Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light weight yet fully featured, March 20, 2013
By 
When you need to move fast and light, the Alpinist Tech Jacket is a great midlayer that can double as a minimalist outer layer in dry conditions.

What I like
*Warm and light without a lot of bulk.
*Breathes well and dries very quickly.
*Even though the ATJ is best used as a midlayer, it has a lot of outer layer features, including drawstrings with cord locks at the waist, a zippered inner pocket, and a storm flap behind the main zipper.
*Areas with the potential for high friction, such as around the collar, chest pocket, and lower pockets, are reinforced with an abrasion resistant material.
*Flat seams add to comfort when layering and when wearing a backpack or other bag with shoulder straps.

Some caveats
*The lightweight polyester fleece fabric does not seem as durable as traditional softshell material.
*The main zipper is not a two-way zipper.
*The cuffs are elasticized but cannot be adjusted in any way.

Bottom line: the Alpinist Tech Jacket is my go-to midlayer when space and weight are at a premium (I often use it with a Super Mica waterproof shell). I don't think it will stand up that well to a lot of abuse or hard wear, but I have "traditional" soft and hard shells to use for the rough stuff. Four stars, keeping in mind how I use the ATJ.

----------
Addendum (September 2013)
If you're trying to decide between the ATJ and a Patagonia R1 jacket, there are currently two major differences between the two garments. First, the R1's material has a soft, shiny finish. This makes it easier to don additional layers but also means the fabric has a higher tendency to snag or "catch" on rough surfaces when it's your outermost layer. Even hands with dry skin (you know, the way hands get in the winter) have a slight Velcro effect. The second difference is in the cuffs. If you like thumb loops, go with a R1. Or if you're a Marmot loyalist and want the thumb loops and the same fabric as the R1, pick up a Thermo Hoody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good..., April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's an athletic cut and on the thin side. But it looks great on. I'm not husky but I workout. Think skinny runner and get a size bigger if you have muscles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SOFT, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Perfect for Southern California weather. I live in San Diego and I would say this jacket is not too thick or too thin just the right blend. Very soft and breathable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The jacket fits perfectly (true to size) , feels nice and warm on those cold Maine mornings, and it looksr eally great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fleece but Amazon needs to revise description, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fleece does not have headphone port in inner pocket as explained in description. Im not a climber; I wear this fleece in a urban setting so I like to listen to my music while walking around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light and warm, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have used this jacket all summer for backpacking and canoeing trips where temps fell below 40 degrees Fahrenheit. I really like how light and warm the jacket is. It does. It crawl up when you move which allowed me to paddle and reach with getting drafts on my back. Packs down small enough to put in a backpack. Also is very light for the warmth it provides. The chest pocket is incontinent and inaccessible if wearing a backpack and is not large enough for an iPhone or larger accessories so I'd be fine if it was removed all together.

Pros
-warmth to wright ratio is excellent
-packs down small
-doesn't "ride" when you move
-looks good enough you could wear about anywhere
-durable

Cons
-chest pocket is in the way of backpack straps and is not large enough for an iPhone or larger phones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great weight for layering, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this to fill a gap in spring and fall when I need something under a shell and need it to be fairly warm but not bulky. The Alpinist fits perfectly in that role, and I was surprised to find also works as a stand alone jacket if the temps don't get below 50 or so. Love the pockets. My only quibble is that the since it's fitted and not lined, the sleeves grab a bit during on/off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Jacket, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good jacket, stylish and comfortable. It is a light jacket that provides about the same warmth as a sweatshirt. Use in cool weather (not cold), without wind and you'll be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marmot never fails, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my second Marmot fleece and they nail it again with this one. Warm, comfortable, well made, and well designed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The savings....?, December 4, 2013
$.05 savings? Really? Just checking due to usually Amazon has good savings for customers and this seems pretty little, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.