Customer Reviews


1,205 Reviews
5 star:
 (864)
4 star:
 (192)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and unbelievably good from start to finish
The release of The Marshall Mathers LP must have driven a whole bunch of Eminem-haters crazy because, with this second album, Eminem proved he was here to stay. In my opinion, this is the best of Eminem's first three albums, taking the rap and hip-hop up more than a few notches from the already lofty heights attained in The Slim Shady LP. This artist's unique personal...
Published on May 14, 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can barely hear anything.
I got the edited one because my mom won't let me get the dirty one. The dirty one is way better because you can't hear anything on the edited one.
1. PSA 2000: they cut this song out
2. Kill You: This is a great example on how horrible edited cd's are. About every 2 seconds somthing is bleeped out and it scews up the song. 1/5
3. Stan: This is a great song...
Published on October 14, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and unbelievably good from start to finish, May 14, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
The release of The Marshall Mathers LP must have driven a whole bunch of Eminem-haters crazy because, with this second album, Eminem proved he was here to stay. In my opinion, this is the best of Eminem's first three albums, taking the rap and hip-hop up more than a few notches from the already lofty heights attained in The Slim Shady LP. This artist's unique personal flair really bursts forth here, giving us beats and rhymes much more complex and musically adept than what had come before. In addition, Eminem has by now thoroughly come into his own. He is intentionally courting controversy, daring his critics and those who would love to have him censored or simply locked away somewhere to step outside with everything they have. Those who will look underneath the violence and the swearing and the offensive remarks Eminem makes in his lyrics will find a deeply complex person with something important to say, a man who does, in his own special way, highlight the kind of real problems many young people face in the modern world, and the accusing fingers he points in all directions often serve to highlight the problems inherent in the individual and society itself. And, as he is wont to say, he is the only person brave enough to say these things.
This album hits the floor running with Kill You, a track announcing to the world Eminem's confidence in himself and rejection of authority and criticism. This level of comfort and confidence proves a great boon to the next track Stan, a song in which he reverses roles and plays the innocent good guy who is too late to help a deeply troubled fan. Eminem marvels at his own stardom in Who Knew and Marshall Mathers, breaks the news to the Eminem-haters that I'm Back, and taunts them all, with a little help from RBX and Sticky Fingez, with the track Remember Me?. The Way I Am is an important song, as Eminem clearly understands that his public persona is not the real Marshall Mathers but is rather whatever the people think he is; to his critics, he will always be a subversive criminal corrupting the youth of America, but to his fans he is something much different. Songs like Amityville (featuring Bizarre from D-12) and ... Please II (with Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Xzibit and Nate Dogg) raise the levels of violence and strong language up to a level that might not appeal to all Eminem fans, but the tracks are very well laid out. Criminal is the perfect ending to the album, a final statement about Eminem's nature and the interpretation of what he does by the public at large. However, the most important track on this second album, in many ways the song that made me a fan, is Kim. This track, a prequel to the first album's Bonnie and Clyde 97, is understandably controversial, seeing as how it is basically a fantasy about Eminem murdering his wife, but in a very, very strange way it is actually a love song of sorts. Few songs can rival it in terms of the immense power it communicates, especially toward the end when Eminem is basically shouting, letting go of all the betrayal and anger he feels inside.
I am not really into rap and hip-hop in general, so it is difficult for me to review albums such as this. Beyond trying to communicate how incredible I think The Marshall Mathers LP is, the main point I would like to make is that no one should simply dismiss this music without listening to it for themselves. Many of those who objectively give Eminem a chance will still hate the guy, but it is much better to determine your own feelings first-hand as opposed to dissing the guy simply because you've heard he is violent and dangerous or because some group has labeled him a bad influence on young people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


