Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars played it first on a ps2, now got it for 360. HIGH REPLAYABILITY!!!
First off, I'm no hardcore gamer. I just happened to be browsing some gaming magazine when the ad got me. Being a big fan of the comics, I decided to give it a try. I mean, come on, who wouldn't want to be able to pair up Spidey with Iceman and The Human Torch and whoever catches your fancy? And the game delivers a lot of punch in many ways. The difference between this...
Published on May 16, 2007 by Shann Yu

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch OUT
Although i love this game (my all time fav for xbox) the disc i received was scratched all to hell and they still charged me 60 bucks.
Published 5 months ago by eric


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars played it first on a ps2, now got it for 360. HIGH REPLAYABILITY!!!, May 16, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First off, I'm no hardcore gamer. I just happened to be browsing some gaming magazine when the ad got me. Being a big fan of the comics, I decided to give it a try. I mean, come on, who wouldn't want to be able to pair up Spidey with Iceman and The Human Torch and whoever catches your fancy? And the game delivers a lot of punch in many ways. The difference between this game and the normal edition is this edition comes with 8 extra characters that are already available as xb live downloadable content.

GAMEPLAY: Campaign mode is pretty straightforward. You can walk through the entire thing and it makes for a lot of gametime. It is kind of reminiscient of the Ninja Turtle series from back in the 90's where you pretty much follow a straight map (except in this case, there are some side rooms that you can explore in each level), kill some enemies, get to a minor boss, kill more enemies, then get to the final boss. Obviously, you have to expect the occasional roadblock - 'What am I going to do to get past this flaming doorblock?' situations where simple puzzles can come in play, but overall, getting through levels is a sort of linear kind of thing. The whole game probably takes about 18-25hrs to beat on normal. But then you won't necessarily unlock all the superheroes and costumes and whatnot. The side simulator missions are also a lot of fun and add an extra leveling up element to the game, so I guess that's what keeps you going. You unlock hard mode after beating normal once. Very replayable game, I've already beaten the story at least 4 times across three difficulty levels. GRADE: A

THE RPG ELEMENT: Activision markets this as an action/rpg game, and while there is lots of action (as I mentioned, the Ninja Turtle game flashback it brought me), there are elements of RPG. Whenever you pick up 'money' on the map and level up, you can spend points leveling up character skills and abilities. The items you equip your characters with will also matter in the same way. The system is rather straightforward and being my first game from the 'series' (apparently this is the successor to some XMen Legends game?), it did not take me long to learn about where this element kicks in. GRADE: A

THE CO-OP ELEMENT: Co-op is awesome and I definitely prefer that to playing alone. You can team up with 1-3 of your friends for some 2-4 player co-op. xb Live allows for some smooth gameplay even while online. While camera views can be annoying at times, you can easily tell that the programmers put a lot of time into making co-op gameplay here really smooth. One weird thing about this though, with comic missions, the main character is controlled by one player and enemies which are, surprise surprise, not controlled by the AI if you've been playing co-op. Kind of eliminates that whole challenge feel to it if you look at it in one way. GRADE: A+

GRAPHICS: Almost comical. Not as in funny comical, but as in like the comic books. Graphics looked much better than on a PS2, but still there were some problems. Heck, the cinematics looked awesome. But for the most part, gameplay graphics were pretty tight. I found some of the animations rather sorry, like the lime green-ness, almost-to-the-state-of-previous-gen-ness of the Fin Fang Foom, but other than that, I really don't have much complaints. So don't expect Gears of War graphics here. GRADE: B+

STORY: Any game that can capture the essence of every superhero's personality while at the same time painting this captivating story as it unravels gets my props. Although sometimes, in the middle of a mission, the small things that go wrong that you and your group must fix up, these things can make you lose sight of the big picture. GRADE: B+

COMPLAINTS:
- Dialogue is kind of key in this game for the most part. At times dialogue pops up in the worst time (immediately after a fight) such that I found me or one of my friends mistakenly hitting the 'continue' button (A) right through the dialogue as if the fight was still going on (A = the attack button).
- Reviving characters: So in battle, if one of your group gets KO'ed, there's a resting period. When the resting period is over, a message pops up saying that the character of interest is fully rested, but instead of letting him/her pop out just as if to rejoin the group, you always have to get to some save point to activate that character again.

