Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marriot gift card
I bought a marriott gift card and used it to pay my reservation once i got to the hotel. Before starting my trip i booked a marriot hotel with no down payment required and once there, i could pay the ammount with my card, no problems at all.
Published 19 months ago by Rosa Moreno

versus
30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware before you buy
The other negative reviews, citing the surprising limits of the card, are correct. Here are the terms from the Marriott website:

Marriott TravelCards may be used within the Marriott portfolio of brands, including participating retail, spa, golf, food and beverage outlets. Card is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and is property of and issued by MI Fulfillment...
Published 16 months ago by globalwarrior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware before you buy, May 10, 2013
By 
globalwarrior (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marriott Gift Card Collection (Plastic Gift Certificate)
The other negative reviews, citing the surprising limits of the card, are correct. Here are the terms from the Marriott website:

Marriott TravelCards may be used within the Marriott portfolio of brands, including participating retail, spa, golf, food and beverage outlets. Card is a prepaid card, not a credit card, and is property of and issued by MI Fulfillment Services, LLC. Protect card like cash. This card does not expire. Each transaction will be debited against card balance; if transaction exceeds balance, user must pay the difference. Card is not redeemable for cash and change will not be returned except where otherwise required by applicable law. Card becomes inactive upon use of all card value. Card cannot be applied to group, special corporate/negotiated, catering, associate or other discounted/non-commissionable rates. Card cannot be used when reservation is booked by a travel agent or other third party. Card cannot be used to secure or confirm a reservation. Marriott Rewards points cannot be earned with the use of this card. Lost, stolen or damaged cards will be replaced only if previously registered. Value of replaced card will equal balance on card at the time it was reported lost, stolen or damaged. To check card balance and see complete terms and conditions, visit gifts.marriott.com or call +1.800.442.6132. Use of this card confirms acceptance of terms above.

You'll notice:

1. There's no discount for purchasing the card nor an incentive for buying (ie 5% added to the balance).
2. You CANNOT pay for any negotiated, group or corporate rate. This means you can only use it to pay the HIGHEST published rate.
3. You CANNOT use it on a booking made by a travel agent's OBT (online booking tool) or booked by a travel agent.
4. You will receive NO Marriott rewards points for your stay when payment is made with the card.
5. The card cannot be used to make an online booking. But when you make a non-discounted reservation, you CAN indeed pay with the gift card.
6. After you get angry and realize you cannot use the card for anything except NON-DISCOUNTED rates, Marriott will not allow you to have your money returned.

As a personal note from an individual (that's me), who travels over 200 days a year, such restrictive terms are insulting. The benefit to ANY company of offering a gift card is cash up front. It is guaranteed revenue and the NO REFUND policy is to be expected. But, of course that assumes the card can be used under reasonable terms. This card cannot. My experience with this card was as a gracious reciprocation from a family member ($500 as thanks for help with a business issue...a generous gift which I cannot use).

What is bothersome is that last year my stays totaled approx. $14,600USD at Marriott properties. I have a great corporate rate through my employer and also use negotiated rates available to my clients as well (when they book for my stays in relation to a business meeting). These discounted rates are often as much as 40% off the published non-discounted tariff. So, Marriott has the revenue up front, loaded on the card. But, in order to use it I have to forgo discounts available to me for being a good customer. Also, they refuse to provide me with Rewards points, which, if you know anything about the chain is a loss of benefit and service as a guest.

You can probably tell from my comments this issue has me fired up and spurred me to write a letter to the Marriott, Int'l Inc. Simply put: Marriott is a great organization, provides great properties and really tries to make you comfortable. As a Platinum member, I've had great experiences at their properties, especially at the JW locations. But, this is a BAD product. My letter was sent eleven days ago and I'll post the response once it's received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marriot gift card, February 9, 2013
By 
Rosa Moreno (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought a marriott gift card and used it to pay my reservation once i got to the hotel. Before starting my trip i booked a marriot hotel with no down payment required and once there, i could pay the ammount with my card, no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marriot Scam, January 13, 2013
This review is from: Marriott Gift Card Collection (Plastic Gift Certificate)
Don't buy Marriot gift cards. You cannot not use them to book room with special prepaid rate even if the gift card is fully paid. They want you to get their gift cards so you will give them business and pay a premium to stay at their properties. There is no consumer benefit to pay for a gift card. Biggest consumer rip-off!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift to be used by "walk-in" customers, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just gave it to a relative and they really enjoyed using it. It's easy to use but you cannot use it for making reservations over the internet. You can use it pretty much like cash when you pay for your room at the end of your hotel stay. That's why it's a gift card. People who want to use it will need to make a room reservation using their own major credit card first but then during the check-in process do tell the hotel that you would pay using cash (gift card)at the time of check out--then use this card for check out.

This does bring some limitations on the usage and is a better gift for walk-in than advanced reservation (as one of the reviewers pointed out).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we needed... but read the fine print., September 3, 2013
By 
MDexter (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Be sure to read the fine print about where and when this Marriott Gift Card can be used. It is NOT a debit card and cannot be used to hold a room. But, you can still pay with it. We're satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked With an Issue, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wife and I traveled to the Islands, stayed at a Marriott hotel. No issues. Gift cards worked perfectly. Didn't have to jump through hoops, reserve special rooms, nothing. We checked in, enjoyed our stay, checked out, handed them the cards, walked away. That easy. Always read the details on what you buy before you buy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, August 23, 2013
By 
Mark S. (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great way for a wedding present. Ordered it online and couple had it in 3 business days. Amazing making my job very easy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked Great !!!, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased two $200.00 Marriott gift cards. The cards worked great ! You are allowed to use any discounts that apply to you and check out with the gift cards at the end of your stay. You have to give your regular credit card to reserve the room but, at the end you pay with the gift cards. These cards make perfect gifts for people who like to travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading item name, July 5, 2013
By 
The name of this item is misleading.
It says that this item is a Marriott Gift Card Collection but it is not.
It is a Travel Card, which has different Terms and Conditions.

The true Gift Card has its own terms based on the Marriott website and has less restrictions:

Marriott GiftCards may be used at participating JW Marriott®, EDITION℠, Autograph Collection® Hotels, Renaissance® Hotels, AC Hotels by Marriott℠, Marriott Hotels & Resorts®, Gaylord Hotels®, Courtyard® by Marriott, Fairfield Inn & Suites® by Marriott, SpringHill Suites® by Marriott, Residence Inn® by Marriott, TownePlace Suites® by Marriott and Marriott Vacation Club℠ and participating hotel outlets: retail, spa, golf and food and beverage. Marriott GiftCards may also be used at participating Ritz-Carlton hotels. Card carries no value until activated. Card is a prepaid card, not a credit card or debit card, and is the property of and issued by MI Fulfillment Services, LLC. This card does not expire. Card is not redeemable for cash in any amount except when otherwise required by applicable law. Card becomes inactive upon use of all card value. Card may not be used for deposit, advance purchase or to secure or confirm a reservation. Each transaction will be debited against card balance, if transaction exceeds balance, user must pay the difference. Lost, stolen or damaged cards will be replaced only if previously registered. Value of replaced card will equal balance on card at the time it was reported lost, stolen or damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marriott gift card, April 18, 2013
I think it is ridiculous that I had to put an extra 200 points towards this purchase which means I'm really paying for the gift card instead of earning it with my 10,000 points already accumulated. When is free ever free anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marriott Gift Card Collection
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.