Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Marlow Briggs and the Mask of Death [Online Game Code]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 10, 2014
Well, this is an over the top action game. Lots of fun and totally worth my $2.50. If you are reading this, just go ahead and buy it. You will enjoy if you like good ole action games.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
And much better than what you'd expect a God of War clone to be.

It's basically like a playable buddy action movie. I've seen more explosions in 30 minutes of gameplay than I have most big budget films. And the storyline, while dumb, serves it's purpose, and also manages to be pretty entertaining throughout. The banter between the protagonist and his mask of death is the real highlight of the narrative. It's just a lot of fun.

And speaking of fun, the gameplay holds up really well. It's a pretty unashamed God of War clone, but it pulls it off better than any other game that has cribbed from that franchise. Better than that is the fact that the game is paced extremely well. There's combat, there's puzzles, there's platforming, and sometimes there's all three at once. And they all blend together really well. I was never bored in the six hours of gameplay this game provided me. And it all controls really well, and everything just feels polished and lovingly crafted.

And in all honestly, I actually liked this game better than God of War. It's not as polished, nor does it have the same high budget, but man this game has some heart to it. And it plays incredibly well. Shame it wasn't the hit that it should have been.

But the one real big selling point is the fact that this game frequently goes on sale for a single U.S. dollar. This game is an absolute steal for a dollar. Even if you for some reason hate the game, it's a dollar. I'd recommend this game for $20, but for a dollar this is an absurdly good deal.

I can't say anything more than to just recommend it completely. Even if you did hate it, that's not a lot of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
This is an action adventure well worth the 15 dollars i paid for it, the game play is reminiscent of God of war. The story is about a guy who goes to central America to meet his archaeologist girlfriend, when he gets to the site he finds more then he bargained for.
Once Marlow reaches the site his vacation ends where his adventure begins, I recommend this game to any and all action fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
This game doesn't take itself seriously, which is awesome. Casual hack and slash, some quick time events, etc. Level up system isn't very in depth, but that isn't really a drawback for a game of this scale, and the new weapons add a bit of freshness to each level. Some of the battles get a bit repetitive (i'm looking at you scorpions) but aside form that pretty pleasant game play for the price I got it on sale. Scenery is actually pretty awesome for a game of this scale, dialog isn't bad either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Interesting game, and a little better than I thought it would be. I got this at a time when there weren't any other good sales and I had a need for a new game. Overall pleased by the graphics. The bosses were really cool looking and a lot of fun to battle with. Other things such as bugs and scorpions I mainly consider "filler" and don't add much to the game play. The game is based on some sort of 'path' system so it's kind of like following a side-scroller game, but in 3D... everything is scripted pacing and linear, except for the individual fights. And you can't control the camera like in a 1st/3rd person game.. and it makes for an uneasy feeling the entire time, like you're locked into this one view. Most of the fighting is straight up melee and by the end of the game you do get some powerful weapons and nice magic combos. My opinion is if the camera was controllable, the setting a bit less linear, and the story line less absurd, it would be pretty darn solid. Certainly worth a play if you can find it under $10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
This game was slept on but is very good. The replay value isn't great to me, that's my only knock on it really. It's a fun hack and slash game. I hope to see a sequel. It's also pretty cheap for a game of this quality. I recommend giving it a try if you like hack and slash games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
Marlow Briggs is best described as a cross between God of War and Uncharted- you have to battle through a bunch of jungle set-pieces against the mercenaries of an evil industrialist, but you have magic powers and a silly giant scythe to do it with. It does nothing at all new, but it does almost all of it WELL. The environments look great, the soundtrack is solid, and all the character models are outstanding. And if the game goes five minutes without something massive blowing up, then it's because you left to get a pop.

As combo-driven adventure brawlers go, there's no earthly reason this should have gone under the radar like it did. Is it a victim of the industry's preoccupation with stubbly white dudes rescuing their hot white girlfriends from evil white dudes, on account of you play a clean-shaven black dude saving his hot Latin girlfriend from an evil Chinese dude? I have no idea, but this game absolutely deserves a place with its AAA genre-cousins.

Worth mentioning is that the villain is played by James Hong, famous as Lo Pan and lately for Diablo 3, and Briggs himself is Arif S. Kinchen, AKA Pierce from Saints row.

So overall Mask of Death is a perfectly fine action game where many things explode and lots of bad people are thrown off of stuff. It's too bad it hit the bargain bin so fast, but 505's loss is your gain because its great fun.

PROS
-Pretty much nonstop action with very little noticeable loading
-Above average voice acting
-Looks nicely polished without high requirements

CONS
-Very little in the way of customization so if you can't run it there's really nothing you can do to lighten the load
-Some of the platforming is very fiddly (there's this gear you have to jump past that took me about 15 damn tries)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
For a budget title you can't ask for more. I BS you not. I've been playing this for a while and it's awesome. For $1 (Steam Sale) you can't really go wrong. and if you don't like it, you're only out $1. But I would happily pay the $15 that it normally goes for. If you liked Dante's Inferno, it's pretty much exactly like that. But the story doesn't take itself too serious. It's pretty over the top and the mask that follows you around keeps up the banter.

Very solid action game. It's a budget title so don't expect super high production values, presentation, spectacular cut scenes, uber visuals but man it pretty much nails it in gameplay and fun factor. (also hold the jump button to jump off of vines, they don't quite explain that)

And that ugly box art doesn't help, that's why I avoided it in the past. I had no idea what kind of game it was. It's completely different than what that cover art conveys)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
THERE IS A FATAL GLITCH JUST BEFORE YOU GET THE FINAL WEAPON! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME GETTING 8/10 OF THE WAY THROUGH THE GAME ONLY TO HAVE THIS FATAL GLITCH! NOT WORTH IT! IT MAY OR MAY NOT HAPPEN, BUT IT'S NOT WORTH FINDING OUT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
What a fun game! I hadn't heard of this game before I picked it up on sale for like... a dollar? Two dollars? Fun, mindless action... reminded me of a lower budget God of War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.