---
Once again, being not that hardcore of a gamer, I can't really say much in the way of in-depth game reviews. But here's the bottom line:

- This game is definitely one to be played co-op. My brother and I grew up playing these types of games and having hours and hours of fun together with these (heh... Ninja Turtles).
- Don't get this if you're looking for straight RPG. True, there is an RPG element, but not as much in the way of world-exploration and stuff that have surrounded some of the world's best RPGs.
- This game is mission-based, with different levels separated into 5 acts that will load from your home base. Think Splinter Cell or soldier FPS games where you have one level, side missions that pop up when things screw up, and then an overall mission goal that must be beaten for you to return to home base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOLD EDITION, May 20, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Basically for those who dont know, the Gold Edition of UA is basically the patches and hero/villian pack you can buy for 800 gamer points off Xbox Live, This is worth buying if you dont own it already, if you do, your better off just getting a gamer point card for 20$ and downloading the hero/villian pack. However for first time players, get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awesome!, July 9, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition is definitely my favorite game on the XBOX 360 at the moment, especially with the added content and extra characters that was made available on XBOX Live in April 2007. We are talking about Magneto, Doctor Doom, Sabretooth, Venom, Cyclops, Nightcrawler, The Hulk and Hawkeye here, and they all complement the overall story nicely. The added achievements are also a bonus, but I am not really an achievement fanatic, so I didn't pay much attention to that aspect of the game (except for what happens when Doom actually talks to Doom, and the game developers explain it nicely). Surprisingly, my favorite characters are Cyclops and Magneto, with Venom third on the list. These three are fun to play with, but it also goes for the rest of the roster. I never really cared much for Hawkeye, but it's cool to include him in an Avengers team consiting of Thor, Cap, and Shellhead, and makes you feel like an actual member of the original team. The new characters come with a lot of stunning costumes, powers and upgrades that made me play the game through Hard mode twice just to see if I could level up everybody (I couldn't, but what the hey, I'm going back for more). The replay value is great, especially when you're playing online against friends or strangers or just playing with someone at home. Of course, up to four players can play without going online, but I haven't tried this yet (my friends are more into sport games). The rest of the cast holds up well and is just as much fun to play with as the original Marvel Ultimate Alliance. If you already bought the previous incarnation of this game it is probably not worth picking up the Gold Edition since content can be downloaded, but I would definitely recommend the Gold Edition to anyone interested in the Marvel Universe and any comic fan in general who hasn't played this game yet. Villains like Scorpion, Rhino, Shocker, Radioactive man, Winter Soldier, The Lizard, Loki, Galactus, Mysterio, Paibok, Super Skrull, Kurse, Mephsto and Blackheart, Mandarin and a host of others make appearances. My favorite character to play with from the original line-up remains the Silver Surfer, but its hard to unlock him since all the comic book missions have to be completed at a certain level. This game is definitely worth your time for the non-stop action, clever dialogue and tons of Marvel easter eggs for us Marvellites out there. Buy it, Buy it Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An upgrade of a near-perfect game., May 29, 2007
By 
trashcanman (Hanford, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I had an absolute blast with this game. It combines old-school arcade beat-em-up madness with RPGish character advancement, a fantastic story, and let us not forget a roster of some 140 classic Marvel comics characters, over 30 playable. Then, of course, there is the much-hyped option of creating and naming your own superhero dream team. You start out with four heroes of your choice and the more you team these characters up on missions, the more experience and prestige your team gains. This leads you to upgrade your mighty force with great stat bonuses and an expanded roster. Cool, cool stuff if you're a fan of comics or superheroes in general. If you're a wise gamer, you can send any of several Avengers line-ups, the X-men, or the Fantastic Four along with many other "secret" teams into battle together and receive extra team bonuses as a reward. There are also some awesome sequences where your team all use their "extreme" powers at once. Picture this: Blade throws several vials of his serum into the air, shooting them so they explode into a deadly mist that damages the enemies, Spiderman then swings across the screen blasting every foe with webbing and ensnaring them as they are still recoiling from Blade's assault, Deadpool leaps into the air, flipping sideways in slow motion as he sprays the villains (now ensnared in webbing) with twin SMG's just as the Human Torch starts raining fire and Brimstone over the whole screen. That, my friends, is some hardcore superhero a**-kicking.

The story will take you throughout the Marvel Universe to other galaxies, under the sea, to the realm of the gods fo Asgard, and even to the depths of Mephisto's hellish underworld as you battle the Masters of Evil, an ambitious coalition of supervillains headed by Dr. Doom himself. The extra missions you complete (or don't) during the course of your journeys will all affect the game's ending; so though you may have saved the universe, depending on what side missions you did or didn't complete you are shown the future that has been created by your actions or lack thereof. My first time through, for example, I did much good and brought peace between some former enemies of humanity and helped defeat many future threats, but the combination of events that came about because of some details I neglected during gameplay doomed some of my favorite heroes of all in the end. I've never seen a story mode handled quite like this and it's very rewarding and really adds to the replay value of the game. All right, on to the characters. It would have been nice to play as the Namor, the Vision, or [insert your favorite obscure Marvel hero here], but the playable roster is an impressive combination of legendary mainstays like Spiderman, Wolverine, and Iron Man and hardcore fan-pleasers like Dr. Strange, Moon Knight, and the aforementioned merc with the mouth, Deadpool. Heck, even the cosmic power of the Silver Surfer is yours to command so who's to complain? Furthermore, this new Gold Edition includes Venom, Magneto, and the Hulk as well as 5 more extra characters to choose from and new dialogue added to the game just for them. There are many legendary Marvel villains and heroes that are MIA (no Punisher? Doh!), and some minor fanboy complaints about the upgradeable uniforms (why is Spidey's symbiote costume less powerful than his original cloth one?), but that just means that there is still room for this awesome franchise to get even better next time around.