242 of 289 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is some SICK & TWISTED FUN!, May 24, 2000
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
If this CD was made by HBO films, it would definitely qualify as a "guilty pleasure"! Lyrically, Eminem is brutally honest and holds no punches - dissing everybody from Will Smith, Britney Spears, President Clinton, Christine Aguilera, Christopher Reeves...and so on. This boy has some serious issues! With 18 tracks deep of punchlines and hooks that hurt, you'll get your money's worth.
Standout cuts are:
"Marshall Mathers" - In his sick-but-honest manner, Em addresses issues that affect him personally like phony family members, Tupac and Biggie's death, and boy bands.
"Stan" - This track displays his true writing talent. In jarring detail, Em displays the thoughts of a troubled fan desparate for his attention.
"Who Knew" - This is aimed directly at parents who blame all the troubles they have with their children on Em and others in the entertainment industry. Definitely worth the listen for those with teens.
"Kim" - Not for those raised in an abusive household. Brutal, in-depth view of a jealous husband/lover with a motive to be "rid" of his girl.
"Criminal" - Twisted and funny (especially the robbery scene). Eminem displays his many personalities with tight lyrics.
Helping to hold this album down are his boys D-12 (Dirty Dozen) from his hometown Detroit. They represent on the demented "Amityville" track and on "Under The Influence".
Compared to his debut album, this album is a lot darker. Please remember folks, this is just entertainment. Relax and enjoy.
-Kenetic Monk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, May 23, 2000
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
"The Marshall Mathers LP" is a stellar stand alone album and it is a more than impressive follow-up to "The Slim Shady LP" (which I thought was a classic)...In his first CD Eminem rapped about his life before he made his first album...in this album he talks about life since his first album...
This album is full of the unbelievable lyrical twisting and word arrangement that has become synonymous with Eminem...(You become so used to hearing his awesome flow that you almost forget how hard it is to give you verse after verse of hot lyrics)...If you are a true hip-hop fan you will love this album...(like Rah Digga said "Checkin for the rhymes not checkin for the track")...Pick any song and you will find more hot lyrics than you would find on the entire album of some of today's "hottest" rappers...don't get me wrong though...the tracks are hot too...
The only place where the album lacks is in the guest appearances...None of the guests on the album can touch Eminem in lyrical skills so they actually sound really wack next to him...(except track 15...Dre, Snoop and Xzibit hold their own)...
If you are familiar with Eminem, the album will not shock you as much as "The Slim Shady LP"...which is good...he has already made it known that he will say anythihg...any further attempt to prove that would be ridiculous...
If you didn't like the last album...or what Eminem has put out since...you won't like this album...This album is full of the same themes, tones and content of his previous work...but if you loved what Eminem has put out before...you will definately love this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, June 6, 2000
By A Customer
The edited version is a great choice for people under 13 or anybody offended by his content. Amazon.com made a mistake. Track 16 is only "Kim" on the explicit version. The song is different and it's called "The Kids". It's much less offensive than "Kim".
Anyway, my fav songs are "Stan", "Marshall Mathers", and "Under the Influence", but all the songs are excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most wicked album ever!, May 23, 2000
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
Having picked up the album on the day of release in England, this is dope! It's a lot better than his first album: don't believe me, check out the album's masterpiece 'Stan' about his obsessive fan! It's, in places, as funny, if not funnier than the 'Slim Shady LP', and will even fulfill you Dre heads with guests including RBX, Dre, X to the Z, Snoop, Nate and Sticky Fingaz, and D-12's own Bizarre. Basically, pick this up, it's hotter than hell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Justified Exercise of Hip-hop virtuosity!, November 27, 2004
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
The Marshall Mathers LP is much more than a revolutionary hip-hop album. The astounding virtuosity of Eminem on this album makes me smile. I hold this album very close to my heart. This album has helped me through some of the darkest, most depressing times of my life. Eminem's hate (whether emulated, simulated, or completely real) is something millions can relate to. Before Eminem, where were hip-hop lovers supposed to turn when burned with hate? Three Six Mafia??? Are they really the only other hate-venting rap group I can think of???

The world needs Eminem. The Marshall Mathers LP is a guilty pleasure of the highest intelligence and caliber. Critics slamming Eminem only amuse me. Maybe they don't know what it's like to be really really angry with no chance of retaliation. What is a suicidal teenager to do? When you're rejected from the hottest females, bullied by the dumbest jocks, and singled out by teachers and parents, what can you do? Listen to Eminem! Don't you people understand? We listen to Eminem because we enjoy life. We enjoy life enough not to resort to horrible acts of violence and hate. Just listening to Eminem allows me to vent the hate I have inside.

This album is timeless. From the public service announcement to the roof burning finale "Criminal," the energy level stays constant. Lyrically, the album is insane, startling, hilarious, and relieving. "Kim" is the one to play when you're extremely angry. It is nothing short of a modern hate masterpiece. Then there's the fun single, "The Real Slim Shady," which bounces along happily thanks once again to Dr. Dre's production. "Who Knew" addresses Eminem's social criticism perfectly. "Stan" is probably the most important track on the album, reminding fans never to resort to mindless idolization. Then there's "The Way I am," a heartfelt complaint of the frustrating fame that comes along with success.

