Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Western fun
This is Lacy's debut novel. I really enjoyed this story. Danna is a sheriff and is also a women, Chas is a detective who thinks his job is to save Danna. What I love about the story is that it is different. Danna fell into the job of sheriff after the death of her husband the previous sheriff but she is good at her job she isn't a girly girl. She enjoys her job but the...
Published on September 18, 2011 by Jenny Blake

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marrying Miss Marshall
It's hard for me to think that there was not one femine bone in her body. Sorry, but even a tomboy has something girlie about them. It may be a secret, but there's something. I'm also annoyed because to my knowledge the ONLY dress she puts on is BLUE. Why does the color have a tan dress? I hate inaccuracy. It also needed more fire in it. Really they get married and...
Published 23 months ago by Karen A. Peale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Western fun, September 18, 2011
By 
Jenny Blake "Ausjenny" (Naracoorte South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is Lacy's debut novel. I really enjoyed this story. Danna is a sheriff and is also a women, Chas is a detective who thinks his job is to save Danna. What I love about the story is that it is different. Danna fell into the job of sheriff after the death of her husband the previous sheriff but she is good at her job she isn't a girly girl. She enjoys her job but the some of the towns people are not so sure. Chas is a city boy but also has demons he is dealing with which makes him want to protect Danna even if she doesn't need it. I love how Lacy writes both points of view so you can see why Chas thinks like he does. Add a large dog that tends to cause alot of trouble with some of the locals, seems it has a thing for digging up rose bushes much to the owners annoyance. The book deals with subjects such as fear from past incidents, insecurities and misunderstandings. This was a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marrying Miss Marshal Review, September 24, 2011
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
Danna, a female marshal in Wyoming Territory in 1889 struggles to earn the respect of the townspeople while she fights crime--usually singlehandedly, no thanks to the aloof folks willing to stand by and spectate. When Chas, a handsome, tenderfoot detective hunting cattle rustlers comes along, he complicates her job and awakens romantic feelings they'd both rather keep under wraps.

With a well-woven feel of the historic setting, this book was not only an entertaining and well-paced romance, but the back drop of danger, even mystery, as Danna and Chas hunt the escalating count of criminals adds an enjoyable sense of adventure. And there's plenty of plot twists along the way.

Fans of exciting historical romances will likely find this more than meets their expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good...hard to put down!, September 7, 2011
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Marrying Miss Marshal" is a great read! It is a quick read...becaue you can't put it down!! The intrigue and mysterious happenings keep you on the edge of your seat. I certainly didn't expect a couple of the parts, thinking I knew what was coming up, what was going to happen, only to be completely surprised and eager to read more! If you enjoy a bit of a mystery, a little romance, and faith in God...this one is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback), September 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't praise this book enough. No lagging, pace keeps going well, mystery, hit if romance, characters are interesting, simply great!! Start the book when you have time to finish it, because you will be going to bed with the sunrise if you start it at night! Couldn't put it down! You don't go for pages and pages to get to where they are going, and pages to get back home like some books that it bores you to tears at how much filler they put in it. This is a lean book on fillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational debut book, July 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading this book, and I wish all writers were this talented. In Marrying Miss Marshall, the reader gets a very well written, tightly plotted book with all the things that keeps them coming back for more historical romantic fiction. Engaging, memorable characters pop off the page with action, suspense, chemistry, yearning, heartache, and that happily ever after that's better than you predicted.

Danna Carpenter is a widow, and the town Marshall for a little Wyoming town that is about to explode with crime. Chas O'Grady is a hired investigator new to town, looking into cattle rustling allegations in the area. Their paths are not only about to intersect, but their worlds are about to collide in a star-spinning, thunderstruck attraction that leaves them locked together to solve crime, and protect both the town and their reputations.

This one had me from page one. If you love strong characters, well-written prose, and a plot that keeps you guessing, this is a story you will want to savor and a wonderful new author you will want to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Romance!!, November 5, 2011
By 
Claudia (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Fantastic book! I wish I could give it more than five stars, because this story is really outstanding. It has great characters and a surprising plot. The heroine is very strong I fell in love with her.
This is a well-written story of faith, courage and love. Lacy Willians really is a blessed and gifted storyteller.
If you like Historical Romances and Westerns don't miss this book. It is a page-turner.

Congratulations Lacy Willians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Western Romance, August 26, 2011
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a wonderful first novel by Lacy Williams. She has a flow to her writing that keeps the reader involved in the story. I loved Danna. She is a strong and independent woman who shows no fear when it comes to the job she is commited to doing. But she hides away the softer side of herself and the fears that lie within her heart. Chas is a man who holds himself responsible for something beyond his control and carries that with him along with the hatred towards the one who really is responsible. Can he allow the Lord to be the judge and jury or will he take justice into his own hands? Will Danna find her true worth hidden behind a "mans" job and clothing? You will have to read Marrying Miss Marshal to find out. I look forward to more books by this wonderful writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story!, August 21, 2011
By 
Christina Pereira (Marietta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book and highly recommend it to everyone who loves historical fiction. The book was so well written and told such a great story that I couldn't put it down and I didn't want it to end. There was a good balance between story and action. I enjoyed the backstories about Danna and Chas, because they really filled out the characters and made their struggles more personal. The whole concept of a woman marshal was so unique and Danna was a great character that I really admired. I also don't believe I ever read a story where the main character couldn't read, but when you think about the time period, it was probably more common than historical fiction would lead you to believe. Lacy, please tell me that you have another book in the works. I can't wait to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marrying Miss Marshall, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's hard for me to think that there was not one femine bone in her body. Sorry, but even a tomboy has something girlie about them. It may be a secret, but there's something. I'm also annoyed because to my knowledge the ONLY dress she puts on is BLUE. Why does the color have a tan dress? I hate inaccuracy. It also needed more fire in it. Really they get married and it was no more than luke warn. You can write plenty of sparks without offending anyone and this author didn't do it. Her style of writing just isn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY SUSPENSE., August 29, 2011
This review is from: Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) (Mass Market Paperback)
I LOVE MARRYING MISS MARSHAL. IT`S VERY SUSPENSEFUL FROM START TO THE END.IT ONE YOU HAVE HARD TIME PUTTING DOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical)
Marrying Miss Marshal (Love Inspired Historical) by Lacy Williams (Mass Market Paperback - August 2, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.