Marty McGuire Digs Worms! and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$4.89
Qty:1
  • List Price: $5.99
  • Save: $1.10 (18%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Marty McGuire Digs Worms! has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Marty McGuire Digs Worms! Paperback – April 1, 2012


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.89
$2.95 $0.01
Preloaded Digital Audio Player
"Please retry"
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime
$4.89 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Marty McGuire Digs Worms! + Marty McGuire + Marty McGuire Has Too Many Pets!
Price for all three: $22.74

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 4 - 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - 3
  • Series: Marty Mcguire
  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press (April 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0545142474
  • ISBN-13: 978-0545142472
  • Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.4 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #73,676 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

On top of the amazing character and story, Marty McGuire is a great resource for the classroom. The whole story in this 2nd installment fits perfectly with any Earth Day activity or unit that a teacher is planning.... The whole book is about science experiments, inquiry, observing, and journaling!! 

~from Teach Mentor Texts



Praise for MARTY MCGUIRE:

"Messner gets all the details of third grade right [and] Floca's black-and-white sketches are filled with movement and emotion...Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona."
--KIRKUS

About the Author

Kate Messner is the author of THE BRILLIANT FALL OF GIANNA Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; SUGAR AND ICE; EYE OF THE STORM; CAPTURE THE FLAG; SEA MONSTER'S FIRST DAY; OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW; and the Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at www.katemessner.com.

Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of MOONSHOT: THE FLIGHT OF APOLLO 11 and LIGHTSHIP, both Sibert Honor Books. He has illustrated Avi’s award-winning Poppy series and, most recently, Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan’s BALLET FOR MARTHA: MAKING APPALACHIAN SPRING. Brian grew up in Texas and now lives in Brooklyn, New York. Find him online at www.brianfloca.com.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Catherine Nichols on May 31, 2012
Format: Paperback
You have to hand it to a third-grader who has no qualms about shredding her collection of princess paper dolls (unwanted gifts from a well-meaning but clueless grandmother) in order to recycle paper. In this second book of the series the students in Marty's school are on a mission to save the earth. A visiting environmentalist challenges the students to come up with projects to help the environment. When the glop of paper dolls fails to materialize into paper (and breaks the food processor to boot), Marty chooses a new project. With the help of Grandma Barb, her cool non-paper-doll-giving grandmother, Marty and her best friend Annie create a worm compost farm that will turn the leftovers from the school cafeteria into fertilizer.

Worms and third-graders make for an explosive mix, especially in the hands of Kate Messner. After the kids overfeed their slimy charges, the worms escape and Marty and Annie have to capture them. Patience isn't Marty's strong point, but over the course of the story she learns to wait for her worms to slowly process trash into compost. On the big day, the environmentalist returns to judge the projects. Will Marty's worms win or won't they? Messner cleverly keeps readers at the edge of their seats as the winners are announced and brought on stage.

Marty is an engaging character, one whom kids will be sure to root for. And the environmentalist message, while prevalent, is rarely heavy handed. The students at Orchard Street Elementary genuinely care about saving the environment. One girl, whose father sometimes throws soda cans in the regular trash and not the recycling bin, sets up a metal detector that will buzz if aluminum goes in. As she explains, "I really wanted to set it up so he'd get zapped with a shock, too, like those electric dog fences, but my mom said I couldn't." The story is heavily sprinkled with such humorous tidbits, making it an enjoyable read. Brian Floca's light-hearted illustrations add to the fun.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By X10Khan on June 20, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Reading this aloud to my 4-yr old daughter and she loves Marty and her antics with saving the Earth and navigating the complex social life of a 3rd grader
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I think that this was a great book and I think that the author did a great job with all of the details!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As part of our summer reading program "Dig Into Reading" at the Georgetown County library we are reading Marty McGuire Digs Worms. One of our summer projects is a worm farm. This book will fit in perfectly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?