Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cold Prey II
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2016
I would actually rate this 3.5 stars out of five, since it's not quite as good as the first film, but it's better than just okay, so 4 stars it is. This movie picks up right where the last one left off, and it hits all the high notes of a slasher sequel. It helps if you've already seen part 1, but you can watch this film without it, because the storytelling allows a new audience to suspect someone the old audience already knows is alright. It's a very clever trick of perspective. (Minor spoilers ahoy) Jannicke is brought to a hospital for treatment, but she's not safe yet. This hospital is on the verge of being closed down and has a skeleton crew and just a few straggler patients left - the better to create a sense of isolation and desolation when the killer winds up stalking the halls. I'll leave the how of that turn of events spoiler free, but suffice it to say it is no more ridiculous than anything the Friday the 13th or Halloween franchises have come up with. This time around we have a new director who is not as averse to using silly jump scares as Roar Uthaug was in Part 1, but to make up for it, we get some of the spookiest "don't open that door" moments I've seen lately on film. We also have a cast of characters who make decisions that are not intrinsically bone-headed. Even when you wish they wouldn't do that thing they're about to do, you understand the reason why they're going to do it anyway. This is very much worth the watch if you've seen Part 1, and I wouldn't warn people who haven't seen Part 1 away from it either. I'm going to look into Part 3, which I understand is an origin story. Not sure if I want to see that one yet though. Part 2 was actually quite satisfying as a capper to this tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
This is how the first one should have been made.
Better story line. Better actors. Obviously different director. More serious acting. Young Ingrid Bolsø Berdal's talent is not wasted in this and in fact this is just the boost she needed to make a leap to bigger productions. And no useless chuckles throughout the movie as a substitute for lousy dialog as in CP1. It is also refreshing to see Fridtjov Såheim of lilyhammer in this. And the best part is it’s not overdubbed. Just can’t take overdubbed moves serious. Although slooow moving, this is a good entertaining quiet slasher. Original voices and accents alone are worth at least 3 starts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
I re-watched Cold Prey to refresh my memory because Cold Prey II starts where the original left off. Many sequels try to imitate the first, but Cold Prey II doesn't do that at all. It's a fresh, but disturbing, experience. If you enjoyed the first, you'll like this one. There's no dubbing, so subtitles are provided. My only problem with that was that the subtitles were white. Yellow is much easier to follow. (I hear there's a third installment. I haven't been able to find it. If anyone knows how I can get Cold Prey 3, I'd be very grateful.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
This is a pretty fun movie to watch, an improvement on the first. Honestly this movie has been done a thousand times, it reminds me of 'I still know what you did last summer' but i'd say still good acting, and a 'sorta new' plot make it interesting enough to find it fun. If your looking for something terrifying, unless your 12, this isn't for you but if your looking for fun this might just hit the spot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
Masked killer thought to be dead, at hospital, killing everyone, I enjoy Chase movies, villain chasing not so helpless lady,this was a pretty good movie, to me better than the first.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
Good movie. The subtitles were fine. There was very little talking and lots of action. Worth the money and your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
Excellent movie with great acting! The sequel was as good as the original and that's not an easy accomplishment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Very good! Must watch the original before watching this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
Cold Prey 2 would have been a great sequel to a fantastic part one. But what happened to common sense decisions, as pointed out

by someone for the first movie. Did commmon sense all of a sudden fly out the window for part two. As dangerous as this killer was,

why didn't this young lady pump three bullets into him when he was on the ground, to finish it.

Also, at the ending, the heroine all of a sudden displays excellent pick axe throwing skills, taking out the psycho killer with

one throw, and bringing down the credibilty factor a notch for this film.

I don't mean to be overly critical, but if you had just tweaked this film a bit, it would have been a phenominal part II. Remember

the viewing audience out here responds to believability and credibility.

Cordially, Denis C. Berte'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
snore fest EU style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99
$4.99
$4.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.