The Marshall Mathers LP will be remembered for decades. It marks Eminem's victorious claim for the hip-hop throne, as well as his liberation of teenagers dealing with the frustrating reality of... life. Eminem is the man and this album is his best stuff to date. Cheers to Dr. Dre and Eminem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Listening, December 31, 2000
By 
Heath Higgs (Heber Springs, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
Whoa. This CD is awesome. I've listened to both the edited and unedited versions and the only difference I found was that bad words are edited and The Kids was on the edited and Kim was on the unedited. They are both great songs. I am 12 years old and have the edite version of the CD. I would recommend the edited for kids my age though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Darkest and Most Vicious Album, February 22, 2003
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
"The Marshall Mathers LP" is without a doubt Eminem's most shocking and disturbing album ever. You can see him grow and mature as an artist with each album. His second album not only surpasses the first one, it knocks it clear out of orbit! Just when I thought he couldn't possibly get any more disturbing than he was on "The Slim Shady LP," he surprised me yet again.
Be warned, this isn't for anyone who cannot stand offensive lyrics and disturbing content. This is Eminem's darkest and most vicious album, and he does not hold his mouth back for a second. As disturbing as his songs can get, he still is able to craft them magnificently. It isn't just an album filled with non-stop profanities or obscurity, there's actually a structure and a plan to it all.
As good as this album is, the only small problem I have with it is that it seems more shocking than honest. If you've heard his newer album, then you'll know what I mean. While he is very lyrically honest at times, it just seems like he says things specifically for shock value. The greatness behind "The Eminem show" was that the shocking and honesty was very well balanced. Still, this is an outstanding second album that still impresses me today.
I like very song on the album, but my favorites are "kill you," "stan," "I'm back," "marshall mathers," "the way I am," "kim," "criminal," and "the real slim shady." They're really all very good and there's not one song I dislike at all.
Eminem's "The Marshall Mathers LP" is a dark and relentless album that will shock and impress many. Again, this is not for anyone who does not like offensive lyrics. Just keep in mind most of his songs are said in jest or are the "heat-of-the-moment" feelings, which leads to the songs sounding intense. If you are an Eminem fan and have not checked out this album yet, this is something you should think about the next time you want to get a great CD. Eminem just keeps improving more and more as an artist. Each album gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem's Second Album Hits The Top, November 1, 2000
By 
Frosty (Tarzana, CA USA) - See all my reviews
If you are considering buying this CD, I strongly encourage it. I understand many of you are forced to buy the edited version instead of the explicit versions, and are expecting dissapointment. You should be in for a pleasant surprise. The CD is better than the explicit version. "Kim" a violent, vulgar, boring song is replaced by a hilarious song callled "The Kids", in which Eminem uses his great voice talents in a number of roles tellign a hilarious story through song. Classic Slim Shady. Another outstanding song is the hit "The Real Slim Shady", a great song with a catchy chorus. Another great song is the sad, but realistic song "Stan", about a fan that kills himself and his pregnant girlfriend because Eminem doesn't respond to his letters. It shows the real Marshall Mathers. Other songs worth mentioning are "The Way I Am" (very catchy backbeat, great lyrics), and "Criminal" (cool lyrics). If you are still contemplating whether or not to buy this CD, take my word for it and purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem avoids the sophomore slump, May 24, 2000
This review is from: The Marshall Mathers LP (Audio CD)
Wow! Many lack luster artists run out material by their second album, but Eminem has not only come up with new original songs, he's matured as an artist as well. Much of the album deals with Eminem's reaction to sudden stardom and his reflection on The Slim Shady LP. Listeners will notice this right away with PSA 2000. Where PSA from the Slim Shady LP was a warning, PSA 2000 is Eminem's response to criticism. "Stan" and "Marshall Mathers" are both excellent tracks that express a new Eminem who has experienced the goods and the bads of what it means to be famous. Yet Eminem lets us know that he has not changed, other people's perception of him has changed. Eminem weaves all of his emotions into the trademark lyrical style that earned him a Grammy. The downside of Eminem's original style is that guest rappers on the album seem out of place at times. All in all, The Marshall Mathers LP is a brilliant follow-up to his wildly successful debut album. Fans will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marshall Mathers Lp
Marshall Mathers Lp by Eminem (Audio Cassette - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.