Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, elegant, and the right size
This old-fashioned glass is the right size to hold a standard 2-1/2-oz cocktail. Most other glasses I found on Amazon and in stores were huge "Double Old Fashioned" glasses, which are fine for juice or water, but too large to hold a single cocktail without a boat-load of ice.

It is also the perfect size to hold a Tovolo 2" spherical ice cube, which makes an...
Published on June 14, 2012 by John S. Glassmyer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Bought these for a friend and they turned out to be much smaller than I anticipated. Still high quality, but much smaller in size. My friend still liked the gift, though.
Published 1 month ago by Nizhoni Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, elegant, and the right size, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
This old-fashioned glass is the right size to hold a standard 2-1/2-oz cocktail. Most other glasses I found on Amazon and in stores were huge "Double Old Fashioned" glasses, which are fine for juice or water, but too large to hold a single cocktail without a boat-load of ice.

It is also the perfect size to hold a Tovolo 2" spherical ice cube, which makes an excellent combination for sipping whiskey. With one of these spherical ice cubes, the glass can hold 2 to 2-1/2 ounces of liquid without coming too close to the top. (As an aside, this has an entertaining effect in itself; when I made margaritas for myself and a friend, the spheres of ice kept rolling in the liquid like ball bearings.)

The glasses are plain in design. The Amazon image seems to show a circular design ringing the glasses, but this does not appear at all in normal lighting. The wall of the glass thickens toward the bottom.

None of the glasses I received had flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Dinner Glasses, December 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
I received the glasses from a third party website, and they were exactly described. When I think of Old Fashioned glasses this is exactly what comes to mind. The glasses by Waterford are perfect. I have been searching around for "crystal" whiskey glasses for quite sometime, and I REFUSED to buy online because I wanted to feel the weight and the way they were manufactured since I was going to pay upwards of 50.00. Then I found these. I broke down and just bought them online, since all the reviews were positive. I received them in the mail yesterday, and I am not disappointed

The glasses themselves are not heavy, but they are not super light as well. They are very modern, classy, clean glasses. The bottom is not rounded like the above picture seems to portray, but that is not a deal breaker. In your hand they have a nice feel and weight to them. I guess you don't want super heavy glasses to drink booze out of. This is not a weightlifting competition.

I would buy them again for anyone that would like to have crystal drinking glasses, and they are from Waterford.. how can you go wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glasses for Entertaining Distinguished Guests, December 12, 2013
By 
B. Harris (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
These glasses perform very well as beverage holders. Unfortunately the stickers on them that say Waterford are held on by some substance unknown to mortal men. I've tried to pry the stickers off of these glasses and there is always a sticky left-over residue. I'll go out on a limb here and say that if buildings were held together with the same stuff that these stickers are affixed to the glasses with, they would be earthquake proof. Like many women I've known, the glasses are nice, but unremarkable. Unlike many women I've know, the glasses will hold an Old Fashioned for you. Haven't figured out how to get either to make the Old Fashioned, will report back if successful in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and fantastic, October 24, 2012
By 
CH (Stony Brook, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
These are just about the perfect glasses for sipping on a whiskey or mixing a stiff drink. I mainly use these to sip on whiskey with 0-2 cubes of ice, they hold the pour nicely without coming close to the top but you also don't feel like you are drinking from a high ball glass. They are also great if you want to make a small mixed drink, like a gin and tonic, that you don't want to douse in tonic water.

Like a previous reviewer said, simple and elegant. They have a nice weight, solid and even base, and are well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want them, you won't be disappointed., July 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
Great glasses, heavy and the right size. They in fact, do have the rings shown and are easy to see in most light. They are invisible at eye level and below. They start out spaced then get closer as they go to the top, there's like 20 of them.

Sticker that comes on the side of the glass left a nasty film though that took a while to get off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for me!, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
You can tell they are very high quality when you hold them, and that's perfect!
But they don't look too fancy or upscale or pretentious, which is fantastic!

Great for sipping neat or on the rocks. Can do a mixed drink nicely too! Great addition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These glasses are excellent., March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
I bought these for a friend and he loves them. They have a nice weight to them and the are a great addition to any private bar. They are not too small, in my opinion. They are the perfect size for a mixed -- or straight -- drink. Would recommend these glasses to anyone looking for an affordable, classy, and clean cut whiskey glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
Very solid in the hand, and very good looking overall, especially with ice and whiskey.
And not nearly as expensive as their standard crystalware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great set, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
Very nice set...should have bought an additional set, four glasses are not enough. Unfortunetly, one glass was broken soon after we received the order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good weight, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marquis by Waterford Entertaining Collection Vintage 9 -Ounce Old Fashioned, Set of 4 (Kitchen)
Good heavy glasses that hold the perfect amount of liquor when one of those giant ice balls is on the glass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.