Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Great Stage Presence and Great Cinematography
I've not seen Steve Martin in concert with the Steep Canyon Rangers and Edie Brickell so I can't compare the concert captured in this DVD and CD to real life experience. The video does a great job of making you feel almost as if you were there and the production quality of the CD is as good as any studio recording you'll find.

What makes this Live release so...
Published 5 months ago by GNP

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
received 2 CDs, only 1 worked.
Published 4 days ago by Dympna McFadden


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Great Stage Presence and Great Cinematography, March 15, 2014
By 
GNP (Neenah, Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I've not seen Steve Martin in concert with the Steep Canyon Rangers and Edie Brickell so I can't compare the concert captured in this DVD and CD to real life experience. The video does a great job of making you feel almost as if you were there and the production quality of the CD is as good as any studio recording you'll find.

What makes this Live release so enjoyable for me is the variety of music performed. Steve Martin is a stellar banjo player. Edie Brickell has an absolutely beautiful singing voice. The Steep Canyon Rangers offer top-notch singing and instrumentation. All are in fine form here as this release captures what each of them brings to the collaboration much better than Love Has Come for You, their recent studio release. Each of the three is featured or leads at several points in the concert, with great results. Steve Martin also appears to have been working on his singing voice, as he sings more here than in previous releases, and does so well.

Both discs feature tracks from The Crow (Steve Martin), Rare Bird Alert (Steve with the Steep Canyon Rangers), Love Has Come for You (Steve, the Rangers and Edie Brickell) and from Tell the Ones I Love (Steep Canyon Rangers) in addition to a couple of new songs. The DVD captures the concert as it happened, including the introductions and discussions between songs and the comings and goings of the artists. The CD has just the songs but in a different order than the DVD. Both are interesting and entertaining in their own right.

I mentioned the variety of music in this release. The concert includes Steve Martin soloing on two songs, the Steep Canyon Rangers by themselves for two songs of their own material, Steve and the Rangers playing as an ensemble, and all of them plus Edie Brickell. The concert is mostly vocal songs, but there are a few instrumentals mixed in to great effect. There is also a mix of more hard-driving fast-paced music and slower, more lyrical music.

I've only listened to the CD twice and the DVD once so far, but I think that Auden's Train and The Crow are the picks of the litter for me. The fiddle playing is as outstanding in Auden's Train as the banjo playing is in The Crow. Being able to watch the playing on the DVD only enhanced my enjoyment of both songs - and the entire concert.

The one thing that caught me off guard with the two discs was that the video has two more songs than the CD and that they are not in the same order as each other. When I recorded the CD to put it on my iPod, the title tracks on the back cover of the dust jacket were for the video. That had me scratching my head until I found the liner notes booklet and saw the differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly great from start to finish!, March 11, 2014
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
It's amazing how Steve Martin just keeps on keepin' on! Great comedy, great songwriting, great performances, Steep Canyon and Edie just mind-numbingly good, this set has it all! Yes, a Grammy seems to be in the pocket already!

P.S., even my teenage son, who's into rap and hip-hop, sat down to watch this with his nerdy parents! NOW THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly two hours of great music and laughs (and that’s just the DVD – you get a CD too!), March 18, 2014
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to get to see what became known among the “bluegrass music set” as “The Steve and Edie Tour” (older folks will understand the reference to the husband and wife duo Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme) when it came through Philly last year. I loved the previous CDs by Martin (both with and without the SCRs) and I’ve seen the SCRs play concerts and have reviewed their CDs as well. Then of course, there was the 2013 Grammy –winning album “Love Has Come For You” that featured all new songs with lyrics by Mrs. Paul Simon (a/k/a Edie Brickell) and lyrics by Martin. All of this comes together in this package which features the full performance in HD from a historic California theater on an 1 2/4 hour DVD plus a CD with just the musical numbers (well most as a CD can only hold so much music).

Martin is funny – and so are the Steeps (Brickell plays it straight) – but he is also talented in the music department. There are at least four different banjos on stage and – unlike some “celebrity” musicians – Martin actually tunes his own banjos! The nice thing about the combo pack is that, after hearing the comic introductions and stage talk, you probably don’t want to hear them again too often. But, with the CD you get the best of music performed on Martin’s album “The Crow”, the Steeps own CD and, of course, songs from the Steve and Edie album – this time with more instrumental backing.

If you don’t own the Steve and Edie CD, you will definitely want this set. If you have that already, then you’ll want this one too for the visuals as well as the comedy. And you should also check out the Steeps own CDs. They are great.

Highly recommended.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
“Anything Phonographic”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live performance, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
If you like bluegrass music this will become your favorite. The live performance was like magic. One of the best shows I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat, March 17, 2014
By 
M. S. Radowski (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching the video (shared it with the whole family). The music is breathtaking. It is nice to hear a group of people who can actually sing and don't require 'tuning' to get the pitch right. Would truly love to see them in person, which is not something I typically say about musical groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five-star two-fer, May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
The new Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers (with Edie Brickell) Live is a wonderful two-for-one gift -- with the CD of the concert, you also get a DVD showing it as filmed. The DVD version includes all of the introductions, jokes, some comic routines (not all of which work) and a real feel for what it was like to be at the show. There are a few new songs that have not appeared on any of Steve's bluegrass CDs to date, the best of which is called "Pretty Little One." In that "story song" Steve plays the bad guy and Edie his victim. The song's finale will give you a bit of a chill, and a laugh, and (perhaps) give you an additional perspective about Edie's recent run-in with the law over an argument she had with her husband Paul Simon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could watch - and listen- to this CD/DVD over and over again., March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable! Saw Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers in concert (my first FRONT row concert ever) and loved them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD & DVD combo, April 29, 2014
By 
avianlk (Monument, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Great CD & DVD combo! If you're just a casual listener like I am you'll enjoy this. All the songs from the DVD are not on the CD, but most are. I particularly enjoyed the DVD. It included comments by Steve at the concert as well as by others in the group. Great value! ☺
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessed, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Cannot stop listening to this CD. The only negative is I wish I knew how to play Banjo!!! Foot Tapping Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOW THAT IS MUSIC TO MY EARS, April 26, 2014
By 
DONA (PITTSBURGH, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell Live [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I just love this new work Steve Martin is doing! The Bluegrass is real and the Steep Canyon Rangers are absolutely excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.