Fans of the "X-men Legends" games will find the gameplay more than a little familiar (see: nearly identical) and will find some favorite characters from those games playable as well, but with some new tricks. You gotta love Colossus picking up enemies and using them to club their comrades; that's just good times all around. There are also interactive segments, mini-games if you will, that are pretty fun and look cool as hell. Running over psychotic clowns in a bumper car springs immediately to mind; and several of the larger boss battles and other situations have button sequences that need to be pushed as they appear to perform context-sensitive moves that look cool as hell. Then there's those games of old-school "Pitfall", and "Arkanoid" you play in Murderworld... Plenty to do in this game. You'll also earn several unlockable (and upgradeable!) alternate costumes for each hero and solo (or "comic") training missions for the playable heroes in the game if you can hunt down their discs. These missions are a godsend and allow you to learn each individual hero's abilities outside of the chaotic team battles and engage in some memorable duels with classic villains (Elektra vs Bullseye: round 2? You know you want it!). I only wish that each character's missions were a little more customized; they all consist of one of the same four or five levels with different bosses at the end.

Some of the cutscenes in the game look unbelievable (there is a Nightcrawler sequence that rivals the one in the 2nd X-Men film) while others are rather unpolished. The voice acting is spotty at best, but several of the character's voices closely resemble their animated counterparts and it's fun to hear your heroes banter during battle and the graphics during gameplay are a massive improvement over "X-Men Legends", so there's really very little to complain about.

Online multiplayer also looks to be a big draw this time out. There is 4-player cooperative where everyone shares and shares alike, and competitive where your baddie-stomping statistics are tracked for bragging rights and to the winners go the spoils. You can even play the comic missions with one player as the fearless hero and the rest of the players controlling the hordes of enemies. The fun just keeps on coming.

This is one of those games where, even after you've beaten it, you simply can't wait to start it over and play through it in a different way. This is an up of an incredible game and if you missed it the first time around, then now is a good time to catch up. If you bought the older version, the extra content is available for download on Xbox Live so I wouldn't recommend buying this edition just for that. Personally, I'm still relishing every action-packed second of M:UA and whether you're an average gamer who loves to mash buttons and kick tail, a hardcore comic geek looking for an epic adventure featuring your favorite heroes, an RPG fan who enjoys lots of customization, or just a person looking for a game you pick up and play with your friends at home or online this is that game. Buy it, own it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Old" People Unite!, December 11, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you define old as "my first game system was pong" then I am old. I stopped buying game systems when my PS1 Tomb Raider games started giving me headaches. My nephew has an XBOX 360 and, being a comic book fan, I decided to try Ultimate Alliance. Well, now I own a copy. I don't know how it compares to other games, but it is a great game if you want to act out your favorite characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay the asking price here!, September 29, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You can buy this game at Gamestop for under $30. The prices they are asking here are RIDICULOUS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is a very fun game and the Gold Edition is worth it as it adds more characters as well as allows you to get all the achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it !!!!, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
It came in perfect time for Christmas and boy was my son surprised. He said it is the best game ever !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only option now..., December 8, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Here's the thing when I say that this is the only option. If you want to play as a lot of the extra characters that were initially released as downloadable content, then the Gold Edition is what you need. Since Disney purchased Marvel, the DLC has been removed from the marketplace, making this the only way to play as such figures as Magneto and Dr. Doom.

The gameplay is amazing and the story is really fun. The controls are easy to master and though the enemies get repetitive at times, overall it doesn't slow the game down. This is a must have for anyone that enjoys the Marvel universe and the characters within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous!, April 30, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Gold Edition is the way to go, im not even sure why they would sell the original version now. This game is like a beefed up version of the Xmen Legend series with a wide variety of characters from the marvel universe we love and hate, im talking about you Loki, you deceiver! Ultimate Alliance made me feel like i was in the comic books. You will want this version over the original just for the extra heroes and villians like the hulk and venom. With so many characters to choose from and each with different abilities there is plenty of replay value even after you have beaten the main campaign. You can play online with friends or offline. There was a lot of love put into this title, once you play it you will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marvel Ultimate Alliance Gold Edition -Xbox 360
Used & New from: $63.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.