielgud, and Deborah Kerr. His Marc Antony is a fascinating interpretation.

THE TEAHOUSE OF THE AUGUST MOON: In this film of John Patrick's Pulitzer Prize-winning play, Brando is the sly Japanese(!) interpreter for a group of Americans in postwar Okinawa. He wouldn't be cast in the part today (they'd find an appropriate Asian actor), but it remains one of his best comic performances.

MUTINY ON THE BOUNTY: A solid remake of the classic, not as good as the original and way too long, but worth a look for Brando's complex portrait of Fletcher Christian. And the cinematography is stunning.

REFLECTIONS IN A GOLDEN EYE: Perhaps his most offbeat role, as a repressed homosexual Army officer who prefers (nude) Robert Forster to (nude) Elizabeth Taylor. John Huston's film of Carson McCullers's novel is certainly--umm--naked, a kinky but interesting oddity.

THE FORMULA: Brando only has a couple of scenes in this film version of Steve Shagan's bestselling thriller (George C. Scott and Marthe Keller are the actual leads), but it's awesome to watch him and Scott locking horns. Nobody could play a charming villain as well as Brando (see THE GODFATHER), and the subject of this film (the formula of the title) is surprisingly timely.

So, you decide which are your favorite Brando films, but these 5 are all interesting examples of his work.
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
Believe it or not, I had not seen ALL of the movies in this collection ... ever.

Suffice it to say, each of the movies in this collection is a classic ... and in my more senior years, I REALLY "get it". For example, like virtually ALL educated Americans, I had to read William Shakespeare's "Julius Caesar" first in high school, then again in college ... and, never mind the strange ancient English, I had no idea about the true meanings of deviousness, treachery, betrayal, and tragedy. Indeed, the familiar funeral oration over Caesar's murdered corpse, where Mark Antony sways the easily manipulated Roman crowd ... a Marlon Brando classic ... was amazing. Indeed, in a special feature commentary by actors such an aging Dennis Hopper it is explained how Brando in that one scene changed Hollywood acting forever.

I could gush about each of the other movies in this collection, but for the price you cannot beat the quality and quantity of entertainment. Also the quality of the DVD sound and images are crisp, evidently having been made from digitally well restored prints.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2007
"The Marlon Brando" collection is quite easily one of the best collections

to come out recently (and there have been many). We all have our favorites, and I have mine. I would buy this just to get "Teahouse of

the August Moon" and "Julius Ceasar". And, "Teahouse" is far and away my

favorite. Mr Brando plays an interpreter on Okinawa, working for the US

Army...along with a fantastic supporting cast. Every one of these films

is worthy and shows the range of Mr. Brando's abilities. I would say "You

Can't Go Wrong". Then, you might want to add "Sayonnara"...which is lavish, dated, and sad...but well worth watching...and it will round

out your collection. I am a big fan of the "Teahouse of the August Moon"

and "Guys and Dolls" Brando...and I tend to keep quite a distance from

"The Wild One" Brando. I would add that whatever your tastes, Mr Brando probably has something of interest to share with you, so go for it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
Because Marlon Brando all but dropped out of movie-making during the last 10 or 12 years of his life (except for Apocalypse Now, where his role was drastically reduced because he weighed more than 300 pounds, and was deemed by the director to be unfit for a major role), many movie goers no longer remember how talented and accomplished Brando was at his best. I had seen all of the Brando films that are included in this package, but wanted to have them available to re-view at convenient times. To date the only one I've seen from the package I bought is "Mutiny on the Bounty". But it's a masterpiece. No doubt I'll view all of the films in the package eventually, in accordance with no particular time frame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
Never knew how much work Brando put in. I bought it originally for Ceasar. Found 2 other greats haven't finished the others at the time of this review. Was a great value at the price I purchased. Would recommend to anyone whom likes old movies with a bit of flare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
An amazing set of films that I have been waiting for on DVD for a number of years. I think Julius Caesar, Reflections in a Golden Eye, The Teahouse of the August Moon and the Formula are all first time on DVD. Altough thes are not Brando at his very best, they are most important in showing the wide range of roles he could play. The whole set is very well presented and I would recommend the set, not just to Brando completists, but also to those who only know him from his more famous roles, The Godfather, On the Waterfront. The man will be sorely missed and this set goes a long way to showing what a great actor he was. There are not many 'film stars' around today who could hold a candle to him. A wondeful tribute!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
Not his most famous movies, but a great collection showing his multitude of acting styles and presence. The Mutiny on the Bounty was a two-disc set. Well worth the price of this collection just by itself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
First the bad...3 of 5 CDs went bad after only a few plays. they are Mutiny on the Bounty, Reflections in a Golden eye, The Formula. Still playing Julius Cesar and The Tea House of the August Moon.
Having said that they are all films of most exelent quality and content. My favorites are Mutiny on the Bounty where Brando and Trevor Howard cannot be asked to be better actors. This same movie is more than spectacular filled with beauty, exquisite scenes and superb acting. its a 5 star +++ movie. Tea House of the August Moon... the other is a side of Brando no too commonly seen, a happy comedic actor who interprets an okinawan transalator who gets his way with the newly ocupation army just after WWII. Its a happy feel good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Poor quality DVD's ruin what would have been a great collection of Brando films. "Mutiny on the Bounty" won't play in any DVD player I've tried, and "Julius Caesar" and "Reflections in a Golden Eye" stop playing about 2/3 of the way through the film. The DVD quality is so bad I would advise not purchasing this set.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse