Marty McGuire and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $5.99
  • Save: $1.10 (18%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Marty McGuire Paperback – May 1, 2011


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.89
$0.90 $0.01
Preloaded Digital Audio Player
"Please retry"
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


Frequently Bought Together

Marty McGuire + Marty McGuire Digs Worms! + Marty McGuire Has Too Many Pets!
Price for all three: $22.32

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Top 20 Books for Kids
See the books our editors' chose as the Best Children's Books of 2014 So Far or see the lists by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12 | Nonfiction

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 10 years
  • Grade Level: 2 - 5
  • Series: Marty Mcguire
  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks (May 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0545142466
  • ISBN-13: 978-0545142465
  • Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.2 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #53,276 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Kate Messner is the author of THE BRILLIANT FALL OF GIANNA Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; SUGAR AND ICE; EYE OF THE STORM; CAPTURE THE FLAG; SEA MONSTER'S FIRST DAY; OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW; and the Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at www.katemessner.com.

Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of MOONSHOT: THE FLIGHT OF APOLLO 11 and LIGHTSHIP, both Sibert Honor Books. He has illustrated Avi’s award-winning Poppy series and, most recently, Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan’s BALLET FOR MARTHA: MAKING APPALACHIAN SPRING. Brian grew up in Texas and now lives in Brooklyn, New York. Find him online at www.brianfloca.com.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

From Marty McGuire

That nice Mrs. Lramer lied to me about the third grade.

On the last day of school, she gave us cupcakes with sprinkles and little beach umbrellas and said have a super-duper summer and she'd wave to us in the hallway next year. She said third grade would be even more fun than second grade. She said we'd read bigger books and keep our old friends and make new ones and even get to be in the school play.

None of it is true. Because Veronica Grace Smithers has stolen my best friend and taken over recess.


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 20 customer reviews
Marty is a very likeable character.
SallMallReads
This fun and funny story is a great first chapter book for boys and girls ready to leap into more advanced reading.
Amy Guglielmo
I bought this book yesterday for my 3rd grade girl.
JetSetMom

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By E. R. Bird HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on July 19, 2011
Format: Hardcover
It's high time "tomboys" rescued their term from its negative connotations. One very rarely runs across parents who use the word with pride. It happens, sure, but more often than not it's paired with a complaint. Same goes for tomboys in children's books. They exist but they tend to appear in works of historical fiction more often than not. The contemporary tomboy is, oddly enough, relatively rare these days. Maybe that's one of the reasons I loved Kate Messner's "Marty McGuire" as much as I did. Not only do you have a genuine one-of-a-kind 21st century tomboy on your hands, she's rejecting the princess culture too! Finding great early chapter books can be an enormous chore. Now "Marty" makes my job as a children's librarian that much easier.

Second grade was fine. Marty had no beef with second grade. But for all that her second grade teacher made third grade sound like a bed of roses, Marty is having a rough time of it. Her best friend Annie has been stolen by princess-loving girly girl Veronica Grace and now she won't go frog hunting or do any of the other fun things she used to with Marty. So when the school play is announced (The Frog Prince) guess who's shocked and appalled when she ends up with the role of the princess? That's right. Marty has to be seriously convinced that this is a good plan and even then she's reluctant. Fortunately, actors always have little tricks to make their roles their own. And Marty has a trick up her sleeve that's a doozy.

The rise of the princess culture is a relatively recent phenomenon. I'm referring to the abject shameless marketing to little girls of anything and everything princessy. It didn't really exist when I was a kid, only hitting its stride in the last decade or so.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By JetSetMom on May 4, 2011
Format: Paperback
I bought this book yesterday for my 3rd grade girl. She started reading it last night and could not go to sleep until she finished it! She absolutely raved about it the next morning and just loved the concept of a "tomgirl" being cast as a princess!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Amy on August 1, 2011
Format: Paperback
I must say I didn't read but a few chapters, but I give it two thumbs up! My daughter is about to enter 3rd grade and has a difficult time selecting books that are fit her reading level and her idea of sophistication (chapter books with at least 80 pages). This one hit the mark in a big way - she was reading it before camp and in the evenings and even at lunch sometimes. Yeah!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Beverly L. Archer VINE VOICE on July 6, 2011
Format: Paperback
From the back of the book:

"That nice Mrs. Kramer lied to me about third grade. On the last day of school, she gave us cupcakes with sprinkles and little beach umbrellas and said have a super-duper summer and she'd wave to us in the hallway next year. She said third grade would be even more fun than second grade. She said we'd read bigger books and keep our old friends and make new ones and even get to be in the school play.

None of it is true. Because Veronica Grace Smithers has stolen my best friend and taken over recess."

In the tradition of Ramona, Clementine, and Judy Moody, Marty McGuire is quite a character. I loved this story. This is an excellent book for young readers who are ready to move beyond Junie B. Jones (parents will like Marty better than Junie.) Marty is a strong character who deals with the challenges of changing friendships, bossy classmates and the typical pitfalls of being a third grader. Marty's relationships with her friends and family are very realistic and will strike a chord in young readers.

This is one of my favorite new finds! I can't wait to read more about Marty's adventures.

Recommended for 3rd Grade and up.

Mrs. Archer's rating 5 of 5!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Bella Mitchell on May 17, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved this book because it talked about a play and I read what happens in the play. I request this book to Erica Postma.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
really quite interesting and fun for kids!cute illustrations and intertaining,but VERY short. I loved it at once. Cool fact too! I didn't know that .
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Lana Hathaway on February 6, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Purchased it for my Grand daughter who loves to read stories out loud to me. She has finished it already.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Kristi Hinds on January 28, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My daughter completed a battle of the books competition, & this was one of her favs, so yes, we'd purchase again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?